Old 03-28-2012, 03:32 PM   #1
monkey man
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 137
Default 'Absynth 5 FX' not appearing in FX list

So I've completely ignored Absynth 5 FX as a dedicated FX plug-in until seeing a video recently and really want to play around with it. Unfortunately 'Absynth 5 FX' doesn't appear in my FX list (just the standard single and 2->16 synthesis VSTs). It does however appear in my Kore plug-in list, but hosting it in Kore seems a bit silly. Am I missing something here??
monkey man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 08:19 PM   #2
bluzkat
Human being with feelings
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,919
Default

Maybe try re-installing Absynth, I'm showing four .dll files for Absynth:

Absynth5

Absynth5FX

Absynth5FXSurround

Absynth5Stereo


__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 02:02 AM   #3
monkey man
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluzkat View Post
Maybe try re-installing Absynth, I'm showing four .dll files for Absynth:

Absynth5

Absynth5FX

Absynth5FXSurround

Absynth5Stereo


Is that exactly how they appear in your FX list, or just your VST directory? I have those as .dll files in my directory for both Absynth 4 & 5 but only the main instruments are showing up in Reaper (like I said, they appear in Kore which makes me think it's more likely to be a Reaper issue. I've got Absynth 4 installed on another computer and the FX plug also doesn't show up in Reaper!).

Any other users have the same problem?

Last edited by monkey man; 03-29-2012 at 02:07 AM.
monkey man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 02:21 AM   #4
bluzkat
Human being with feelings
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,919
Default

Your right, I confused your original question and was looking in my VST folder. It appears mine are showing up the same as yours.

Maybe someone else knows what's going on here. If I find anything I'll post back.


__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 02:31 AM   #5
monkey man
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluzkat View Post
Your right, I confused your original question and was looking in my VST folder. It appears mine are showing up the same as yours.

Maybe someone else knows what's going on here. If I find anything I'll post back.


Well at least that shows some consistency - can anyone else contribute? Devs?
monkey man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 02:54 AM   #6
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,842
Default

What entries are in your reaper-vstplugins.ini file?

Could the VST Ids be the same?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 02:57 AM   #7
monkey man
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
What entries are in your reaper-vstplugins.ini file?

Could the VST Ids be the same?
Sorry, I'm not sure what that is...?

I'm not at my home computer right now but any positive direction to get this sorted would be great!
monkey man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 03:38 AM   #8
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,842
Default

It's the list of VST(i)s that Reaper has scanned - in your AppData folder (click [Options] >> "Show Reaper resources...". If they were scanned OK you'll see the 4 entries in the file.

I've just looked here and all four are scanned OK But they all show up in the FX Browser with the same name; so I right-clicked each one in the FX Browser and renamed it:



Note: I have not changed the dll names.

[The same goes goes for Absynth 4 and other NI products with FX versions.]
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 03:46 AM   #9
monkey man
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
It's the list of VST(i)s that Reaper has scanned - in your AppData folder (click [Options] >> "Show Reaper resources...". If they were scanned OK you'll see the 4 entries in the file.

I've just looked here and all four are scanned OK But they all show up in the FX Browser with the same name; so I right-clicked each one in the FX Browser and renamed it:



Note: I have not changed the dll names.

[The same goes goes for Absynth 4 and other NI products with FX versions.]
Okay, will check this out when I get home. Thanks!

Btw...if they were all named the same in your FX browser, how did you know which ones were which when you renamed them? Is there a R-click or something to see the properties or .dll path?
monkey man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 03:48 AM   #10
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,842
Default

Actually, as I wasn't sure and already had the reaper-vstplugins.ini file open, I cheated and edited the file directly (having made a backup first, of course). But right-clicking the plugin in the FX Browser is the usual way to do it.

Not to be attempted without a safety harness.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 03:53 AM   #11
monkey man
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Actually, as I wasn't sure and already had the reaper-vstplugins.ini file open, I cheated and edited the file directly (having made a backup first, of course). But right-clicking the plugin in the FX Browser is the usual way to do it.

Not to be attempted without a safety harness.
Okay, will check later. Thanks again!
monkey man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 04:04 AM   #12
bluzkat
Human being with feelings
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,919
Default

DarkStar,

Worked great, thank you!


__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.