Old 06-12-2017, 08:49 AM   #1
ejanejarr
Human being with feelings
 
ejanejarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 51
Default Shortcuts for VST control

Hi everyone

Currently I'm using some actions (some of them SWS, I think) to do this:
· Num 4/6 for selecting previous/next track
· Cursor up/down for fader control
· Cursor left/right for PAN control
...and those I combine with some modifiers (jumping tracks X10, finer volume changes, broader PAN changes, etc...)
· Num 7/9 to switch among different FX's within the selected track

Now, if it'd be possible to assign shortcuts to select previous/next parameter within the plugin and shortcuts to increase/decrease that parameter... like:
· Num 1/3 for selecting previous/next parameter
· Num 5/2 for control of the selected parameter
...plus modifiers for bigger parameter jumps and finer/broader control,
maybe even numeric typing

Resulting workflow would be: no mouse for selecting a track, no mouse for vol/pan control, no mouse for plugin selection and no mouse for plugin control. Fast and healthy (carpal tunnel syndrome I'm talking to you).

Sadly, it seems there are no current way to do this.

But I've hope, cause the people in this forum are so awesome
ejanejarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 10:40 AM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,110
Default

AFAIK you can't cycle through the parameters like that and it wouldn't make much sense anyway, since plugins can easily have dozens or even hundreds of params. But if you Learn the parameter to a knob on your controller, you can set the same knobs to control any needed param based on which plugin or track has focus.

Just assign the action"FX: Set MIDI learn for last touched fx parameter" a keyboard shortcut for convenience and Learn all the params you will be needing.

It looks like you are using only a computer keyboard though (might still be possible to control params, but I doubt it), in which case I highly suggest investing in a MIDI controller with some endless encoder knobs. It will be even easier on your hands than a keyboard.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 04:49 AM   #3
DynamicK
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Gloucestershire, UK
Posts: 52
Default

Will Reaper remember the assigned mapping next time you use that plugin even on a different track?
DynamicK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 09:40 AM   #4
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DynamicK View Post
Will Reaper remember the assigned mapping next time you use that plugin even on a different track?
The only way to do that is use the Learn action (param button in fx window), pay attention to the options in the dialogue and then save the plugin as an Fx Chain (remove other plugins from the chain first). Whenever you load the plugin as an Fx Chain it will retain the mappings it was saved with.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 03:26 AM   #5
DynamicK
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Gloucestershire, UK
Posts: 52
Default

Thanks, I'll try that.
DynamicK is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.