Old 07-03-2021, 02:51 PM   #1
daniel88v8
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 82
Red face linux newb

so i burned the av linux ms iso in rufus, i choose dd mode because was the only way to burn the iso,
reboot put the USB wait for the livecd to start, recognized all my crap even the cheap sound card later i open reaper and test the latency i think wasnt as good as my w7 config.
later i installed to the hdd folow the steps, until i see an option to install grub and didnt know what to choose.



Then I opened firefox to look for information but the system did not respond, I waited to see if it happened but it still did not respond then I panicked and turned off the pc I removed the usb and turned on the pc again, but now I could not enter windows I got a K BOOT error, after looking for information on the internet I saw that I had to configure the boot disks in the bios this did not work. so I started again with the av linux livecd, entered gparted and I put the boot flag to the windows partition and now I can enter windows.
so I started again to where the system had frozen and chose the option of GPT and installed av linux in an empty partition, but when I restart the pc it goes directly to windows and does not give me the option to choose.


well this was my first experience in linux.


sorry for my english
daniel88v8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 06:46 PM   #2
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 608
Default

Hi, you might have to use your early-boot key-press to access the boot options. If you are unfamiliar, it might flash on-screen briefly before windows is engaged. It's used to enter the bios or administrator mode, when settings need to be changed. On my computers, it's F10 or esc key.
Don't give up!

I've always used the MBR option. This page might be helpful:

https://linuxhint.com/install_debian_10/

Last edited by 4duhwinnn; 07-03-2021 at 07:00 PM.
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 07:12 PM   #3
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 608
Default

Since AVLinux uses MX Linux as a basis, their help forum might be good luck:


https://forum.mxlinux.org/viewforum.php?f=104
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 08:02 PM   #4
daniel88v8
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 82
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4duhwinnn View Post
Hi, you might have to use your early-boot key-press to access the boot options. If you are unfamiliar, it might flash on-screen briefly before windows is engaged. It's used to enter the bios or administrator mode, when settings need to be changed. On my computers, it's F10 or esc key.
Don't give up!

I've always used the MBR option. This page might be helpful:

https://linuxhint.com/install_debian_10/



I thought that windows was going to show the two options and also I thought that if you choose the mbr option it will delete the windows installation. This is much easier than I thought.

so this grub replaces the windows bootloader?
daniel88v8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2021, 10:58 PM   #5
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 608
Default

That looks right, to me. I don't have windows installed, but I get the same three entries you see, along with some Ubuntu setups. What steps did you take to get to that welcome screen, from where you were?

The link below looks like a good read for dealing with new/different/unfamiliar installation possibilities, that I need to study. I'd hate to give out incorrect advice!

https://wiki.debian.org/UEFI

Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2021, 10:18 AM   #6
daniel88v8
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4duhwinnn View Post
That looks right, to me. I don't have windows installed, but I get the same three entries you see, along with some Ubuntu setups. What steps did you take to get to that welcome screen, from where you were?

The link below looks like a good read for dealing with new/different/unfamiliar installation possibilities, that I need to study. I'd hate to give out incorrect advice!

https://wiki.debian.org/UEFI

Cheers
There were two options to install grub, MBR that only let me select the complete hard disk, and GPT that let me select the partition where I was going to install linux.
I chose to install grub on the linux partition with GPT since I was afraid of deleting my windows installation.
but when I restarted the pc the option did not appear in the windows bootloader to be able to choose between w7 and linux, I suppose that the windows bootloader does not recognize the linux installation.
so later I decided to reinstall linux with the MBR option and I guess grub replaced the windows bootloader, which has no problem letting me choose between other operating systems.
daniel88v8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2021, 05:52 PM   #7
4duhwinnn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 608
Default

Thanks for replying. Decisive clarifications are always helpful
for others coming by in future months/years! Hope you're enjoying the new system!
Cheers
4duhwinnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2021, 01:45 AM   #8
Bjorn.LaSanche
Human being with feelings
 
Bjorn.LaSanche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Texas
Posts: 138
Default

Fwiw , I have been told by several people that dual booting is an issue with Linux and windows being on the same physical drive. That to dual boot with minimal error is two hdd. One for each operating system. When installing linux to its own drive, unplug the windows hdd bothe the power and data cables. Once Linux reboots, shut down and reconnect the windows hdd. Reboot and use your preload USB key to bring up the hdd to boot from.

