Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2013, 08:23 PM   #1
Schlyder
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Default .Zoom R24 => Reaper.. Issue with input/outputs in ASIO setup

OK first off, I am a noob with Reaper. Also fairly new with the R24.

Here is my issue(s)... I have a MIDI Error window that pops up saying.

The following MIDI inputs could not be opened.
Zoom R16 audio interface
The following MIDI outputs could not be opened.
Zoom R16 audio interface

I am running a PC, Windows 7 - 64 bit ... and Reaper - 64 bit

This occurs when I Start up Reaper. It also occurs when I use Record, or Play.... The window pops up. click OK... window closes... recording or playback then begins.

I have all the current drivers installed for the Zoom R24. I have all the current ASIO drivers.

I can't get the inputs and outputs routed with ASIO selected as Audio System and have the ASIO4all driver selected. It says "Not connected" in the output range. And in the ASIO config, it shows a red X beside the outputs for the ZOOM R24.

I seem to be able to record a signal, but cannot get any playback. And I also get the MIDI error window popping up.

I do get a signal from my bass and keyboard, and I can record and playback, BUT... ONLY when I am using WASAPI selected as the Audio System. The pop up occurs when I am using transport controls. (Record and Play)

Please, can someone help me get this routing issue fixed and the Error window to stop popping up, so I can get to learning how to use Reaper.

Thanks.
Schlyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:43 PM   #2
Pickasso
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 199
Default

How about if you use the zoom drivers?
Same problem?
Pickasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 08:53 PM   #3
Schlyder
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pickasso View Post
How about if you use the zoom drivers?
Same problem?
Yup, same issue. Only have working outputs with WASAPI. And I get that stupid MIDI error window popping up no matter what I use.
Schlyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:17 PM   #4
danfuerth
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,824
Default

I read up on that interface it does not have ASIO drivers.
It has only 2 outputs over USB so in Reaper only 2 inputs are available
It records to SDHC cards ( slot on it) and you use the usb cable to also transfer it over


These smaller Mixer interfaces do not have multitracking over USB, you have to get the more expensive ones in order to get all your inputs to headout via USB into your Daw

Sorry no ASIO drivers with that Interface it's windows plug an play only

If you are using that interface in Reaper as control interface then the midi ports in preferences/midi must be checked and make sure "input control" is not on.

Last edited by danfuerth; 02-18-2013 at 10:33 PM.
danfuerth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:42 PM   #5
Schlyder
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danfuerth View Post
I read up on that interface it does not have ASIO drivers.
It has only 2 outputs over USB so in Reaper only 2 inputs are available
It records to SDHC cards ( slot on it) and you use the usb cable to also transfer it over


These smaller Mixer interfaces do not have multitracking over USB, you have to get the more expensive ones in order to get all your inputs to headout via USB into your Daw

Sorry no ASIO drivers with that Interface it's windows plug an play only

If you are using that interface in Reaper as control interface then the midi ports in preferences/midi must be checked and make sure "input control" is not on.
OK.. I disabled both the MIDI inputs, and MIDI outputs, and that stopped the error window coming up.
I have signal inputs working, and outputs working too. And I am still able to run transport controls on the ZoomR24.
That seems to have solved the issue at hand. I thank you profusely
Schlyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 10:46 PM   #6
Schlyder
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Default

No, it's 8 inputs, 2 outputs.

I am testing with 3 tracks right now.... I have track 1 set up as a mono signal, input from track/channel 1 (Bass) from the Zoom R24.
...and I have tracks 2 and 3 set up for stereo, with inputs from tracks/channels 3 and 4 (keyboard w/stereo outs) from the Zoom R24.

Everything is working... input on 3 tracks is there.... And I just recorded three tracks simultaniously... and all 3 tracks are playing back.
So everything seems good now.


Thanks again, DanFuerth

Last edited by Schlyder; 02-19-2013 at 07:01 AM.
Schlyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 07:53 AM   #7
tls11823
Human being with feelings
 
tls11823's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA USA
Posts: 1,386
Default

In case anybody checks out this thread in the future, I wanted to set the record straight on a few things.
Quote:
Originally Posted by danfuerth View Post
I read up on that interface it does not have ASIO drivers.
Not true. The device does indeed provide an ASIO driver. I'm looking at it in Reaper right now and see it displayed as ZOOM R16_R24 ASIO Driver.
Quote:
Originally Posted by danfuerth View Post
It has only 2 outputs over USB so in Reaper only 2 inputs are available
I've used mine many times to record eight simultaneous tracks over USB.
Quote:
Originally Posted by danfuerth View Post
It records to SDHC cards ( slot on it) and you use the usb cable to also transfer it over
You can use it in standalone mode and record to the SD card, but you can also use it in audio interface mode as an 8-in/2-out interface.
Quote:
Originally Posted by danfuerth View Post
These smaller Mixer interfaces do not have multitracking over USB, you have to get the more expensive ones in order to get all your inputs to headout via USB into your Daw
Not sure what you mean by "smaller". Physically, it's about 18x10". If you mean that it functions poorly, I've made some very nice recordings with it, and have gotten low latency across eight simultaneous channels through USB. If you mean that it's inexpensive and delivers plenty of bang for the buck, then yes - I guess it's "small".
Quote:
Originally Posted by danfuerth View Post
Sorry no ASIO drivers with that Interface it's windows plug an play only
As stated above, it does indeed come with its own ASIO driver, and of course you can use use ASIO4ALL if you want. It doesn't work as plug-and-play - you do need to have the ASIO driver installed for it to work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by danfuerth View Post
If you are using that interface in Reaper as control interface then the midi ports in preferences/midi must be checked and make sure "input control" is not on.
OK, this one you got right! And that give the poster the information he/she needed, so I guess that's all that matters.
__________________
We act as though comfort and luxury were the chief requirements of life, when all that we need to make us happy is something to be enthusiastic about.
--Charles Kingsley... or maybe Albert Einstein... definitely somebody wiser than myself--
tls11823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 09:49 AM   #8
danfuerth
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,824
Default

