Old 09-05-2020, 04:11 PM   #121
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BirdBird View Post
Something in progress...
While Sexan is working on a version with the hotkey approach I wanted to try one that uses handles and runs in the background:


It seems that unless we can get a faster defer cycle the hotkey approach is much better. (Clicking stuff is a bit iffy at 33fps)

Niceone birdbird, to be honest i prefer using the handles more than the hotkey, but this is also a good showcase of how it should be implemented natively.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 10:56 PM   #122
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,971
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
Niceone birdbird, to be honest i prefer using the handles more than the hotkey, but this is also a good showcase of how it should be implemented natively.
I prefer handles too. And a modifier. , Example: if shift is pressed apply to all areas , otherwise apply only on the focused one (or the opposite?)
__________________
i had to come back !

Last edited by deeb; 09-05-2020 at 11:23 PM.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2020, 10:58 PM   #123
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,971
Default

Another thing that would be useful is a modifier for snap values to existing neighbour values. And to go crazy: a line showing which value is being snapped onto.

This would make sense when creating envelope points too.
__________________
i had to come back !
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 02:15 AM   #124
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,877
Default

And here is progress on my take:


Last edited by Sexan; 09-06-2020 at 03:13 AM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 07:56 AM   #125
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,877
Default

Adjusting fades on right click drag, edge limiting and etc
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 08:53 AM   #126
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
ferropop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 881
Default

Every single one of these looks incredible.

Additionally, every single one of these would be even more useful in the MIDI Editor, so for gods sakes I pray Razor Edits are brought over to where they so desperately are needed.
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 03:46 PM   #127
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,877
Default

We made voodoo... Birdy figured out what I've forgotten!



Dance little envelopes! DANCE!
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 04:23 PM   #128
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,106
Default

Crazy stuff!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 04:59 PM   #129
tdc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Dance little envelopes! DANCE!
Love it! :-)
tdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 06:46 PM   #130
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Adjusting fades on right click drag, edge limiting and etc
Hi ..how is this possible ? Can you pls share ?
svijayrathinam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 08:03 PM   #131
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,286
Default

I have updated my Multi Tool to work across multiple automation lanes, using either razor selections, or AIs.

Perhaps the biggest difference between my script and the examples that Sexan posted here, is that my script regard razor selection as simply another way of selecting points, whereas Sexan's scripts do some extra nifty stuff with edge points and fades, which convert razor selections into isolated parts of the envelope, like a kind of "automation item":

EDIT: If edge points would be useful in my script too, I can add such a feature.


Last edited by juliansader; 09-06-2020 at 10:59 PM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 09:30 PM   #132
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,971
Default

Would be amazing a set of tools to define what handles are doing: compress, snap, randomize, ranges, snap points(anchors) , etc .. and the modifier I told earlier : just focused one changes or all areas ..
__________________
i had to come back !
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 04:40 AM   #133
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 970
Default

Sexan, Julian, BirdBird, amazing stuff, you guys rock!

I have another suggestion that would be really awesome if it was possible.

In ableton you can load envelope shapes inside AS through a small menu with shapes. (sine,square,saw,triangle).

Kawa has made something similar in the past that allowed to save and load different shapes in the buffer.

Could any of you do something similar? Like hitting a hotkey to show a menu for the selections with e.g 8 rectangles, inside each of them there will be shapes to load.
As an addition saving any envelope preset would be welcome too. So a menu with 8 rectangles and save/load buttons

Here's a video how it's made in Ableton:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TY5U...=youtu.be&t=31

And the old Kawa script:

https://kawa.works/reascript-gui-sec...et-gui-section
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 05:06 AM   #134
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,286
Default

Something like my LFO Tool script?

(It would be straightforward to adapt the LFO Tool to razor selections.)

EDIT: It is also easy to convert between razor selections and automation items, so you can quickly create AIs, apply REAPER's native LFO tools, and (if you prefer) convert back to razors.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 06:32 AM   #135
juan_r
Human being with feelings
 
juan_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 233
Default

That sounds like good news, @juliansader
juan_r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2020, 07:53 AM   #136
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 970
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Something like my LFO Tool script?

(It would be straightforward to adapt the LFO Tool to razor selections.)