On my system, I set the Linux drive before the windows drive to load through the bios setting. So linux will boot but Grub gives me the option to choose the windows disk. You can do the same but there are more set up steps to have the windows boot loader handle the same thing.


Be warned. Anytime windows updates, before you update it, shut down and make sure you have your live cd for Linux and disconnect the Linux hdd. Windows installer is a bully and will overwrite all instances of any other operating system from your computer. The hdd and everything is still there but it corrupts grub. Every time. You just have to boot from the Linux hdd using the live cd. And the update grub and you’ll be good. I’ve been using linux two maybe theee months now with nothing but audio issues and have had to install and reboot many times. Starting to hate both systems actually.
__________________
Don’t rush me. I’m moving as fast as I want to. Whatsapp 012109196947, Signal - Bjorn LaSanche, Telegram - @bjornlasanche
Bjorn.LaSanche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2021, 05:03 PM   #9
LCipher
Human being with feelings
 
LCipher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bjorn.LaSanche View Post
Be warned. Anytime windows updates, before you update it, shut down and make sure you have your live cd for Linux and disconnect the Linux hdd.
newbie wanting to try linux here....

I was planning on removing all HDs and installing linux on its own HD. The reinstalling all HD. Planing to switch by using the BIOS order (hit DEL, change bios settings, etc).

Are you telling me this wont work reliably? I dont get the "bootloader" are you saying windows updates kills the other linux HD ability to boot if I chnage the boot in the bios?
LCipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2021, 06:29 PM   #10
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCipher View Post
newbie wanting to try linux here....

I was planning on removing all HDs and installing linux on its own HD. The reinstalling all HD. Planing to switch by using the BIOS order (hit DEL, change bios settings, etc).

Are you telling me this wont work reliably? I dont get the "bootloader" are you saying windows updates kills the other linux HD ability to boot if I chnage the boot in the bios?
That will work. The one thing that will likely happen at some point is that Linux will get an update that requires it to update grub, and it will go, hey there is a bootable Windows on that other drive, I'm going to add it and give you a boot menu with a few seconds to decide.

That exact scenario happened to me but going from Xubuntu Linux to Manjaro Linux. I pulled all SSDs and installed Manjaro on a brand new NVME M.2 drive, and I had to use the bios boot menu to boot the old drive.

Then I got an update that needed to refresh grub, and now I have a 5 second boot menu provided by grub to select either the default Manjaro Linux or Xubuntu Linux. It's actually easier to let grub handle it, but in my case I will be retiring the Xubuntu drive and only have it still connected in case I missed something when moving to Manjaro.

Note: by having all other drives disconnected when you install Linux on its own private drive, all the grub stuff will also be on that drive, so if you ever remove it, Windows will boot fine once you tell the bios to boot from that drive. Or if you have Windows set as the boot drive, Linux may still add a boot menu at some point, but you would only see it if you told the bios to boot from the Linux drive drive.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2021, 10:36 PM   #11
s wave
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Colorado
Posts: 309
Default

I do 'cold' swapping hard drives on a mobo that will allow me to do this; very IMPORTANT to me. If I want to switch to Windows or Fedora - I swap the drives out with the PC turned off. I tried everything and this is my fav set up for multiple OSs. (you could use a switch if you want too?)
s wave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2021, 03:28 PM   #12
LCipher
Human being with feelings
 
LCipher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s wave View Post
I do 'cold' swapping hard drives on a mobo that will allow me to do this; very IMPORTANT to me. If I want to switch to Windows or Fedora - I swap the drives out with the PC turned off. I tried everything and this is my fav set up for multiple OSs. (you could use a switch if you want too?)
I may do that - I have removable drives in my rack mount
I HATE it when bootloades stomp on the other drives
LCipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2021, 04:51 PM   #13
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCipher View Post
I may do that - I have removable drives in my rack mount
I HATE it when bootloades stomp on the other drives
In the scenario I outlined earlier, which matched how you did your install with no other drives present, I don't think you will get bootloader stuff on anything but the Linux drive. Had the bootable Windows drive been installed when you installed Linux, it would have put the bootloader on the Windows drive, but since the only drive installed when Linux was installed, the boot stuff is only on that drive.

