Old 04-09-2020, 12:01 PM   #281
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whompyjaw View Post
When I press my MIDI keys, nothing lights up.
track is armed and midi set:
Works here. What I did is:
run rs5k manager
Menu: Add Rs5k tracker to first slot of parent track
Click on bottom red button to make selected track armed, monitoring opn and MIDI input to all inputs.

So no idea why it doesn`t work for you. Make sure also you didn`t changed
Menu / Key options / key names / Visual octave shift (it is -1 for me)
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 05:28 PM   #282
whompyjaw
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 4
Default

It works if I pull up the virtual midi controller and click piano keys.
It works if i click with the mouse on the sample in the r5kmanager.
It does not work when I press a key on my midi controller. You are saying yours works when pressing midi controller? Cthulhu can get input from controller, so I don't think it's my settings in Reaper, as far as, inhibiting MIDI messages from going through, but maybe. I have some default settings that auto record arm my tracks and set input to midi controller. could that be messing up r5k routing?

My Visual Octave Shift is set to -1 as well.

Not sure what else to try =/. Maybe i can ask if others have experienced it.
whompyjaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2020, 01:27 PM   #283
DjLaurenz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 17
Default

Hi, mpl!
we appreciate your updates on this beast, your script is always useful!
I want to ask you if it's normal that "Script: mpl_Explode selected track RS5k instances to new tracks.lua" works in a different way than clicking "FX" on pads in the GUI; When i click on "FX" it creates a new track with that RS5K instance and receives midi notes from the original track but audio signal is going out from the new track... and this is nice because if I wish to freeze/render different percussive tracks for mixing is very useful.
"Script: mpl_Explode selected track RS5k instances to new tracks.lua", instead, creates new tracks COPYING RS5K instances in those tracks and it doesn't create midi send to new tracks! so if i play a midi item in original track audio signal still goes out from original track and new tracks remain there in useless way.
Is there a way to replicate "FX" function on pads with a script for ALL RS5k instances?
Thank you for patience (and sorry for my english! )
DjLaurenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2020, 11:03 PM   #284
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DjLaurenz View Post
"Script: mpl_Explode selected track RS5k instances to new tracks.lua", instead, creates new tracks COPYING RS5K instances in those tracks and it doesn't create midi send to new tracks! so if i play a midi item in original track audio signal still goes out from original track and new tracks remain there in useless way.
Update RS5k tools package
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2020, 06:10 PM   #285
DjLaurenz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
Update RS5k tools package
What a wonderful thing!!!!!!
It damn works!
DjLaurenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2020, 07:52 AM   #286
Pink Wool
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 33
Default

Wow! This is really cool! Thank you for this!

I was wondering, would it be possible to import a sliced audio track from the timeline into several different pads automatically?
Pink Wool is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2020, 11:54 AM   #287
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pink Wool View Post
Wow! This is really cool! Thank you for this!

I was wondering, would it be possible to import a sliced audio track from the timeline into several different pads automatically?
You can do it with the Export items to RS5k instances scripts in ReaPack (they are in RS5k Tools package) or see RS5k manager menu for the action with the same name.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 10:26 AM   #288
dimtok
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: sthlm, swe
Posts: 45
Default

Hi MPL!

First of all I want to thank you for having developed RS5K! It is just what I wanted!!

I have two feature suggestions:

1. It would be great if it was possible to select the output of each pad, eg. select the kick sample ouput to 1/2, and then select output 3/4 for the snare, etc. It would also be great if it was possible to
select multiple pads and choose the output for all fx instances at once.

2. Would it be possible to sort and rename the rs5k instances in the FX chain?

Cheers,

// h
__________________
suck my syntheziser
dimtok is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 10:40 AM   #289
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dimtok View Post
It would be great if it was possible to select the output of each pad, eg. select the kick sample ouput to 1/2, and then select output 3/4 for the snare, etc. It would also be great if it was possible to
select multiple pads and choose the output for all fx instances at once.
Would be a huge pain to implement it inside RS5k manager. But I can build a script which route all instrument FX in the track (like, parent track of RS5k manager) to incremental channel pairs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dimtok View Post
Would it be possible to sort and rename the rs5k instances in the FX chain?
Sort by what? rename how?
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 12:14 AM   #290
dimtok
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: sthlm, swe
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
Would be a huge pain to implement it inside RS5k manager. But I can build a script which route all instrument FX in the track (like, parent track of RS5k manager) to incremental channel pairs.

