Old 09-07-2018, 11:05 AM   #1
VictorVV
Human being with feelings

Default Muddy/Muffled vocals

Good day all,

At first I'd like to mention that I'm new to Reaper and sound engineering in general,

My mic is ''AT2020 usb+'' and long story short, my recordings sound kinda dull and muddy. I applied a little EQ and I guess it sounds a bit better (in my recording first you hear me speak with no EQ applied, then EQ is on).

But it's still far from what I've heard my mic can sound like. For example, you may compare my recording to this video (guy from the vid says that he didn't have any setting/EQ etc, so that's a raw recording of how ''AT2020 usb+'' sounds)

the video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kA4RvltO9e0

and my recording is here - https://www.soundclick.com/bands3/?bandID=1438705

Guys, I'm sure you are way more experienced in this than I am So may be you have some hints on what could be done to get a better sound quality here, more clarity to the voice? To get it closer to how this mic sounds in that youtube video?

Btw, I'm recording using a portabooth + distance from me to the mic is about 6 inches + I'm using a pop filter (sorry, not sure which info might be helpful here).

Also in case you want to mess with my recording *.wav is downloadable here : http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=...77061706073838

Thank you
Attached Images
File Type: jpg eq.JPG (56.3 KB, 171 views)
VictorVV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 11:11 AM   #2
karbomusic

If the downloadable sample, doesn't have EQ, I don't really hear anything wrong with it as far as being muddy?
Old 09-07-2018, 12:00 PM   #3
beingmf

A quick listen on Bluetooth speaker: yours sounds better to me. What you hear is your room, which likely needs some low end absorption - or you have boomy headphones which indeed might reveal something in the very low end of the spectrum.
My rule in that case: first compress, then high-pass, starting at around 100Hz (6 or 12dB filter) until it sounds tight.