Old 04-25-2017, 01:21 PM   #1
funkydrummer1966
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Default installing waves plugins

I am having trouble getting waves plugins to install. after following the waves instructions, I click clear cache/rescan I get a window that says locate waves 9.91 plugin folder. when click open after finding the folder, the window just re-appears. nothing is installed. this is driving me crazy!!! I am running Sierra on a Mac. the people from waves tell me I should have to do anything, Reaper should find the folder and install.
funkydrummer1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2017, 02:17 PM   #2
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,158
Default

Did you download and use Waves Central?
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2017, 01:14 PM   #3
Lucian
Human being with feelings
 
Lucian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Island of Misfit Toys
Posts: 599
Default

I just updated waves central and now have the same problem. Following waves instructions for this symptom which is to copy the waves audio folder to the desktop and then open a NEW session and point to the desktop folder, works but only for new sessions. If I open sessions I was working on before the update, I get prompted over and over again. Waves does have a reaper specific post but it just says to clear cache and rescan which I did but just got another folder prompt when finally getting to the waves plugins during scan.

1) copied the folder to the desktop, opened new session, pointed folder, all seems well. Can't open older sessions with waves in them.

2)Rebooted, clear cahche/Rescan, still get prompt for folder.

Any ideas?

Solved: Even tho I had the right paths in the scan list, last time I had problems, I copied the waves 9.6 dll directly into the VST folder. I removed those and success
__________________
Give me back my Loc-Nar ! No, It's my Loc-Nar !

Last edited by Lucian; 04-29-2017 at 02:29 PM.
Lucian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 01:42 PM   #4
tomrip
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 109
Default

did anyone get this working?
tomrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2017, 04:12 PM   #5
L_Grizzle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 115
Default

I've got like 9 Waves plug-ins, and it's been a tedious process getting each and every one of them to work (I wish they would stop having sales so I would quit being tempted to buy more...).

Consult this page in case you haven't: https://www.waves.com/support/how-to...gins-in-reaper

I've found that it magically works after going into the Waves plugin folder to verify it's been installed:

Windows: C:\Program Files (x86)\Waves\Plug-Ins V9
Mac: System HD > Applications > Waves > Plug-Ins V9

Once verifying there, a re-scan for plug-ins in Reaper usually does the trick. Sometimes a computer restart helps.
L_Grizzle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 10:14 AM   #6
tomrip
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 109
Default

can i install on another drive? i have a ssd. this is driving me nuts. i wish i never would of updated
Quote:
Originally Posted by L_Grizzle View Post
I've got like 9 Waves plug-ins, and it's been a tedious process getting each and every one of them to work (I wish they would stop having sales so I would quit being tempted to buy more...).

Consult this page in case you haven't: https://www.waves.com/support/how-to...gins-in-reaper

I've found that it magically works after going into the Waves plugin folder to verify it's been installed:

Windows: C:\Program Files (x86)\Waves\Plug-Ins V9
Mac: System HD > Applications > Waves > Plug-Ins V9

Once verifying there, a re-scan for plug-ins in Reaper usually does the trick. Sometimes a computer restart helps.
tomrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 09:09 AM   #7
L_Grizzle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomrip View Post
can i install on another drive? i have a ssd. this is driving me nuts. i wish i never would of updated
I've never done it ... but I would assume so? Just obviously be sure that they are correctly installed in the Waves folder, and that Reaper is pointed to the correct drive.

Wish I could be more help, but I've always only had a single drive that I work with.
L_Grizzle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2017, 04:15 PM   #8
tomrip
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 109
Default

i finally got it. thanks so much.
tomrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2017, 12:40 PM   #9
redwng1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomrip View Post
i finally got it. thanks so much.
Hey Tomrip, what did you do to finally get it to work? I have been trying everything suggested but Reaper is still not showing the Waves plug-ins. IIM I am running on Mac. Really frustrated at this point, any help greatly appreciated.
redwng1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.