Old 06-11-2018, 05:06 AM   #561
kunibert
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
Thanks schwa! I'm willing to test any new build they or you send.
Hello Schwa, I wrote to the reaper support address as well to the melodyne support that I would like to be part of the beta testing. Didn┤t get a reply. Is there still a way to become beta tester, or is it closed?
kunibert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 05:10 AM   #562
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,927
Default

Methinks you're quite late by now to get in Melodyne's beta test, unfortunately. Latest Reaper prereleases already contain ARA2 implementation so they're available to everyone.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 05:17 AM   #563
kunibert
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Default

That was two month ago, but it was already late by then, I know. But than again, as I know Celemony it could (and probably will) still take months till they release v. 4.2.
kunibert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 05:54 AM   #564
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,927
Default

You should probably direct that question at Celemony then?
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 03:03 AM   #565
Arionas
Human being with feelings
 
Arionas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Athens
Posts: 65
Default

Why so much silence from Celemony?
How close we are to the ARA 2 release?
__________________
Mac-pro 3.33 12cores, OS 10.12.6, Reaper 5, Studio One Pro 3, Pro Tools 12, Logic X, Mixbus 32C, Wavelab 9.5, N4, AQUAS, UAD 2 octo(x2)-quad(x1), http://www.arionmusic.gr
Arionas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 05:37 AM   #566
Area52
Human being with feelings
 
Area52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
Default

I too wonder what the heck is taking them (Celemony) so long to release an ARA 2 version of Melodyne!? So, about 7 weeks ago on Facebook I asked them about any update on this and here is what they replied: "Hey, there is still no release date scheduled. Thanks for your interest!"

I guess we still have to wait...
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, Reaper X64 (latest official, sometimes Pre Releases) & SWS, Tons of plugins (all 64bit)..Intel Core i7 6700K, 16GB RAM, nVIDIA GeForce 1070 GTX, Sandisk SSD Drives. Allen & Heath QU-32..ETC..
Area52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 05:55 AM   #567
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,495
Default

Weired indeed. I suppose they could get a decent sale to reaper users...

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 06:31 AM   #568
X. O. Apodo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 85
Default

Could it be that last minute Steinberg decided to adapt ARA2 for Cubase and are now revising the VST specs to accommodate it and even make improvements and expand the ARA integration?
__________________
Multi-touch Monitor, XotoPad 2 and iPad Air as Midi Controllers, iConnectMIDI2+,
Windows 10 64 bit, Reaper 5, Waves Gold, Komplete 11, Iris 2, ZPitchMap, Synthmaster, Some Melda, PSP, SonoKinetic, Eventtide.
X. O. Apodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 06:34 AM   #569
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,927
Default

Highly unlikely. ARA doesn't depend on VST specification at all, it's a DAW extension and can be applied to any plugin format out there.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 07:06 AM   #570
X. O. Apodo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 85
Default

Thanks for clearing this up as I had read somewhere that ARA is an extension or relied on VST to function. Oh well, my first mistake I made this year, no month, no week. Ok, the first mistake I made today!
__________________
Multi-touch Monitor, XotoPad 2 and iPad Air as Midi Controllers, iConnectMIDI2+,
Windows 10 64 bit, Reaper 5, Waves Gold, Komplete 11, Iris 2, ZPitchMap, Synthmaster, Some Melda, PSP, SonoKinetic, Eventtide.
X. O. Apodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2018, 08:11 AM   #571
zookthespook
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 367
Default

got in touch with the good folks at celemony .
Was the fastest response i ever got from a company, though they obviously
could not comment on the status of ara 2 release.
end of conversation.

zook
zookthespook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2018, 05:42 PM   #572
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,672
Default

Some updates. Celemony has been working hard on tracking down the source of comparatively slow performance in REAPER and has fixed some things on their end and pointed us to some things we fixed.

The next build of REAPER and Melodyne should have some performance improvements. They have some more significant performance improvements in development, but they expect the actual public release of ARA2 will be not too far away, so they are going to hold back on the more significant improvements until the first update after the official release.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2018, 07:40 PM   #573
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,034
Default

That's great news!

having some issues here, though: is it normal, that we have to click on "transfer" (in the Melodyne plugin), in order to edit the audio? Shouldn't Reaper send it automatically via ARA2?
I'm using the latest Melodyne beta and Reaper 5.94.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan R÷mer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 02:23 AM   #574
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,056
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Some updates. Celemony has been working hard on tracking down the source of comparatively slow performance in REAPER and has fixed some things on their end and pointed us to some things we fixed.