Strange I was looking at the product page and it mentions nothing about recording the full 8 channels over usb ( 8 individual tracks inside reaper)

Looking around at some mixer interfaces most of the cheaper ones just output the stereo mix over usb an not individual channelst. This is quite common with cheaper mixers that have usb.


Also nothing on ASIO either on the product page


LOL Oh well, at least the OP got the error out hehehe


So if that Mixer has 8 channels output over USB (each channel can be recorded separate) then for me that is a very decent mixer as I have not seen anything in that price range that outputs all it's channels over usb.


Been looking around for a 16 or 24 channel mixer, but they always output stereo over USB and not each individual channels.

I need 24 in, 24 out and USB or Firewire recording

I am saving up for a Behringer X32. That should cover my mixer needs and recording for the next couple of years.
danfuerth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 01:36 PM   #9
Robomusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: California
Posts: 97
Default

From the zoom website:

The R24 can function as an audio interface, enabling direct input of sounds to a computer. Support for 24-bit/96-kHz encoding ensures high-quality sound. Eight input channels and two output channels can be used simultaneously. The internal DSP effects of the R24 can also be used when the sampling rate is 44.1 kHz. A dedicated knob lets you adjust the balance between the DAW playback sound and the direct input sound when monitoring.
Robomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 01:53 PM   #10
tls11823
Human being with feelings
 
tls11823's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA USA
Posts: 1,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danfuerth View Post
So if that Mixer has 8 channels output over USB (each channel can be recorded separate) then for me that is a very decent mixer as I have not seen anything in that price range that outputs all it's channels over usb.
Yes, it's a very good value, IMHO. I'm quite happy with it. When I bought it, eight tracks was four more than I needed, since I was recording one musician at a time, and I was only doing four tracks for drums. Since that time, I've joined a band (for the first time in about 30 years) and find myself wanting at least twelve tracks, maybe sixteen. Isn't that the way?
__________________
We act as though comfort and luxury were the chief requirements of life, when all that we need to make us happy is something to be enthusiastic about.
--Charles Kingsley... or maybe Albert Einstein... definitely somebody wiser than myself--
tls11823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 02:17 PM   #11
Schlyder
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tls11823 View Post
Yes, it's a very good value, IMHO. I'm quite happy with it. When I bought it, eight tracks was four more than I needed, since I was recording one musician at a time, and I was only doing four tracks for drums. Since that time, I've joined a band (for the first time in about 30 years) and find myself wanting at least twelve tracks, maybe sixteen. Isn't that the way?
You can chain two R24 units together and get 16 channels simultaniously.
Schlyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 03:54 PM   #12
tls11823
Human being with feelings
 
tls11823's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Harrisburg, PA USA
Posts: 1,386
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schlyder View Post
You can chain two R24 units together and get 16 channels simultaniously.
True, thanks for reminding me of that. I'm not sure if that works in audio interface mode, though. For some reason I have the impression that it's for standalone only, but don't quote me on that. For now I'm getting by with eight. If I get to the point that I really want more, I'll revisit that possibility as opposed to looking for an interface with more than eight.
__________________
We act as though comfort and luxury were the chief requirements of life, when all that we need to make us happy is something to be enthusiastic about.
--Charles Kingsley... or maybe Albert Einstein... definitely somebody wiser than myself--
tls11823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 04:40 PM   #13
Schlyder
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 10
Default

Yeah, you are right. Only in standalone mode you can link two together.
Schlyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 04:12 AM   #14
Alsklaftsk123
Human being with feelings
 
Alsklaftsk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 541
Default

When i remove the usb cable with reaper open (not set the zoom as driver), my pc freezes. Does this happen to you? Also, i cant run the zoom as interface in reaper if i has it set as sound card in windows. It seems like its crap to use with reaper.
__________________
My SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/kjartan-thorkildsen Mostly prog metal/ fusion. Take a listen or two if you are interested!
Alsklaftsk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:40 AM   #15
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,840
Default

^^^^
I'm pretty sure that you would get the same results with another host. Can you try it with another one? It sounds like driver-related issues to me.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:51 AM   #16
Alsklaftsk123
Human being with feelings
 
Alsklaftsk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 541
Default

No, happens only with zoom.
__________________
My SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/kjartan-thorkildsen Mostly prog metal/ fusion. Take a listen or two if you are interested!
Alsklaftsk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:56 AM   #17
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,840
Default

Sorry, I meant with a DAW host, other than Reaper.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 01:53 PM   #18
Alsklaftsk123
Human being with feelings
 
Alsklaftsk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norway
Posts: 541
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Sorry, I meant with a DAW host, other than Reaper.
Havent got any else, but im pretty sure its the zoom+reaper combo that is messed for almost everyone.
__________________
My SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/kjartan-thorkildsen Mostly prog metal/ fusion. Take a listen or two if you are interested!
Alsklaftsk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.