Old 05-13-2019, 02:17 AM   #1
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 498
Default Plugin alliance Plugins

Hi everyone, just a quick question related to the knobs/sliders on the bx_ plugins.
I´ve noticed that when changing parameters with mouse click + drag the values change very unstable for all the plugins i have from Plugin Alliance. If i use the scroll value change smoother but increment / decrement on values that i m not interested in. Most of the plugins i use from other companies i have no problem changing the values.
I asked a couple of friend and they have no problem (with plugin alliance), but they use other daws.
Is this a DAW related issue or simply a know bus in Reaper?

Thanks

EDIT: The channel x and VSM3 they work OK , only for the bx_ ones.
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060

Last edited by pepe44; 05-13-2019 at 02:24 AM.
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 05:43 AM   #2
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 498
Default

Ok, installed the VST version and doesn't happen. Only VST3 the knobs behave weird. Anyone ?
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 05:48 AM   #3
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7,854
Default

I think the default mouse movement is rotational, not up-and-down as most plugins are. I think there might be somewhere you can change that behaviour, but I just use the mouse wheel.
Judders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 05:56 AM   #4
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 498
Default

Hi Judders, mousewheel values are not incremented by 0.1 with their plugins, there is the Shift + drag that smooths out the changes. Its a DAW related issue, doesnt happen on other DAWs, strange not hearing more comments on this.
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 05:58 AM   #5
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7,854
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
Hi Judders, mousewheel values are not incremented by 0.1 with their plugins, there is the Shift + drag that smooths out the changes. Its a DAW related issue, doesnt happen on other DAWs, strange not hearing more comments on this.
Hmmm... can't say I've noticed, but I can't think of a time where i needed 0.1 increments so perhaps a usage issue.
Judders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 02:13 PM   #6
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
Ok, installed the VST version and doesn't happen. Only VST3 the knobs behave weird. Anyone ?
Can you show us a video or gif of the issue? I use their plugins all the time and don't see the issue
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 03:44 PM   #7
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 498
Default

Maybe hard to see from the gif, but here it is:

VST = smoth , normal behaviour
VST3 = bad knob movement, hard to follow.

https://ibb.co/6g3NFYC
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 04:45 PM   #8
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 616
Default

all Plugin Alliance plugins behave weird with the knobs. Maybe it is Reaper, maybe not..I never had them before I had reaper. As was mentioned, they don't adjust up/down like ALL OTHER PLUGS. You have to draw a circle with the mouse....WTF? It is absolutely frustrating to the point I can't even use them, personally.

You can also click directly on the value you want (say, the 3 o'clock position) and it will jump directly there. Very weird...nice sounding but very difficult to control and get precise values.
__________________
https://www.kdubbproductions.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpC...2dGA3qUWBKrXQQ
i7 8700k,4.9Ghz,Win10,Reaper 5,Motu 828es,MJE Hulk 990,GAP Pre73/EQ81
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 01:56 AM   #9
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
Maybe hard to see from the gif, but here it is:

VST = smoth , normal behaviour
VST3 = bad knob movement, hard to follow.

https://ibb.co/6g3NFYC
I haven't noticed that, they both function smooth on my end
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 04:28 AM   #10
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,435
Default

Can't say I've really noticed this here and I have a ton of Plugin Alliance plugins that I use regularly.
The only thing I have noticed is the bx_limiter sliders tend to be difficult to adjust in small amounts. I'm probably not going to be using that much any more though since I purchased FabFilter Pro-L recently.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 06:03 AM   #11
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 498
Default

Well i do understand that with the GIF is not very clear, but is very different...i've been testing some other VST3 plugin have the same behaviour from the VST2 version.
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 08:13 AM   #12
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,009
Default


Almost no plug-in supports this, but brainworx does!
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot 2019-05-15 17.12.08.png (41.1 KB, 145 views)
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 08:25 AM   #13
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 7,854
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Breeder View Post

Almost no plug-in supports this, but brainworx does!
I knew I'd seen an option to change the knob behaviour somewhere!

Thanks!
Judders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 12:14 PM   #14
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 498
Default

Breeder, i think that solved the problem, thanks man! its way better now.
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 01:22 PM   #15
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 616
Default

well that does change everything! thank you, love this community
__________________
https://www.kdubbproductions.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpC...2dGA3qUWBKrXQQ
i7 8700k,4.9Ghz,Win10,Reaper 5,Motu 828es,MJE Hulk 990,GAP Pre73/EQ81
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 07:33 PM   #16
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poetnprophet View Post
well that does change everything! thank you, love this community
I agree. Very few idiots in this one compared to others. Most here are very helpful.
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 04:38 AM   #17
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 498
Default

that is one of the reasons why Reaper grows so fast!
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 04:52 AM   #18
DaveKeehl
Human being with feelings
 
DaveKeehl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Breeder View Post

Almost no plug-in supports this, but brainworx does!
Thanks!
DaveKeehl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.