Old 11-12-2018, 04:45 AM   #1
SymboliC
Human being with feelings
 
SymboliC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: istanbul
Posts: 195
Default Question about Render/Freeze tracks

Hi,

I have 2 questions regarding freezing tracks.

1) All my frozen tracks are temporarily rendered to WAV with high resolution which takes a good amount of harddisk space for a temporary action. Is there a way to make freezing render to mp3 files instead? Or to a lower quality wav file? A 4 minutes of strings section takes around 2,6 GB space.

2) I'm not sure if I'm doing freezing correctly. My main goal is to preserve CPU and RAM resources.

I have 10 tracks of MIDI that routes to VST track which, outputs to 10 audio tracks. I'm just selecting VST track and choose freeze tracks to multichannel.
But it sounds like the effects(i.e. reverb) are doubled.

What I'll ask is, when I do freezing this way, are all the audio output tracks from VST track got processed? Am I getting the "wet" result or are the effects on audio tracks applied to the frozen track in real time? Should I bypass the effects on audio output tracks?
I don't know if it psychological but I feel like the effects are being doubled?

Thank you,
__________________
...and creativity surrendered to technical difficulties.
SymboliC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 05:08 PM   #2
SymboliC
Human being with feelings
 
SymboliC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: istanbul
Posts: 195
Default

Bump...

I'll be glad if I can get an answer at least for my first question...
Is there a way to freeze tracks with specific quality settings?
I've done a search in preferences but nothing came out of it...

Thanks,
__________________
...and creativity surrendered to technical difficulties.
SymboliC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 06:39 PM   #3
nicholas
Scribe
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 9,976
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SymboliC View Post
Hi,

I have 2 questions regarding freezing tracks.

1) All my frozen tracks are temporarily rendered to WAV with high resolution which takes a good amount of harddisk space for a temporary action. Is there a way to make freezing render to mp3 files instead? Or to a lower quality wav file? A 4 minutes of strings section takes around 2,6 GB space.
Open project settings ....(Alt Enter)
Media Tab
Change format for Apply FX, Glue, Freeze etc
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 07:24 PM   #4
SymboliC
Human being with feelings
 
SymboliC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: istanbul
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicholas View Post
Open project settings ....(Alt Enter)
Media Tab
Change format for Apply FX, Glue, Freeze etc
Ah... I've never thought it was burried under project settings and have been looking for it inside global preferences... silly me.

Thank you!
__________________
...and creativity surrendered to technical difficulties.
SymboliC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2018, 07:27 PM   #5
nicholas
Scribe
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 9,976
Default

You're welcome
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.