EDIT: It is also easy to convert between razor selections and automation items, so you can quickly create AIs, apply REAPER's native LFO tools, and (if you prefer) convert back to razors.
Yes that would be great if you could add it to razor selections
I was thinking for something simpler with a visual indication of shapes just to save and load them.

Another very cool thing would be if we could paint them on grid.
Example left click on shape is loading the shape in AS, right click on shape it arms the shape. Then left drag paints the shape inside AS to the size of the grid.
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 01:41 AM   #137
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,788
Default

Quick question here as I try to catch up with this wonderful madness :

Copy/pasting the automation of the currently focused FX from a razer selection and pasting it to the edit cursor or razer selection .... has anyone done that yet ?

I'm asking because it's an interesting way to copy not just a state but a rolling sea of changes for multiple parameters from one area to another.


It's also great for picking up settings without having to use WRITE mode which would flatten all plugins, and not just the focused one.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16CSI
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2020, 04:37 AM   #138
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Smoothcheek, South Carolina
Posts: 2,606
Default

^ that's a great point, airon - +1 FR for scripts to "copy just ai/envelope from RS" and its opposite, "copy just items from RS"

let's continue to make the constant toggling of "Options: Move envelope points with media items and razor edits" unnecessary... that most damned of actions
__________________
FR: option: move AI only when selected, like normal items
** the bugs that bite the hardest - one crustacean's compilation**
a curse: you now always count how many mousewheel scrolls you make while zooming in MX
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2020, 12:41 AM   #139
sonictim
Human being with feelings
 
sonictim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BirdBird View Post
Something in progress...
While Sexan is working on a version with the hotkey approach I wanted to try one that uses handles and runs in the background:


It seems that unless we can get a faster defer cycle the hotkey approach is much better. (Clicking stuff is a bit iffy at 33fps)
You can create a loop inside your defer and have it repeat 10 times each cycle, then essentially it will happen 300 times a second. though, in your case, it probably only needs to repeat once (so 66fps)

Last edited by sonictim; 09-10-2020 at 12:41 AM. Reason: clarity
sonictim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2020, 12:03 PM   #140
sonictim
Human being with feelings
 
sonictim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BirdBird View Post
Something in progress.
Yes Please! I need this in my life!

How's this coming along?
sonictim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 08:28 AM   #141
BirdBird
Human being with feelings
 
BirdBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonictim View Post
Yes Please! I need this in my life!

How's this coming along?
I have posted it a few posts ahead in the thread somewhere after that post. It is unfinished but it should be fine. Will eventually do it properly. (or someone else will do it before me )
BirdBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 08:31 AM   #142
rasmusmarshagen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 35
Default

Do I need a script to be able to simply adjust/create envelope points with razor edit? Like how it is by default with the time selection.

The only options I see on "Razor edit area left drag" are these:

rasmusmarshagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 11:50 AM   #143
sonictim
Human being with feelings
 
sonictim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BirdBird View Post
I have posted it a few posts ahead in the thread somewhere after that post. It is unfinished but it should be fine. Will eventually do it properly. (or someone else will do it before me )
I must have missed it the first time I looked but found it now! Looking forward to trying it out... I'm actually looking to develop a script that will group all tracks in a folder together with the area selection (similar to how protools does track grouping), so this will help me get started! Thanks very much!

Minor Bug Fix --

I made a little change. When running the action you have it look at the last undo for either "Razor edit" or "Edit razor edit area"... there's also another undo case "Create razor edit area"...

Since this is in development and these undo names could change, or more could be added, I changed it to just run every time the word razor is mentioned somewhere in the last undo point. Hope this is helpful! Here's the code snippet so you can see where I did it.

Code:
--=====SELECTION OPERATIONS=====--
function stateChange(action)
    if string.find(string.lower(action), "razor") then

Other than that, so far it's working AWESOME! And looking at your code, I learned a few cool new tricks! So thanks for sharing!

