Old 04-27-2014, 04:44 PM   #1
046oh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 10
Default adjusting track send to bus

How can I send a track's output to 100% bus and 0% master.
My current understanding of how a bus works is

bus ------> master
input -->
master

so I thought setting the master volume for the input track to 0 would get what I wanted. However, the result was no output from the signal at all.

How can I have all of the track's output going through the bus?
I want to do this to avoid sidechaining every track but instead doing them all at once.
046oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 05:02 PM   #2
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,460
Default

Quickest way would be to put all tracks in a folder, in Reaper a folder acts as a bus.

But if you have set up your sends to a bus already, you need to disable master/parent send on the tracks sending to the bus track.

[img]http://img838.**************/img838/9840/g6gf.png[/img]

(click the I/O button to get this dialog)

edit:
Or make the sends pre fader instead of post fader, than you can pull down the volume of the sending tracks and they still get send to the bus but not the master.

Last edited by nofish; 04-27-2014 at 05:08 PM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 05:08 PM   #3
James HE
Human being with feelings
 
James HE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm in a barn
Posts: 4,414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Quickest way would be to put all tracks in a folder, in Reaper a folder acts as a bus.

But if you have set up your sends to a bus already, you need to disable master/parent send on the tracks sending to the bus track.

[img]http://img838.**************/img838/9840/g6gf.png[/img]

(click the I/O button to get this dialog)
In the mixer, you can ALT click the IO button to toggle the master parent send.
James HE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2014, 05:18 PM   #4
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,460
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James HE View Post
In the mixer, you can ALT click the IO button to toggle the master parent send.
I keep forgetting about this, so thanks for the reminder.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2014, 04:23 AM   #5
046oh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks a bunch for the tips. right now I'm using the folder method.
046oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.