COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 08-17-2010, 09:37 PM   #1
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,758
Default WDL in the wild

As of 8/16/2010, Cockos WDL is available as a Git repository.

If you are a WDL user, you can clone the Cockos repository to create your own working copy of the code. When Cockos WDL is updated, you can use Git to selectively choose to merge in any or all changes that you want to incorporate into your own code.

If you are a WDL user and you use Git for your own source code control, you can add the Cockos WDL repository as a remote, following Justin's instructions here. This will let you manage your own code, and also selectively merge in changes from Cockos WDL.

Here's where it gets interesting: if you are a WDL user and you have improved WDL with local modifications, please feel free to host your own repository of WDL (or IPlug or any submodule of WDL)! You can use GitHub, Google Code, any other public source code repository service*, or your own personal server. If any group of WDL users wants to create a shared repository, that's fine too.**

The Git vision is that everyone who has something to add to WDL (including Cockos) will host their own repository, and everyone who uses WDL (including Cockos) will, over time, add the repositories of trusted coders as a remote. That way we can all look at each others' improvements, and pull any changes we like into our own code.

So, have at it! WDL is officially in the wild. We look forward to seeing what happens!


* Please make sure to read and understand the license terms of any commercial source code repository service.

** The Git vision is that there is no centralization, and therefore no politics about who is trusted to change the code and who isn't. Shared repositories can be good if they increase the trustability of that particular location, but bad if they exclude valuable contributors from becoming known.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 07:50 AM   #2
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 2,915
Default

I have followed Justin's instructions, and added WDL as a remote. After that I have created a new branch (tale), in which I have committed a couple of changes. I have uploaded the updated repository to my own webserver:

http://www.taletn.com/WDL.git

Could someone with a little more Git experience than me please check if this works? I can clone my own repository, so it does seem to work.
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 10:36 AM   #3
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,758
Default

Looks good!

Code:
$ git remote add tale_wdl http://www.taletn.com/WDL.git

$ git branch -r | grep tale
  tale_wdl/master
  tale_wdl/tale

$ git log -n 1 tale_wdl/tale
commit c9a55cfe46fd0616c64108ff01f428519ca110c1
Author: tale
Date:   Thu Aug 19 16:11:36 2010 +0200

    Fix a couple of typos / small bugs.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 12:15 PM   #4
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 2,915
Default

Cool, thanks!

I have just updated my repository with all my modifications. I guess now would be a good time for me to check if they actually compile and work after migrating them to Git.
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 03:25 PM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,797
Default

I'm having trouble reading it... Perhaps you need to rename the file:

http://www.taletn.com/WDL.git/hooks/post-update.sample

to

http://www.taletn.com/WDL.git/hooks/post-update

(and chmod +x it) ?

(and manually run git-update-server-info too)
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2010, 03:53 PM   #6
Tale
Human being with feelings
 
Tale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Holland
Posts: 2,915
Default

Ok, I see. I already thought this was going too easy... I have simply uploaded the WDL.git bare repository folder to my webserver, but I haven't actually installed Git on that server. I guess I really need to have Git installed there, right?
Tale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.