Last edited by sonictim; 09-19-2020 at 01:04 PM. Reason: bug fix update
sonictim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 06:40 AM   #144
hans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 17
Default

Thank you very very much everybody for creating so amazing scripts!
Like someone mentioned. It would be very nice if razor edit could also copy whole FX parameters/ envelope sections of a certain plugin from one place to another.
hans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 09:48 AM   #145
gapalil001
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Default

Hi Guys!! sorry for a non-developer question. are there any instructions for stupid how do add razor edit to the actual release version?
thank you, have a good day/morning/evening
gapalil001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 11:08 AM   #146
sonictim
Human being with feelings
 
sonictim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 169
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gapalil001 View Post
Hi Guys!! sorry for a non-developer question. are there any instructions for stupid how do add razor edit to the actual release version?
thank you, have a good day/morning/evening
You can’t. Razor Edit is a feature that is in development and therefore not a part of the release. Perhaps if it ever gets the a point the dev’s are happy with, they might start including it in the releases
sonictim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2020, 06:15 PM   #147
AJYoung
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 80
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gapalil001 View Post
Hi Guys!! sorry for a non-developer question. are there any instructions for stupid how do add razor edit to the actual release version?
thank you, have a good day/morning/evening
In the meantime, you might want to check out Sexan's area selection script here:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=219705
AJYoung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 12:06 AM   #148
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BirdBird View Post
Something in progress...
While Sexan is working on a version with the hotkey approach I wanted to try one that uses handles and runs in the background:


It seems that unless we can get a faster defer cycle the hotkey approach is much better. (Clicking stuff is a bit iffy at 33fps)
super!
__________________
Thanks devs for adding the abillity to use single click to change a single velocity And single right click to remove a single note without dragging.
much appreciated.
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 12:08 AM   #149
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
Niceone birdbird, to be honest i prefer using the handles more than the hotkey, but this is also a good showcase of how it should be implemented natively.
i agree! +1
__________________
Thanks devs for adding the abillity to use single click to change a single velocity And single right click to remove a single note without dragging.
much appreciated.
Reflected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 06:11 AM   #150
hans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 17
Default

Amazing script Sexan. That adjusting the fade time on the envelope points is a little dream come true actually. Is there a version of the script we can try?
hans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 08:16 AM   #151
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 253
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BirdBird View Post
Something in progress...
While Sexan is working on a version with the hotkey approach I wanted to try one that uses handles and runs in the background:


It seems that unless we can get a faster defer cycle the hotkey approach is much better. (Clicking stuff is a bit iffy at 33fps)
Amazing!!
__________________
REAPER, em constante evolução!
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2020, 04:12 AM   #152
gapalil001
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Default

Hi everyone! Thank you for cool stuff! I have a question about item fades/crossfades by razor selection length. I know that razor edit is specific function and have some limitations. But what about workaround by set time selection to razor edit selection? For example, I need to create crossfade(s) by razor selection , I guess it will work like this
1-link razor edit selection and item selection must be enabled.
2-set time selection to razor selection
3-crossfade selected items at length of time selection
4-deselect time (not important)
I am ex-pro tools user and IMHO that PT fade tools is extremely amazing. I want it in reaper
gapalil001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2020, 05:28 AM   #153
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BirdBird View Post
Something in progress...
While Sexan is working on a version with the hotkey approach I wanted to try one that uses handles and runs in the background:


It seems that unless we can get a faster defer cycle the hotkey approach is much better. (Clicking stuff is a bit iffy at 33fps)

How Can I download this script ? Pls ..Where is the link to download ?
svijayrathinam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2020, 06:58 AM   #154
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
amagalma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,367
Default crossfade items in razor edit area

Quote:
Originally Posted by gapalil001 View Post
Hi everyone! Thank you for cool stuff! I have a question about item fades/crossfades by razor selection length. I know that razor edit is specific function and have some limitations. But what about workaround by set time selection to razor edit selection? For example, I need to create crossfade(s) by razor selection , I guess it will work like this
1-link razor edit selection and item selection must be enabled.
2-set time selection to razor selection
3-crossfade selected items at length of time selection
4-deselect time (not important)
I am ex-pro tools user and IMHO that PT fade tools is extremely amazing. I want it in reaper

