Old 10-21-2019, 09:56 AM   #1
Vadium
Human being with feelings
 
Vadium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 73
Default Reamote + VSTi samplers

Hi!

Please, explain me, how Reamote on slave computer works with VSTi samplers.
For example, I have 2 computers: host and slave. I have a Hollywood strings library with license key on USB stick on slave computer and Play engine, same versions installed on both host and slave computers. If I insert Play on the Reaper track in Reamote mode, Play on host computer asks me for a license key for a library on the host computer, also asks a path to the samples. After that, I'm not sure if the samples are actually played on a slave computer in fact.
__________________
macOS 10.13.6, personal/small business use license
Vadium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 05:57 AM   #2
Vadium
Human being with feelings
 
Vadium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 73
Default

Hm.. Nobody use Reamote + VSTi?
__________________
macOS 10.13.6, personal/small business use license
Vadium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 10:32 AM   #3
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,062
Default

ReaMote is a pure performance tool and does not care about Licenses. Hence you need a valid license for any of the appropriate VST(i)s on both machines.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 10:51 AM   #4
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Hence you need a valid license for any of the appropriate VST(i)s on both machines.
Also, any content like samples likely need to be fully installed on both machines.

ReaMote is useful for only very limited use cases, it's not a proper solution for running plugins on remote machines.
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 12:25 PM   #5
Vadium
Human being with feelings
 
Vadium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenakios View Post

ReaMote is useful for only very limited use cases
ok. what cases are you mean, for example?
__________________
macOS 10.13.6, personal/small business use license
Vadium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 01:45 PM   #6
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vadium View Post
ok. what cases are you mean, for example?
When you have a plugin that is very simple to install and run on both involved systems. ReaMote requires the plugin to actually run on both systems. Only the audio processing is skipped on the local machine and even that might not be the case entirely with every plugin.
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2019, 09:56 PM   #7
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,062
Default

There are long standing requests (one named "Remote SubProject") for using the ReaMote protocol (or something alike) to just transfer audio, Midi and realtime data (syncing, automation, play state, ...) (i.e. what is communicated by Reaper and the 32Bit/64Bit "VST-Bridge" processes, hence the best name supposedly would be "Remote VST-Bridge") between the local computer and the remote host and have the user do the configuration of the remote plugins completely on the remote computer. Not as convenient as ReaMote, but much more versatile.

Does not seem like very high priority regarding the always increasing power of the machines.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.