Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > MIDI Hardware, Control Surfaces, and OSC

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2020, 11:20 AM   #5841
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,783
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
Oh the surface it looks great, and indeed I've tried this in the past, but then you run into your favourite and mine -- 3rd party manufacturers

It turns out you need to be able to specify exactly whatever nutso thing they provide
Fair enough I guess it was too much to hope that the manufacturers would accept a range of values to switch a parameter rather than a single exact value (which, of course is easily delivered by an absolute (Fader7Bit) controller)
MixMonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2020, 03:06 AM   #5842
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
Fair enough I guess it was too much to hope that the manufacturers would accept a range of values to switch a parameter rather than a single exact value (which, of course is easily delivered by an absolute (Fader7Bit) controller)

At least now the FX Monitor shows the Reaper reported step sizes.
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2020, 03:14 AM   #5843
WaveTrans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Forest City
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pane.valentin View Post
I have tested with WaveTrans 14th december.dll and can confirm that the Control Surface integrator appears in the Control Surface Mode list now.
Good to hear, thanks.

Hope this will help to resolve this issue.
WaveTrans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2020, 04:08 AM   #5844
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,783
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
At least now the FX Monitor shows the Reaper reported step sizes.
Did you implement SteppedFXParam already? I didn’t realise
MixMonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2020, 04:42 AM   #5845
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
Did you implement SteppedFXParam already? I didn’t realise
No, but the readout of steps has been in FX Monitor for a few months
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2020, 05:47 AM   #5846
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,783
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
No, but the readout of steps has been in FX Monitor for a few months
Ah, I see. Handy
MixMonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2020, 10:28 AM   #5847
pegel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 12
Default

hello,

csi does not work for me,
if i install the 64 bit dll i get an error message
when starting up reaper that says that vcruntime140.dll
is missing, but it's there in system 32

if i copy this dll into the reaper main folder and change
it's name to VCRUNTIME140_1.dll, like it's written in the
error massage, i get another error that says something like
a cxxframehandler4 could not be located

using windows 7 and reaper 6.02/x64

Last edited by pegel; 01-06-2020 at 04:10 PM.
pegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 12:56 AM   #5848
WaveTrans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Forest City
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pegel View Post
hello,

csi does not work for me,
if i install the 64 bit dll i get an error message
when starting up reaper that says that vcruntime140.dll
is missing, but it's there in system 32

if i copy this dll into the reaper main folder and change
it's name to VCRUNTIME140_1.dll, like it's written in the
error massage, i get another error that says something like
a cxxframehandler4 could not be located

using windows 7 and reaper 6.02/x64
Could you try, if the build from 14th works for you?

You find it under following link (post#5832):
https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...postcount=5832

Itīs just a shot in the dark, but if it works, it may help to resolve the issues some of us experienced with the more recent builds.

Cheers,
WaveTrans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 03:53 AM   #5849
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

Wow, could it be a VC runtime error not being reported ?

Ok, everyone you need to install the redistributable for VS2019 v142, please let me know what happens.
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 05:48 AM   #5850
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

@RobinGShore and any other Mac/EuCon users, the following MAY work:

Download and install Reaper for Catalina (10.15 - notarized), I tried it and it ran fine here on 10.14.6.

Download the latest eucon/CSI butlds.

Try to install eucon.
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 05:53 AM   #5851
sivert_h
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tromsø, Norway
Posts: 30
Default

When I hit play the faders on my control surface jumps to the middle position, check video for detailed description.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2nvn2tl07w...24.02.mp4?dl=0

Any ideas?
sivert_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 05:57 AM   #5852
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,783
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sivert_h View Post
When I hit play the faders on my control surface jumps to the middle position, check video for detailed description.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2nvn2tl07w...24.02.mp4?dl=0

Any ideas?
Is the surface disabled in Reaper MIDI Devices prefs?
MixMonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 05:58 AM   #5853
WaveTrans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Forest City
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
Wow, could it be a VC runtime error not being reported ?