Try this:
Code:
reaper.PreventUIRefresh( 1 )
local track_cnt = reaper.CountTracks(0)
for t = 0, track_cnt - 1 do
  local track = reaper.GetTrack(0, t)
  local _, area = reaper.GetSetMediaTrackInfo_String(track, 'P_RAZOREDITS', '', false)
  if area ~= "" then
    local areaS, areaE = area:match("(%S+) (%S+)")
    areaS, areaE = tonumber(areaS), tonumber(areaE)
    local item_cnt = reaper.CountTrackMediaItems(track)
    local items = {}
    local i = 0
    local continue = true
    while continue and i < item_cnt do
      local item = reaper.GetTrackMediaItem(track, i)
      local Start = reaper.GetMediaItemInfo_Value(item, "D_POSITION")
      local End = Start + reaper.GetMediaItemInfo_Value(item, "D_LENGTH")
      if (Start >= areaS and Start < areaE) or 
           (End >= areaS and Start < areaE) or
          (Start <= areaS and End >= areaE) then
        items[#items+1] = {item, Start, End}
      end
      if #items == 2 then
        reaper.BR_SetItemEdges( items[1][1], items[1][2], areaE )
        reaper.SetMediaItemInfo_Value( items[1][1], "D_FADEOUTLEN_AUTO", areaE - areaS )
        reaper.BR_SetItemEdges( items[2][1], areaS, items[2][3] )
        reaper.SetMediaItemInfo_Value( items[2][1], "D_FADEINLEN_AUTO", areaE - areaS )
        continue = false
      end
      i = i + 1
    end
  end
end

reaper.PreventUIRefresh( -1 )
reaper.UpdateArrange()
reaper.Undo_OnStateChange2( 0, "Crossfade items" )

amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2020, 07:04 AM   #155
tdc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Sydney
Posts: 449
Default Love It

Love It Amagalma!
tdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2020, 10:21 AM   #156
juan_r
Human being with feelings
 
juan_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 233
Default

You should reapack this, @amagalma!
juan_r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2020, 05:33 AM   #157
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
amagalma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,367
Default

Thanks guys.. When RE makes it official then we are all going to release in ReaPack various scripts
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2020, 10:32 AM   #158
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 13,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagalma View Post
Thanks guys.. When RE makes it official then we are all going to release in ReaPack various scripts
Nice! Great work!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2020, 04:40 PM   #159
gapalil001
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagalma View Post
Try this:
Code:
reaper.PreventUIRefresh( 1 )
local track_cnt = reaper.CountTracks(0)
for t = 0, track_cnt - 1 do
  local track = reaper.GetTrack(0, t)
  local _, area = reaper.GetSetMediaTrackInfo_String(track, 'P_RAZOREDITS', '', false)
  if area ~= "" then
    local areaS, areaE = area:match("(%S+) (%S+)")
    areaS, areaE = tonumber(areaS), tonumber(areaE)
    local item_cnt = reaper.CountTrackMediaItems(track)
    local items = {}
    local i = 0
    local continue = true
    while continue and i < item_cnt do
      local item = reaper.GetTrackMediaItem(track, i)
      local Start = reaper.GetMediaItemInfo_Value(item, "D_POSITION")
      local End = Start + reaper.GetMediaItemInfo_Value(item, "D_LENGTH")
      if (Start >= areaS and Start < areaE) or 
           (End >= areaS and Start < areaE) or
          (Start <= areaS and End >= areaE) then
        items[#items+1] = {item, Start, End}
      end
      if #items == 2 then
        reaper.BR_SetItemEdges( items[1][1], items[1][2], areaE )
        reaper.SetMediaItemInfo_Value( items[1][1], "D_FADEOUTLEN_AUTO", areaE - areaS )
        reaper.BR_SetItemEdges( items[2][1], areaS, items[2][3] )
        reaper.SetMediaItemInfo_Value( items[2][1], "D_FADEINLEN_AUTO", areaE - areaS )
        continue = false
      end
      i = i + 1
    end
  end
end

reaper.PreventUIRefresh( -1 )
reaper.UpdateArrange()
reaper.Undo_OnStateChange2( 0, "Crossfade items" )

OMG DUDE YOU MAKE MY DAY!
gapalil001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2020, 04:46 PM   #160
gapalil001
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amagalma View Post
Thanks guys.. When RE makes it official then we are all going to release in ReaPack various scripts
thank you again! is this available for fade in/out by razor edit selection?
gapalil001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.