Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2019, 03:42 AM   #41
monty
Human being with feelings
 
monty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 173
Default

does xubuntu already work with a 5.0.0-31 lowlatency kernel?
I have installed a test xubuntu in a V-box but after installing 5.0.0-31 lowlatency, xubuntu freezes during reboot.
__________________
KDENeon (5.0.0-31-lowlatency) AMD FX-8350, 16GB, GT 630 (nvidia-435), Multiscreen (2x 22", 1x 15"), Reaper (latest) Theme: iLogic Next, Interface: Tascam US-16x08, ControlSurface: Tascam US-2400, Monitors: JBL 4412A, Tascam VL-S3 & Alesis Elevate 3 mkII
monty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 07:44 AM   #42
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 3,955
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monty View Post
does xubuntu already work with a 5.0.0-31 lowlatency kernel?
I have installed a test xubuntu in a V-box but after installing 5.0.0-31 lowlatency, xubuntu freezes during reboot.
I am running Xubuntu with the 4.15.0-65-lowlatency kernel which I installed in a terminal window with a sudo apt install lowlatency.

I toyed with trying the Liqornix realtime kernel but figgered I'd just be opening myself up to problems mixing and matching stuff outside the distro.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 09:29 AM   #43
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,670
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by monty View Post
does xubuntu already work with a 5.0.0-31 lowlatency kernel?
I have installed a test xubuntu in a V-box but after installing 5.0.0-31 lowlatency, xubuntu freezes during reboot.
Yes it works. That's the one I am using in Xubuntu. However I am using version 19.04 so if you are using an earlier one I don't know if there's a potential problem.

I should ask if you are using an Nvidia GPU with the option to "force full composition pipeline" enabled (a setting that's in the proprietary Nvidia driver settings app "xserver settings"). If I made that setting persist it started upon boot, most times it would just give me a black screen and I would have to use the logout shortcut before I could see the desktop.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux

Last edited by JamesPeters; 10-11-2019 at 10:17 AM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 09:40 AM   #44
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 3,955
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
Yes it works. That's the one I am using in Xubuntu. However I am using version 19.04 so if you are using an earlier one I don't know if there's a potential problem.

I should ask if you are using an Nvidia GPU with the option to "force full composition pipeline" enabled. If I made those settings persist so they started upon boot, most times it would just give me a black screen and I would have to use the logout shortcut before I could see the desktop.
If that's what's happening, you can boot from a live disk, then navigate to where your xorg.conf file lives and rename or edit it to get booted back up. I had to do that a few times while experimenting.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 09:47 AM   #45
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,670
Default

Yeah I just learned what my logout shortcut was, and did that for a while. Logging back in, it was fine.

Later I just made a script that would change that option and left it on the desktop. I would run it manually after booting.

And then I discovered that xfwm4 using Compton as the compositor (first disabling the default one of course) fixed my screen tear without needing that option in the Nvidia settings, so I just stopped using that Nvidia setting. On Mint xfce it wasn't enough just enable Compton, but if you changed any Compton setting at all suddenly it kind of kicked in and the screen tear went away.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 10:11 AM   #46
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 3,955
Default

Hmm, I'm tempted to try compton, but everything on my system is working flawlessly, and I use apps like Google Earth and Stellarium which I think might be using gtk3.

I need to get one of those front panel SSD docks that you can eject an SSD, stab another one in and play around without any worry that you are hosing a perfectly functioning setup.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 10:21 AM   #47
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,670
Default

It's easy enough to try. Disable your compositor, install Compton (it can be done through the "software" app), install the Compton settings app called "Window Effects". Run Compton, add it to the session startup list (it was there already and all I had to do was check a box).

I'd found this info before doing it. He uses apt and so forth, and I did not.

BTW that "Window Effects" setting manager for Compton: you won't see the changes you make until you logout and login again (or turn off/turn on Compton I guess). Also the first time you run it, it creates a compton.conf file in your home/user/.config folder. It has more advanced settings you can change manually.