Ok, everyone you need to install the redistributable for VS2019 v142, please let me know what happens.

Right, I downloaded this file, "vc_redist.x64.exe", from this link, https://support.microsoft.com/de-de/...al-c-downloads, and installed it.

Then I copied the build from 02012020 into the plugins folder and .... wait for it ...CSI appears in the control surface mode menu again

Canīt say that it works yet, since I donīt have the controller with me but this is good news - will test it this evening.

Excellent, thanks Geoff


Edit: is this worth mentioning in the readme?

Last edited by WaveTrans; 01-07-2020 at 06:16 AM.
WaveTrans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 06:13 AM   #5854
sivert_h
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tromsø, Norway
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MixMonkey View Post
Is the surface disabled in Reaper MIDI Devices prefs?
Oh excellent, thank you! I didn't know that it needed to be disabled. It was by the way disabling the MIDI output that fixed the issue.
sivert_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 06:19 AM   #5855
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,783
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sivert_h View Post
Oh excellent, thank you! I didn't know that it needed to be disabled. It was by the way disabling the MIDI output that fixed the issue.
Jubbly To be clear, though, this is an either/or thing. You can either have the surface enabled in MIDI devices and use it as a MIDI input device, or disabled in MIDI devices and selected as a control surface in the Control/OSC/Web prefs to use with CSI. Not both.
MixMonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 07:51 AM   #5856
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,783
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
At least now the FX Monitor shows the Reaper reported step sizes.
Just tried this, works like a charm!

Will it take a long time to code FXSteppedParam?

Really looking forward to this, the discrete value thing has been a problem ever since I started mapping FX.
MixMonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 09:16 AM   #5857
sivert_h
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tromsø, Norway
Posts: 30
Default

Ok I've been trying for hours now to figure out how to map plugins across my control surface but I'm not getting it to work. By adding the line "JogWheelPush ToggleMapFocusedFX" in my Buttons| zone I'm able to toggle the faders to map to plugin parameters. But how the heck do I get my scribble strip to update and show the plugin parameter names? Is it possible to set it across the upper and lower scribble strip as well, so that visually for me the upper scribble strip refers to the pan pot, and the lower scribble strip refers to the fader?
sivert_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 09:43 AM   #5858
MixMonkey
Human being with feelings
 
MixMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,783
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sivert_h View Post
Ok I've been trying for hours now to figure out how to map plugins across my control surface but I'm not getting it to work. By adding the line "JogWheelPush ToggleMapFocusedFX" in my Buttons| zone I'm able to toggle the faders to map to plugin parameters. But how the heck do I get my scribble strip to update and show the plugin parameter names? Is it possible to set it across the upper and lower scribble strip as well, so that visually for me the upper scribble strip refers to the pan pot, and the lower scribble strip refers to the fader?
What .mst and .zon files are you using?
MixMonkey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 10:30 AM   #5859
RobinGShore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
@RobinGShore and any other Mac/EuCon users, the following MAY work:

Download and install Reaper for Catalina (10.15 - notarized), I tried it and it ran fine here on 10.14.6.

Download the latest eucon/CSI butlds.

Try to install eucon.
Just tried this and still no luck
RobinGShore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 10:35 AM   #5860
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobinGShore View Post
Just tried this and still no luck
Did the Catalina Reaper build run on 10.14.6 for you ?
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 10:46 AM   #5861
RobinGShore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
Did the Catalina Reaper build run on 10.14.6 for you ?
Yup, Reaper runs, but CSI/Eucon is doing the same thing as before.
RobinGShore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 11:04 AM   #5862
WaveTrans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Forest City
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
Wow, could it be a VC runtime error not being reported ?

Ok, everyone you need to install the redistributable for VS2019 v142, please let me know what happens.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WaveTrans View Post
Right, I downloaded this file, "vc_redist.x64.exe", from this link, https://support.microsoft.com/de-de/...al-c-downloads, and installed it.

Then I copied the build from 02012020 into the plugins folder and .... wait for it ...CSI appears in the control surface mode menu again

Canīt say that it works yet, since I donīt have the controller with me but this is good news - will test it this evening.