At some point an update in Linux will probably re-write the bootloader and it will see that there is a bootable Windows and add that to the list of bootable devices, but it will still all live on the Linux drive and would only be seen booting Linux.

IOW, If I boot my old Xubuntu SSD by using the boot menu in my BIOS I won't see the grubloader at all and it boots straight to Xubuntu.

IF OTOH I boot Manjaro, I'll see the grub boot menu because it's on the Manjaro NVMe M.2 drive that was the only drive installed when I installed Manjaro. If I pulled the NVMe M.2 drive out, Xubuntu will boot like it was always the only bootable drive.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2021, 02:06 PM   #14
LCipher
Human being with feelings
 
LCipher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennbo View Post
In the scenario I outlined earlier, which matched how you did your install with ....

OK I think I could live with that. What I DONT want is dependencies on requiring both harddrives to be running or the HD with (or without?) the bootloader not working if the other drive is not installed

I seem to recall from the old days of windows (not sure the version) of something like that happening to me
LCipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2021, 04:32 PM   #15
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCipher View Post
OK I think I could live with that. What I DONT want is dependencies on requiring both harddrives to be running or the HD with (or without?) the bootloader not working if the other drive is not installed

I seem to recall from the old days of windows (not sure the version) of something like that happening to me
I've had it happen to me before too, which is why I only had my new NVMe M.2 drive installed when I installed Manjaro.

Later that same day I connected the SSD I had been using before with Xubuntu, and I did not have a boot menu, and I could boot either drive using the boot selection in my BIOS.

Then a couple of weeks later I got a big update in Manjaro that wanted to reboot, and that was when I got a boot menu so the first thing I did was use my bios to select the older SSD with Xubuntu, and it booted straight up with no grub menu. Then I booted Manjaro and got the boot menu, so for shits and grins, I selected Xubuntu, and it booted. Lastly I just let it time out and it booted to Manjaro like I want it to if I turn it on and leave the room.

What that testing told me though is that my SSD with Xubuntu has no grub loader, but the NVMe M.2 with Manjaro does. I'm pretty sure that the problems we've both seen were when the other OS was visible when Linux was installed so it put a grub loader on the drive that already had an OS.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2021, 12:37 PM   #16
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,358
Default

I finally yanked the Xubuntu SSD out of my machine so it's pure Manjaro now, and will use that SSD to make backups now.

To get rid of the orphaned Xubuntu entry on the grub menu, and to stop grub from even displaying a menu at boot time, I simply ran the command,

sudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

which looked around and only saw Manjaro. I rebooted and no more grub boot menu. Goes straight into Manajaro no questions asked.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:46 PM   #17
LCipher
Human being with feelings
 
LCipher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,988
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennbo View Post
Isudo grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
thanks good to know. my summer vac is coming up and I think I'll get a cheap SSD and try out Manjaro
LCipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 08:23 PM   #18
Glennbo
Human being with feelings
 
Glennbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LCipher View Post
thanks good to know. my summer vac is coming up and I think I'll get a cheap SSD and try out Manjaro
That's exactly how I eased into Linux. I bought a cheap 250GB Samsung SSD for like $50 and only had it installed when I installed Linux. I ran with just the one drive for a few days and then hooked my Windows drive back up so I could boot either using the boot menu in my BIOS. It was right after I hooked my Windows drive back up that experimental versions of REAPER for Linux started being available, and my plan to use offline Windows for REAPER and online Linux for everything else got blown out.

In less than a couple of months I was using REAPER for Linux exclusively, even though I could still boot Windows as my security blanket.
__________________
Glennbo
Hear My Music - Click Me!!!
--
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.