Old 06-28-2018, 09:37 AM   #1
fcleff69
Human being with feelings

Default Mastering Heavy Metal

I'm still fairly new at home recording but I can find my way around Reaper pretty well now. Some of the projects I have done in the past are fairly mild tunes with standard rock & roll leanings (distorted guitar, clean bass, drum, vocals).

I'm working on a project now that is much much heavier. It is along the lines of thrash/black metal. I have the general sounds dialed in and the initial mixes are sounding pretty good. So I'm thinking about mastering (kind of).

In the past I have used some advice gathered here on the forums regarding mastering. I'm using some compression, EQ, and limiter on the Master Bus track to help boost the overall volume of the mix. Does anyone have suggestions for doing this with a heavier style of music? Or should I just keep working with what I am doing?

f
fcleff69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2018, 10:10 AM   #2
inertia

I work pretty much exclusively deal with death, black and heavy metal material.

I think a lot of people who do mixing are not that clued up about what mastering really entails. It's about finialising the album as a whole.

I mixed a friends EP over several years and many of the songs started to sound different because of different guitar tones etc Even though the same mix template was used for the duration.

He had a professional mastering engineer do the final master and he did a much better job of it than I would have. He really got all the songs sounding much more similar and everything sounded just right.

I mix and master my own music because I don't usually get into trouble with inconsistencies between tracks. I'll do whatever sounds necessary to improve the overall sound. There's no bunch of presets or set ways to make a better master.