Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2012, 07:06 AM   #1
KenC
Human being with feelings
 
KenC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 376
Default Record monitoring and recording during count in?

Is there a way to tell Reaper to let me record and hear output from a VSTi during the count-in?

Often you have a note a bit before the bar you start recording on, but by default Reaper doesn't record that, and I can't hear anything before recording kicks in after the count-in.

I'd like recording to be active during the count-in and let me hear what I play during the count-in

Also, is there any way to add negative bars before bar 1 for things like sending sysex to setup hardware before everything starts or if the song start a bit before bar 1? I could start on bar 4 or something, but that messes up the nice familiar bar numbering.

Any way to set this up? Sorry of this is obvious, I've been at it all day, but I can't seem to find any way to do it.
KenC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 07:55 AM   #2
Billoon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Arse end of the earth.
Posts: 2,982
Default

Unfortunately there is no way to monitor during count in, its a long standing feature request of mine.

I'm using a custom action as a workaround, youll need the SWS extention which you can find on the resources page.



You can set the project to start at eg. bar -1 in project settings(in file menu or use toolbar button).
__________________
Fortune favours the prepared...

Last edited by Billoon; 12-15-2012 at 08:05 AM.
Billoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 10:07 AM   #3
KenC
Human being with feelings
 
KenC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 376
Default

To bad, that's one feature I've been missing in Sonar which was my old DAW, it also does the mute instrument thing, so you can't hear what you're playing before the count-in is done.

I'll install the SWS extension and play around with that.

Thanks.
KenC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 12:02 PM   #4
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,110
Default

I am guessing you want to hear the vsti to just get in the mood right?

so thinking maybe a workaround but it may or may not work for you:

Instead of using the metronome for the project, make a whole click track which is really just a wav file, right?

Now if you want you can make two diff ones, one that is the realy metro sound and one with 'count in sounds'... say just the one beats...

OK so you put those on a track and let them play. And you adjust your existing tracks accordingly to start where you want them.

Reaper will let you set up the time ruler with negative numbers so you can still see a ruler that starts at zero for the song but has minus bars to the left.

And.. should you want that click track to get louder or softer or just shut up at any point, you can use either the volume envelope for it, or use Action Markers [see user guide about these] to control it.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 12:36 PM   #5
ASG25
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Default

I like the idea mentioned above. Render the click down to a WAV file and then use that opposed to the count in feature. Only issue is that you would have to insert some space before the song starts for it to work appropriately at the beginning of the song.
__________________
All about Guitar Amp Simulators: http://guitarampsimulators.com/
ASG25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 02:29 PM   #6
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASG25 View Post
I like the idea mentioned above. Render the click down to a WAV file and then use that opposed to the count in feature. Only issue is that you would have to insert some space before the song starts for it to work appropriately at the beginning of the song.
right but if you read again you'll see I coverd that.. in spades
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.