Old 06-09-2019, 02:21 PM   #1
Noodlemeister
Human being with feelings

Default Where are my VSTs?

Hi,
Newbie here. Apologies if this subject has already been covered.
Reaper doesn’t recognise some of my plug-ins. Some it does, but others it doesn’t...so, is there a way to search for the lost VSTs?
Many thanks in advance
Noodlemeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 03:43 PM   #2
joelsampson

It's not Reaper. Plugins with an installer put them where they want, but usually you can change the directory. The defaullt seems to be a Steinberg folder, but it varies.

I have several directories and subdirectories to better keep them organized. That's one of the cool things about the Reaper VST/VSTi picker, it can read the folder.

The best plugins (typically the free ones) just have a .dll. Simply copy it where you want it.

Welcome to Reaper!
Old 06-09-2019, 03:44 PM   #3
chrisprice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noodlemeister View Post
Hi,
Newbie here. Apologies if this subject has already been covered.
Reaper doesn’t recognise some of my plug-ins. Some it does, but others it doesn’t...so, is there a way to search for the lost VSTs?
Many thanks in advance
I'm pretty new to Reaper too but I have a lot of years behind me using Cubase. I'm starting to get into Reaper in a big way. I think it's great...so versatile and very easy to customise.

You haven't said which plug-ins are missing. You could go into Preferences\VST and try re-scanning. That might work. If they are proprietory plug-ins that come with another DAW (eg. Cubase), they may not work with Reaper. I also have Cubase Elements 10 installed on my machine (Mac El Capitan), and none of the Steinberg plug-ins will show...with one exception..HalionSonic SE3..I had to do a seperate install of this in order for it to work with Reaper.

More info needed I think.
chrisprice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 02:49 PM   #4
Noodlemeister

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisprice View Post