Excellent, thanks Geoff
As posted, CSI is shown in the surface control mode menu after installing the VS2019 v142 redistributable.

However, the 02. january build does not work as it should.

When loading it in the prefs, the controller lights up and one gets basic functions but no track functions available.

Works fine with 14th Dec.build.

Did anyone else try the redistributable thing yet?

Last edited by WaveTrans; 01-07-2020 at 11:12 AM.
WaveTrans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 11:10 AM   #5863
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobinGShore View Post
Yup, Reaper runs, but CSI/Eucon is doing the same thing as before.
Does CSI work with Midi devices in this config ?
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 11:12 AM   #5864
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaveTrans View Post
As posted, CSI is shown in the surface control mode menu after installing the VS2019 v142 redistributable.

However, the 02. january build does not work as it should.

When loading it in the prefs, the controller lights up and one gets into send menu but apart from this itīs pretty dead.

Works fine with 14th Dec.build.

Did anyone else try the redistributable thing yet?
Don't forget there were substantial .zon file changes recently.

I'm just doing a once over of my first attempt at cleanup, hang in there, will post in a bit...
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 11:35 AM   #5865
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

New build is up.

First pass at cleaning up the .zon files -- man they were getting ratty

Let me know of any errors/omissions, etc.
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 11:49 AM   #5866
RobinGShore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
Does CSI work with Midi devices in this config ?
Yes, Midi devices still working
RobinGShore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 11:49 AM   #5867
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

New EuCon build is up.

Please try with the Catalina Reaper build.
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 12:02 PM   #5868
RobinGShore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
New EuCon build is up.

Please try with the Catalina Reaper build.
Still no good...

I just dusted off my old windows computer and tried on there to make sure this all isn't just some dumb mistake I'm making during the install process. If I do the same thing on Windows that I've been doing on Mac I'm able to get Eucon/CSI working right away (well sort of working, none of the faders, knobs, or buttons do anything, but it doesn't crash and I can see my track names spilled out on the surface). I guess we can at least eliminate user error on my part.
RobinGShore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 12:12 PM   #5869
WaveTrans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Forest City
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
Don't forget there were substantial .zon file changes recently.

I'm just doing a once over of my first attempt at cleanup, hang in there, will post in a bit...
I checked the zon files.
all the adaptations you put in seem to be there.

waiting for your post
WaveTrans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 12:23 PM   #5870
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobinGShore View Post
Still no good...

I just dusted off my old windows computer and tried on there to make sure this all isn't just some dumb mistake I'm making during the install process. If I do the same thing on Windows that I've been doing on Mac I'm able to get Eucon/CSI working right away (well sort of working, none of the faders, knobs, or buttons do anything, but it doesn't crash and I can see my track names spilled out on the surface). I guess we can at least eliminate user error on my part.
Yeah, reasonably sure it's in this new Apple code signing stuff.

Glad the Windows install does more or less what it should do, that means communication has been established.

I'm going to ask you for one more try today -- I'll put up a special build that stops as soon as the dylib entry point is hit -- if you don't get that message, it's probably not even loading.
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 12:24 PM   #5871
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WaveTrans View Post
I checked the zon files.
all the adaptations you put in seem to be there.

waiting for your post
Haha, the very next post to the one you quoted

New build is already up, pay close attention to the Zone names, that's likely why your Tracks aren't working...
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 12:32 PM   #5872
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

New EuCon build is up.

This one presents a Reaper Dialog right at the start of load, if you don't see that, it never even tried to load.
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 01:22 PM   #5873
RobinGShore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
New EuCon build is up.

This one presents a Reaper Dialog right at the start of load, if you don't see that, it never even tried to load.
I'm getting the dialog now when I start Reaper:

RobinGShore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 01:27 PM   #5874
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobinGShore View Post
I'm getting the dialog now when I start Reaper:

Excellent !!