The next build of REAPER and Melodyne should have some performance improvements. They have some more significant performance improvements in development, but they expect the actual public release of ARA2 will be not too far away, so they are going to hold back on the more significant improvements until the first update after the official release.
Thanks for the update!
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 03:54 AM   #575
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
That's great news!

having some issues here, though: is it normal, that we have to click on "transfer" (in the Melodyne plugin), in order to edit the audio? Shouldn't Reaper send it automatically via ARA2?
I'm using the latest Melodyne beta and Reaper 5.94.
ARA2 is only enabled in the REAPER prerelease builds, not the RC (release candidate) or final builds.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 08:53 AM   #576
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,034
Default

Ohhh, that explains it, thanks for clarifying!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan R÷mer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 07:24 PM   #577
X. O. Apodo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Some updates. Celemony has been working hard on tracking down the source of comparatively slow performance in REAPER and has fixed some things on their end and pointed us to some things we fixed.

The next build of REAPER and Melodyne should have some performance improvements. They have some more significant performance improvements in development, but they expect the actual public release of ARA2 will be not too far away, so they are going to hold back on the more significant improvements until the first update after the official release.
Will Reaper will have a exclusive on ARA2 for a defined amount of months?
Is ARA2 tied to the Reaper 6 release? Earlier someone said no.

I am really looking forward to both Reaper 6 and ARA2 release!
__________________
Multi-touch Monitor, XotoPad 2 and iPad Air as Midi Controllers, iConnectMIDI2+,
Windows 10 64 bit, Reaper 5, Waves Gold, Komplete 11, Iris 2, ZPitchMap, Synthmaster, Some Melda, PSP, SonoKinetic, Eventtide.
X. O. Apodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2018, 11:53 PM   #578
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,495
Default

AFAIK, you always can legally use the "pre" versions of the main number you bought - but just on your own risk.

And "6" is just a number .

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 11:53 AM   #579
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X. O. Apodo View Post
Will Reaper will have a exclusive on ARA2 for a defined amount of months? Is ARA2 tied to the Reaper 6 release?
No in both cases.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 03:01 PM   #580
zookthespook
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 367
Default

Thanks schwartzzzzz !
zookthespook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 03:59 PM   #581
X. O. Apodo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
public release of ARA2 will be not too far away,
That's encouraging!
__________________
Multi-touch Monitor, XotoPad 2 and iPad Air as Midi Controllers, iConnectMIDI2+,
Windows 10 64 bit, Reaper 5, Waves Gold, Komplete 11, Iris 2, ZPitchMap, Synthmaster, Some Melda, PSP, SonoKinetic, Eventtide.
X. O. Apodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 05:19 AM   #582
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,672
Default

Melodyne has a new release candidate build up that should fix a couple of outstanding issues, including high CPU load while editing notes with the mouse, and high memory use/load in general.

As mentioned earlier, they also have a bigger fix in the works to address memory use and CPU load in REAPER.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 08:58 AM   #583
Jeronimo
Human being with feelings
 
Jeronimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 494
Default

I finally got their beta build!!!
Will try it today or tomorrow!
__________________
www.jeracravo.com
Jeronimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 09:04 AM   #584
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeronimo View Post
I finally got their beta build!!!
Will try it today or tomorrow!
did you contact melodyne or cockos to have so?
I would like too! but had no answear from cockos!

Thank you
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 09:08 AM   #585
Jeronimo
Human being with feelings
 
Jeronimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 494
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
did you contact melodyne or cockos to have so?
I would like too! but had no answear from cockos!

Thank you
As mentioned here before: you should contact Celemony, not Cockos.
__________________
www.jeracravo.com
Jeronimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 09:37 AM   #586
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeronimo View Post
As mentioned here before: you should contact Celemony, not Cockos.
ahh didn't see! many thanks!
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 10:12 PM   #587
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Melodyne has a new release candidate build up that should fix a couple of outstanding issues, including high CPU load while editing notes with the mouse, and high memory use/load in general.

As mentioned earlier, they also have a bigger fix in the works to address memory use and CPU load in REAPER.
Schwa, what would be the best way to undo what we do in Melodyne? I know that you disabled storing Melodyne data in the undo history to avoid performance problems so when we hit ctrl+z REAPER just reverts to whatever you did before IN the application itself. I seem to remember that you did something with passing keyboard commands to Melodyne but today I couldn't use ctrl+z to undo anything in Melodyne, even when it was focused. I did use the menu within Melodyne to undo but man, that's frustrating.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 03:54 AM   #588
kunibert
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
Schwa, what would be the best way to undo what we do in Melodyne?
Did you try to check in the main FX Menu "Send all keyboard input to plug-in"?
kunibert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 08:02 AM   #589
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
Schwa, what would be the best way to undo what we do in Melodyne? I know that you disabled storing Melodyne data in the undo history to avoid performance problems so when we hit ctrl+z REAPER just reverts to whatever you did before IN the application itself. I seem to remember that you did something with passing keyboard commands to Melodyne but today I couldn't use ctrl+z to undo anything in Melodyne, even when it was focused. I did use the menu within Melodyne to undo but man, that's frustrating.
Celemony is working on a complete overhaul of their undo system, but it won't be in the first ARA2 official release. Until that happens I'm afraid it will just be annoying.

