Old 11-09-2008, 07:11 PM   #1
InGuN
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Default Roland TD3 > Addictive Drums Mapper

Hi there,

Here are some JS files made for use with the Roland TD3 and Addictive Drums. Just insert TD3-KickSnareHHToms-AddictiveDrums and TD3-Cymbals-AddictiveDrums before Addictive Drums and you are done : )

Foreach TD3 input, you can easily select which AD output you want to use. The ride bell is working, and tom rimshots can be dynamicly fired if needed (not available on the TD3).

I had to make 2 files, one for Kick, Snare, HH, Toms, and another one for the cymbals because only 16 JS Sliders are allowed in one file (23 total).


In the extended versions, each TD3 event can be mapped to any AD key, but I had to make shorter versions because the extended ones were causing some audio glitches on each load (at least on my comp), which is quite annoying. The JS engine doesn't like sliders with a bunch of labels... I'd have like to dynamicly generate the labels instead of copy/pasting everything, but I don't know if it's possible with JS.
Anyway, stick with the normal versions unless you need some weird routing.


The files can be easily modified to be used with a TD6 or anything else.

Have fun
InGuN

EDIT : because both files must be loaded, and both are catching midi events, the second one may override the job done by the first file. Stick with the standard ones TD3-Cymbals-AddictiveDrums and TD3-KickSnareHHToms-AddictiveDrums (in that order !) for a painless experience
Attached Files
File Type: txt TD3-Cymbals-AddictiveDrums.txt (2.8 KB, 1998 views)
File Type: txt TD3-Cymbals-AddictiveDrums-Extended.txt (9.1 KB, 1432 views)
File Type: txt TD3-KickSnareHHToms-AddictiveDrums.txt (3.6 KB, 1401 views)
File Type: txt TD3-KickSnareHHToms-AddictiveDrums-Extended.txt (10.2 KB, 1247 views)

Last edited by InGuN; 11-10-2008 at 08:13 PM.
InGuN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 06:30 PM   #2
RunBeerRun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 562
Default

I'll check it out, it'd be cool if I could reroute the midi from my ion electronic drumset into different midi notes.
__________________
Free Synthedit/Synthmaker plugins that I made: runbeerrun dot blogspot dot com
RunBeerRun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 11:50 AM   #3
RunBeerRun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 562
Default

I finally tried this out, pretty cool. I could easily open it up and recompile to reflect what midi destinations I want.

It'd be cool to have a version just for midi remapping.
__________________
Free Synthedit/Synthmaker plugins that I made: runbeerrun dot blogspot dot com
RunBeerRun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 05:25 PM   #4
Ripper
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 9
Default This is awesome

Tried the files out, and they work perfectly! Now I'm jamming my v-drums with Addictive with no midi fuss. Thanks for the great addition.
Ripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2009, 11:24 AM   #5
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 768
Default

Ripper, thanks for the post over on the XLN Audio forum that directed me here. I'm going to try this out with my TrapKAT with a Roland mapping loaded.

(Does it handle chokes, I wonder... that'd be so cool.)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:22 AM   #6
proto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: nyc usa
Posts: 121
Default

how do i get this into reaper - do the files go into the plugins folder?
proto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:42 AM   #7
proto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: nyc usa
Posts: 121
Default

ok very important to put cymbals txt BEFORE kick and snare txt - haha works great!

how i cant get my other cymbals working though - seems i only have one cymbal <cymbal 1> but this is really great <how to trig my other cymbals?

thanks!
proto
proto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 07:20 AM   #8
Jeffos
Mortal
 
Jeffos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Posts: 1,969
Default

TD-3 and other e-drum owners!
Another JS is available here for adavanced hit hat control: http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...3&postcount=24
Default input settings = TD-3, default output settings = addictive drums, default kit.
This is an extract of my 'big' e-drum mapper JS (a kind of Chaotic box' "E-Drum Midi Mapper"). Keep on eye on the JS forum: I'll release it at some point...

Last edited by Jeffos; 10-11-2009 at 01:35 AM.
Jeffos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 01:40 PM   #9
Mopsi3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Hi InGun,

thats a cool tool!!!
What i don`t understand is: how can I change the input Notes of the mapper, because i use a TD 9, which has slighly different settings from the TD 3 (sorry for my bad english)

Best wishes
Mopsi
Mopsi3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 02:03 PM   #10
Jeffos
Mortal
 
Jeffos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Posts: 1,969
Default

change the input notes "i" in line codes looking like "map[i]=..." or map_somethingelse[i]=..."

e.g. in the following code:
Code:
map[36]=slider1+36; // Kick 
map[38]=slider2+37; // Snare
map[40]=slider3+37; // Snare rim
replace 36 with your kick input note, 38 with snare head, etc...
Jeffos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2009, 10:30 PM   #11
Mopsi3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I must have been blind. Thank you very much!
Do you think its possible to insert a third mapping, where i can set values for my separete tom rim and ridebelltriggers?

Best wishes Mopsi
Mopsi3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 01:28 AM   #12
Jeffos
Mortal
 
Jeffos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Posts: 1,969
Default

of course. Just complete the map[] with your additionnal input notes (as indexes) + new silders (as output values). Then release it
Jeffos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 10:31 AM   #13
mrtnskoog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Örebro
Posts: 9
Default

I'm trying to get this to work on a Yamaha DTXPLORER kit.
It works but i can't get the hi-hat to play closed notes (when the pedal is pressed down). Instead of a closed hi-hat I get a sidestick-snare. WHY IS THAT?

Furthermore I don't get the logic behind the scripting either. How do i define which midi-data that is sent here:

{Tom 4 Open Hit,Tom 4 Rimshot,Tom 3 Open Hit,Tom 3 Rimshot,Tom 2 Open Hit,Tom 2 Rimshot,Tom 1 Open Hit (default),Tom 1 Rimshot}> <- Only names here?

It gets me all confused...

Is there any better way to do? Have I missed something?

/Martin
mrtnskoog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 06:16 AM   #14
AdamZuf
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by proto View Post
how do i get this into reaper - do the files go into the plugins folder?
I'd like to know that too.
AdamZuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:24 AM   #15
ironcladlou
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamZuf View Post
I'd like to know that too.
I use Windows 7, and I put my mapping files in:

C:\Users\dan\AppData\Roaming\REAPER\Effects\TD3

I created the TD3 directory to store other related JS files I have. You could put the mappings right in the Effects directory, or any other of your choosing beneath Effects.
ironcladlou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 09:59 AM   #16
fastlanestoner
Human being with feelings
 
fastlanestoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 248
Default

Sorry for the gigantic bump, but I"m finishing an EP for a band and we've opted to do the drums this way (it's effing crowdd in southern California!).

I've crated a subfolder in Reaper>Effects entitled Roland TD3 and inserted both drum txt files. They now sit in that folder alone.

I still can't gt AD to see my Vkit, is there something that has to be enabled in the VSTi I'm missing?

Perhaps it's the routing of the actual drum tracks? Are any sends needed, say from kick Reaper track to Kick channl in AD? Time is of the essence and all help is greatly appreciatD!
__________________
Now on Reverb.com!

New Thieves & Lovers record 'Seasons' out soon!
fastlanestoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.