One last question, does it do the same thing with a non Catalina non notarized normal Reaper version 6 ?
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 01:36 PM   #5875
RobinGShore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
Excellent !!

One last question, does it do the same thing with a non Catalina non notarized normal Reaper version 6 ?
Yes, I'm still getting the same dialog with the non Catalina version of Reaper
RobinGShore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 01:43 PM   #5876
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobinGShore View Post
Yes, I'm still getting the same dialog with the non Catalina version of Reaper
Cool, OK let's go back to the standard setup we both had:
OS X 10.14.6
Reaper 6.x non Catalina non notarized
EuControl 19.12.1.23

Now, how's your time these days, because we can now do many iterations with this dialog approach, but it is tedious -- that can be lessened a bit if you can capture a series of milestones, that way we can put in a few per build as we edge along

Is there a better/worse time of day ?

You up for it ?
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 02:39 PM   #5877
RobinGShore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
Cool, OK let's go back to the standard setup we both had:
OS X 10.14.6
Reaper 6.x non Catalina non notarized
EuControl 19.12.1.23

Now, how's your time these days, because we can now do many iterations with this dialog approach, but it is tedious -- that can be lessened a bit if you can capture a series of milestones, that way we can put in a few per build as we edge along

Is there a better/worse time of day ?

You up for it ?
Sure, I'm up for some tedium if it helps you get things working. My schedule shifts around a lot depending on the day (such is the life of a freelancer), but in general I usually have some free time between 2pm and 7pm EST.
RobinGShore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 02:39 PM   #5878
pane.valentin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 26
Default

I have started building up the CSI config files for the monster Allen & Heath GSR24M console which I will of course share as soon as it's done. Work in progress is here:

https://forum.cockos.com/attachment....4&d=1578343590
https://forum.cockos.com/attachment....3&d=1578343590

I have reached a point where I am unable to make the faders and select buttons to work with CSI. I have uploaded the files and MIDI log from the console to the forum thread specified earlier.

The Select Buttons and the Faders refuse to communicate with CSI and reaper.

There are some things with this console that are setup differently that what I have seen for example: most buttons have AA XX 7F AA XX 00 codes whereas this one has AA XX 7F BA XX 00.

The faders have the following specification in the data sheet:

Status | Data 1 | Data 2 |
0xB(ch) 0x01 0x(0-7F)

The feedback from the MIDI Monitor for Status AND Data 1 are: B0 01.
The Data 2 goes from 00 to 7F depending on the fader position.

Also the fader sends a tick with Status | Data 1 | Data 2 values when touched.

Is there a wildcard that can be used on the Data 2 vaule in the .mst file? Any suggestions are welcome.

The other buttons with fixed 7f and 00 Data 2 values work perfectly.

Also: would it be possible to implement a Transport MMC module or protocol in CSI? This console for example can be set to use the transport buttons as NORMAL MIDI BUTONS or MMC (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MIDI_Machine_Control). In NORMAL MIDI there is no LED feedback happening.

If I could make the setup for this console to work and manage to make it bank faders it would be a 24 fader controller for REAPER and it would make this awesome piece of gear literally rise from the abandonware pit.

Last edited by pane.valentin; 01-07-2020 at 02:48 PM.
pane.valentin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 03:02 PM   #5879
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 5,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobinGShore View Post
Sure, I'm up for some tedium if it helps you get things working. My schedule shifts around a lot depending on the day (such is the life of a freelancer), but in general I usually have some free time between 2pm and 7pm EST.
Cool, there is a new build up, if you could screenshot each dialog you encounter, that would help us set up the breadcrumb trail to grandma's house
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2020, 03:04 PM   #5880
WaveTrans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Forest City
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
Haha, the very next post to the one you quoted

New build is already up, pay close attention to the Zone names, that's likely why your Tracks aren't working...
Got it, eventually, thanks

Tracks still not working with the Nano.zon, but work with the MCU.zon.

So I guess thereīs something with the .zon file.

However, midnight is nigh in my time.zon(e) so I will look into this tomorrow
WaveTrans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.