Old 06-14-2007, 03:39 AM   #1
cerendir
Human being with feelings
 
cerendir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,003
Default "Invisible" plugins? (solved!)

I've been moving a few Cubase project over to REAPER to play around a bit, and when I was hooking up the channels to the correct VSTi's I realised that some stuff does not show up in REAPER. So far it's the Velonotes2cc midi plugin and the Crazy Diamonds synth. The latter being kind of weird as someone here on the forum reported that it should work. It might be more stuff missing too, I have a ton of plugs so I can't really tell at a glance if something's not there. So... why does this happen? Does REAPER somehow filter out certain plugins it doesn't like/can't access properly? That midi plugin is really no big deal but CD happens to be one of my fave synths for retro pads, so I would really like to get it running

And oh, just to clarify: at first I just pointed REAPER to Cubase's Vstplugins dir, but I soon got sick of dismissing "This plugin only works in Cubase" error messages and copied everything to REAPER's own plugins folder and deleted the Steinberg stuff from it. So I get no errors anymore, and the dll files in question *are* there. REAPER just doesn't see them.

Sorry if this has been answered elsewhere already, but my searches didn't turn up anything useful.
__________________
mattiaswestlund.net | facebook | soundcloud | bandcamp

Last edited by cerendir; 06-15-2007 at 02:26 AM.
cerendir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 08:15 AM   #2
tspring
Human being with feelings
 
tspring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eastern shore of Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,211
Default

I have indeed run into a couple of soft synths that Reaper simply would not recognize and list. I could see the name of the .dll flicker across the screen during the scan of the directory containing the VSTi, and Reaper would pause as if loading or verifying something, but the VSTi would not appear in the effect/VSTi list. I assumed that the VSTi did not meet some compatibility test, and Reaper just dropped it.


Also, check to make sure that the VSTi's aren't listed using a name different name from what you expect. I believe that sometimes Reaper grabs naming information *somewhere* and uses that instead of or along with the name that is displayed by other software.

T
tspring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 04:05 PM   #3
cerendir
Human being with feelings
 
cerendir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,003
Default

Well I've gone through the list of VSTi's very thoroughly now and no, Crazy Diamonds just won't show. So that rules out the different name explanation, but thanks for the suggestion.

Ah well, I'll try StringSynth instead for the time being. CD isn't irreplaceable, I just have a few good custom patches for it that I use a lot.
__________________
mattiaswestlund.net | facebook | soundcloud | bandcamp
cerendir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 02:26 AM   #4
cerendir
Human being with feelings
 
cerendir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,003
Default

OK, I've solved it (or found the plugs, more correctly).

I don't know where REAPER gets the plugin names, but for some reason Crazy Diamonds was called FLP3 and the Velonotes2cc plugin was called Piranha-NV2CC. I found this out by simply loading, one by one, all plugins whose names I didn't immediately recognize.

So... move along. Nothing here to see.
__________________
mattiaswestlund.net | facebook | soundcloud | bandcamp
cerendir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.