Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2021, 07:03 PM   #1
dangguidan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: China
Posts: 662
Default Can note glue be changed to all editable take?

Note glue is very easy to use and often used.can only be used on active take at present. Can this function be used on all editable take?
dangguidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2021, 02:46 AM   #2
dangguidan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: China
Posts: 662
Default

It has been implemented in script.

Code:
local editor=reaper.MIDIEditor_GetActive()


takeindex = 0
take=reaper.MIDIEditor_EnumTakes(editor, takeindex, true)
while take~=nil do

reaper.MIDI_DisableSort(take)
 tb={}
 idx=-1
 integer = reaper.MIDI_EnumSelNotes(take,idx)
 
 while integer~=-1 do
 
 retval,selected, muted,startppqpos,endppqpos, chan, pitch, vel = reaper.MIDI_GetNote(take, integer)
 
  if tb[pitch]==nil then 
  tb[pitch]=integer
  idx=integer
  else 
  reaper.MIDI_DeleteNote(take , integer)
  reaper.MIDI_SetNote(take, tb[pitch], NULL, NULL, NULL, endppqpos, NULL, NULL,NULL, false) 
  end
 
 integer = reaper.MIDI_EnumSelNotes(take,idx)
 
 end -- while end

reaper.MIDI_Sort(take)

takeindex=takeindex+1
take=reaper.MIDIEditor_EnumTakes(editor, takeindex, true)
end -- while take end
dangguidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2021, 03:57 AM   #3
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,672
Default

moreover, can all midi actions please work on all selected and editable content without users having to script each one?
__________________
mccrabney scripts: MIDI edits from the Arrange screen ala jjos/MPC sequencer
|sis - - - anacru| isn't what we performed: pls no extra noteons in loop recording
| - - - - - anacru|sis <==this is what we actually performed.

Last edited by mccrabney; 10-13-2021 at 04:05 AM.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2021, 06:16 AM   #4
dangguidan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: China
Posts: 662
Default

Not necessarily. In fact, many actions do not support multiple take, which is very troublesome in MIDI editing.
I have written many alternatives to support multiple take.
dangguidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2021, 08:18 AM   #5
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,672
Default

yes, sorry - my post was a request, not an inquiry. i'm very aware of several of the actions that don't work on editable but non-active takes.
__________________
mccrabney scripts: MIDI edits from the Arrange screen ala jjos/MPC sequencer
|sis - - - anacru| isn't what we performed: pls no extra noteons in loop recording
| - - - - - anacru|sis <==this is what we actually performed.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2021, 12:23 AM   #6
dangguidan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: China
Posts: 662
Default

It may not change. Fortunately, there is this function MIDIEditor_EnumTakes now. Scripts can make up for the problem of multi track editing.
dangguidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2021, 04:08 AM   #7
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,672
Default

Quote:
Scripts can make up for the problem of multi item editing.
i usually have no problem with scripts fulfilling FRs and shortcomings, but this situation strikes me as unsatisfactory.

out of the box, REAPER cannot properly edit multiple items at the same time, despite language that would leave the user expecting such behavior. AFAIK none of these actions specify "active take only," indeed lots refer to "selected content" while dutifully ignoring content selected in other items.

relying on users to write wrapper scripts for these actions is going to continue to disincentivize folks from pursuing multi-item editing - which is NOT an advanced workflow, corner case, or otherwise outlandish expectation -- particularly in the case of multiple in-track items. plenty of phrases, pickups, and musical structures may occur over item splits, and it's perfectly normal to expect to edit these notes together.

been banging on about this for several years now. i do appreciate the work script writers perform, but it's discouraging to see that multi item editing isn't being supported without scripter intervention
__________________
mccrabney scripts: MIDI edits from the Arrange screen ala jjos/MPC sequencer
|sis - - - anacru| isn't what we performed: pls no extra noteons in loop recording
| - - - - - anacru|sis <==this is what we actually performed.

Last edited by mccrabney; 10-14-2021 at 04:26 AM.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.