I wonder if you've had a chance to test out the latest builds of Melodyne and REAPER to see if the performance issues have improved?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 08:07 AM   #590
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Celemony is working on a complete overhaul of their undo system, but it won't be in the first ARA2 official release. Until that happens I'm afraid it will just be annoying.

I wonder if you've had a chance to test out the latest builds of Melodyne and REAPER to see if the performance issues have improved?
That's very unfortunate. Maybe just delay the release of this feature in REAPER until they finish that overhaul? Right now it is very annoying.

Yes, the performance is much better now, very fluid. BUT we have some serious bugs:

- Loading a Melodyne instance doesn't detect the tempo automatically so everything sounds delayed. Imagine loading several instances using the action to insert FX. Madness.

- When freezing/unfreezing the track we lose everything we've worked on. When unfreezing REAPER detects everything again just like when the plug-in was inserted the first time.

- "Send all keyboard input to plug-in" should be set as default for all Melodyne instances. I think this should alleviate things a bit while Melodyne finishes the overhaul.

- Sometimes clicking on Melodyne's ruler doesn't move the cursor, you have to try a few times.

- Sometimes minimizing REAPER and maximizing again makes Melodyne crazy. This is hard to reproduce but it does happen. It mostly happens when you have a lot of work done and there are several Melodyne instances in the project. Sometimes it loses the tempo. sometimes it redetects the audio, etc.

The performance is very good now but it is still unusable because of these bugs.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 08:09 AM   #591
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,927
Default

ARA2 is not an official Reaper feature yet, so...
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2018, 08:15 AM   #592
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
ARA2 is not an official Reaper feature yet, so...
I know but Schwa said they'll make it official when ARA2 is officially released and since Celemony won't finish the overhaul before that happens I think that making ARA2 official in REAPER would annoy a lot of people because of those bugs.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 01:16 PM   #593
Alex_HS
Human being with feelings
 
Alex_HS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
I wonder if you've had a chance to test out the latest builds of Melodyne and REAPER to see if the performance issues have improved?
Personally I can't test of 2 latest Melodyne releases because I have activation problems with it on my both MacMini with OS X 10.9.5 and 10.13.6 (previous version 009 works correctly).
Alex_HS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2018, 02:19 PM   #594
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
- Loading a Melodyne instance doesn't detect the tempo automatically so everything sounds delayed. Imagine loading several instances using the action to insert FX. Madness.
Sorry, I'm sure this should be obvious, but could you be more specific about what you mean?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 04:25 AM   #595
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,210
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Sorry, I'm sure this should be obvious, but could you be more specific about what you mean?
I'll send you a minimal project with just 2 or 3 tracks and all steps to reproduce it. Thanks, Schwa.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2018, 04:44 AM   #596
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,672
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
When freezing/unfreezing the track we lose everything we've worked on. When unfreezing REAPER detects everything again just like when the plug-in was inserted the first time.
This is another area that Celemony is working on improving for their Melodyne 2.5 release, which they expect will be "a few months" after ARA2 is officially released. Their recommendation for now is to keep this as a "known bug" until then.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 02:07 AM   #597
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
This is another area that Celemony is working on improving for their Melodyne 2.5 release, which they expect will be "a few months" after ARA2 is officially released. Their recommendation for now is to keep this as a "known bug" until then.
Mmmh ... so this would again take some time.

Just a thought: Perhaps it would be good to tweak Reatune
in the meantime? The underlying algo is quite good, but
the interface could need a little improvement ... mmh?
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 01:28 PM   #598
dePUNDIT
Human being with feelings
 
dePUNDIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
Mmmh ... so this would again take some time.

Just a thought: Perhaps it would be good to tweak Reatune
in the meantime? The underlying algo is quite good, but
the interface could need a little improvement ... mmh?
I totally agree with you. If ReaTune had an interface that's actually usable and could also work like ARA, I probably wouldn't even border about ever using Melodyne again.
dePUNDIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2018, 10:26 PM   #599
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,495
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dePUNDIT View Post
If ReaTune had an interface that's actually usable and could also work like ARA,
... it would be called Vari Audio and part of a conceptionally different DAW

(Phrased differently: this is not a simple task )

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 11:18 AM   #600
drichard
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 390
Default

Not necessarily. ReaTune manual mode is quite good sonically. It's annoying that the UI constantly resizes itself and that it always refreshes itself. Simply eliminating those two annoyances would make using it a much better experience.


Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
... it would be called Vari Audio and part of a conceptionally different DAW

(Phrased differently: this is not a simple task )

-Michael
drichard is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.