Sort by what? rename how?
Yo thanks for replying so quickly! Yes, incremental pairs would also be quite cool but adding a menu item to the pad-right-click drop down would be ideal for selecting channel pairs. I understand if it might be a bit more time consuming though - I am quite new to reascripting so forgive me if I am asking for too much. I'm also going to try to read through your code and see if I can fork and add something nice myself. I just found the dev docs thread so I'm going to run through it.

Sorry, I was a bit unclear. I was wondering if it would be possible to maybe rename each fx instance to its corresponding note name and then have the instances sorted by name in the fx chain window. But now that I am writing this I realize that this is maybe a bit annoying to write as well.
__________________
suck my syntheziser

Last edited by dimtok; 05-18-2020 at 12:25 AM. Reason: clarity. not sure how to use mult quotes per ans
dimtok is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 09:30 AM   #291
dimtok
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: sthlm, swe
Posts: 45
Default

Also, I'd like to ask you where the RS5K manager script program starts? Where should I start reading through the code in order to be able to follow everything and how do you use functions from other scripts in your main file.
For example, how do you get access to the mpl_various_functions from within the rs5k scripts?

Cheers,

// h
__________________
suck my syntheziser

Last edited by dimtok; 05-18-2020 at 10:03 AM.
dimtok is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 11:13 AM   #292
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,831
Default

Quote:
I am quite new to reascripting
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimtok View Post
Also, I'd like to ask you where the RS5K manager script program starts? Where should I start reading through the code in order to be able to follow everything and how do you use functions from other scripts in your main file
You should probably start with something easier than a script with 5000+ lines of handwritten code.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 11:56 AM   #293
dimtok
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: sthlm, swe
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
You should probably start with something easier than a script with 5000+ lines of handwritten code.
Haha, yes you're absolutely right! I'm reading through smaller scripts at the moment. This is quite exciting! I'm really starting to love Reaper.
__________________
suck my syntheziser
dimtok is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2020, 03:32 AM   #294
chadborghini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
You should probably start with something easier than a script with 5000+ lines of handwritten code.
Wow this script is awesome! I just wish there was an option to add a midi note filter automatically and some how have it adjust to the pad so it can be used to print out midi.
chadborghini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2020, 02:48 PM   #295
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dimtok View Post
1. It would be great if it was possible to select the output of each pad, eg. select the kick sample ouput to 1/2, and then select output 3/4 for the snare, etc. It would also be great if it was possible to
select multiple pads and choose the output for all fx instances at once.

2. Would it be possible to sort and rename the rs5k instances in the FX chain?
See mpl_Set selected track FX outputs to incremental stereo pairs.lua and RS5k tools package for mpl_Add note into RS5k instance name on selected track.lua and mpl_Sort by note start RS5k instances on selected track.lua


Quote:
Originally Posted by chadborghini View Post
Wow this script is awesome! I just wish there was an option to add a midi note filter automatically and some how have it adjust to the pad so it can be used to print out midi.
You can use 'M' bytton to mute (bypass) specific pad. It also should bypass all layers in layering mode.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2020, 02:17 PM   #296
chadborghini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chadborghini View Post
You can use 'M' bytton to mute (bypass) specific pad. It also should bypass all layers in layering mode.
Hm it still bounces muted notes. I was using this on some drum pads and i was recording my performances on the pads routed to seperate tracks. But All MIDI data is recorded on each track. Obviously it isnt played since the tracks rs5ks are routed to a single note it's more of an ocd thing i guess. But i know there is a stock note filter plugin and it would be cool if the script not only exported an instance of rs5k but A midi note filter plugin as well with the correct pitch that the rs5k is set to.Just an idea i have no idea if this is possible. I mostly just frankenstein scripts together lol.
chadborghini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.