You can turn Compton off easily enough and re-enable the default compositor, so you don't need a separate install. I suppose it might be theoretically possible to mess something up, but it works fine on both my computers switching between Compton and the default compositor.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 10:30 AM   #48
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 3,955
Default

I'll have to wait for a day when I'm feeling more gutsy.

Right now I'm wrestling with a goto computerized mount for my telescope that I just bought, which may or may not have an issue. I get different results running identical tests and want to know it's working correctly before taking outside in the cold tonight.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 11:11 AM   #49
monty
Human being with feelings
 
monty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
Yes it works. That's the one I am using in Xubuntu. However I am using version 19.04 so if you are using an earlier one I don't know if there's a potential problem.

I should ask if you are using an Nvidia GPU with the option to "force full composition pipeline" enabled (a setting that's in the proprietary Nvidia driver settings app "xserver settings"). If I made that setting persist it started upon boot, most times it would just give me a black screen and I would have to use the logout shortcut before I could see the desktop.
yeah, that could be the reason ... in my xorg.conf (force full composition pipeline is enabled). I will try w/o this setting for further tests in v-box I need to get devilspie working w/ xubuntu because of my multi screen setup ;-)
thanks!
__________________
KDENeon (5.0.0-31-lowlatency) AMD FX-8350, 16GB, GT 630 (nvidia-435), Multiscreen (2x 22", 1x 15"), Reaper (latest) Theme: iLogic Next, Interface: Tascam US-16x08, ControlSurface: Tascam US-2400, Monitors: JBL 4412A, Tascam VL-S3 & Alesis Elevate 3 mkII
monty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 12:48 PM   #50
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,670
Default

Glad to help! Yeah with a few Xfce distros I had the same problem regardless of the kernel (4.X or 5.X) and with a few different Nvidia driver versions too, with that setting enabled and persistent (so it started automatically on login). It seems to work fine for some people including a friend of mine, so there's probably a bug that needs to be worked out. Anyway Xfwm4 which is your default window manager, using Compton instead of the "built-in" compositor as I mentioned earlier, should mean you won't have to use that Nvidia setting at all. I'd try that.

And in case you're wondering, I had added that "force full composition pipeline" setting to my startup group once instead of changing xorg.conf (based on someone's advice I'd found in a Youtube video). It worked fine in MX Linux at one point, then after some updates to the OS/drivers/kernel it had the same problem from time to time.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 11:49 PM   #51
monty
Human being with feelings
 
monty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 173
Default

xubuntu is very fast and seems stable and if you have pcmanfm-qt installed you get a file manager like dolphin with a filter function, pcmanfm-qt can be very well integrated into xubuntu.
__________________
KDENeon (5.0.0-31-lowlatency) AMD FX-8350, 16GB, GT 630 (nvidia-435), Multiscreen (2x 22", 1x 15"), Reaper (latest) Theme: iLogic Next, Interface: Tascam US-16x08, ControlSurface: Tascam US-2400, Monitors: JBL 4412A, Tascam VL-S3 & Alesis Elevate 3 mkII
monty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2019, 04:42 PM   #52
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,670
Default

Thanks for the tip. I like how pcmanfm-qt has that filter option, which I'd missed for certain things (such as working on image files in a Reaper theme, since I'd optimally want to sort by a pattern before selecting anything, and hide other files from view).

BTW I switched to 19.10 beta of Xubuntu. I find its compositor works fine so Compton isn't required to get the best out of the video performance. I compared them and if anything the default compositor works more smoothly.

Also it has monitor profiles now, which is nice. My monitor is detected as an incorrect model so Xubuntu tries to set it to 75 Hz at 1080p, which it's not meant to do (60 Hz is what it's meant to be). I can change it in "displays" of course but it reverts to 75 Hz if I turn the monitor off then back on again while Xubuntu is running. Now I can set it for how I want, save that as a profile and tell Xubuntu to detect monitors (and apply the profile) when they're connected.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.