Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2018, 11:00 PM   #1
DreamDisease
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 23
Default Does Reaper have a way of making all note ends in a chord the same?

I love Reaper but I haven't really delved into editing MIDI with it yet. One thing I miss from Logic 9 was that you could select a chord, hold shift or something, and then as you drag one of the notes, all the notes of that chord follow and end where that note does. Does Reaper have something like that?

Thanks!
DreamDisease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 01:17 AM   #2
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,650
Default

Maybe have a look at the Script: me2beats_Set notes length to length of note under mouse.lua

Available via ReaPack (https://reapack.com/). And if I remember correctly, you'll have to add the me2beats link from the repository list manually:
- https://reapack.com/user-guide#manage-repositories
- https://reapack.com/repos



You might also find some useful MIDI Editor tools in this thread: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=176878

Last edited by solger; 04-16-2018 at 01:25 AM. Reason: link added
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 06:28 AM   #3
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 144
Default

That's pretty easy: Go in midi editor, right click on the toolbar - customize toolbar -> add. Then search for "set note length" and add all you variations to the toolbar. (I have 1/8, 1/16, and 1/4.) After that assign fitting icons and save your toolbar.

Now whenever you want to set the length just select the notes and hit the button.
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 06:43 AM   #4
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamDisease View Post
I love Reaper but I haven't really delved into editing MIDI with it yet. One thing I miss from Logic 9 was that you could select a chord, hold shift or something, and then as you drag one of the notes, all the notes of that chord follow and end where that note does. Does Reaper have something like that?

Thanks!
Sorry for the post before, i thought you want to make several notes the same length. But you want to make them the length of the note you stretch? I don't know if there is an action with exactly the same behavior but you could use kawas "NoteLength_to_EndOfSelectedNotes" script which lets you select a bunch of notes and make them the length of the note you last added to the selection.
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 06:53 AM   #5
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DreamDisease View Post
I love Reaper but I haven't really delved into editing MIDI with it yet. One thing I miss from Logic 9 was that you could select a chord, hold shift or something, and then as you drag one of the notes, all the notes of that chord follow and end where that note does. Does Reaper have something like that?

Thanks!
This may come to help, you don't even have to do dragging:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ta-2kRpcwTI

The only thing with the used custom action is that it snaps all the ends of the selected notes to grid.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.