Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2014, 10:09 AM   #1
MYounker
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Default Display how much time we spend on each project

Hi,

I heard that some workstations can show how much time we spend on each project. Is it difficult to implement on REAPER?

I believe many of us have an interest in how much time actually we need to complete one track, which allow us to reconsider and improve our method of composing.
MYounker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 10:17 AM   #2
Jae.Thomas
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 22,572
Default

it would be great if said timer could pause when it senses a certain amount of inactivity....
Jae.Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 10:33 AM   #3
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,109
Default

Free plugin alternative for now

http://hofa-plugins.de/pages/start_en/4u_en.php
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 11:27 AM   #4
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,482
Default

Tracker: http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=27
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2014, 03:25 PM   #5
witti
Human being with feelings
 
witti's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,216
Default



Workaround:

If you put a copy of the reaper-reginfo2.ini into your project folder and later
before you start your project again and you put it back into the reaper folder, the 'About' window can show you the project time.
(To start from zero, just delete this file. Reaper creates a new file on startup.)

-or-

JS project time: (Forgot who originally posted it. To 'Pause' just bypass this plugin. Also remove the 'inserting' of this plugin from the undo history.)

Code:
slider1:0<0,24,1>Hours
slider2:0<0,60,1>Minutes
slider3:0<0,60,1>Seconds

@init
ext_noinit = 1;

@serialize
file_var(0, proj_open_seconds);

@block
sr_ticker += samplesblock;
sr_ticker > srate ? 
(
proj_open_seconds += 1; sr_ticker -= srate;
temp_secs = proj_open_seconds;
hours = (temp_secs / 3600)|0; temp_secs -= hours * 3600;
minutes = (temp_secs / 60)|0; temp_secs -= minutes * 60;
seconds = temp_secs;
slider1 = hours; slider2 = minutes; slider3 = seconds;
sliderchange(slider1); 
sliderchange(slider2);
sliderchange(slider3);
);

Last edited by witti; 08-07-2014 at 02:59 PM.
witti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 01:03 PM   #6
grabie
Human being with feelings
 
grabie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 59
Default

Thank you witti, nice to have.

I just loaded 'JS project time', as I messed up the last mixing-contest from the previously indicated company.
I just do not want to see that name, in my surroundings ...

So, I am happy to use chances, developed, here.
A big THANK YOU all. You know who you are.
__________________
windows 11 pro - RME HDSPe AIO - AMD 5950X - GeForce GT 1030 - ASUS TUF Gaming B550-Plus - 32 gb ram
grabie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 08:00 PM   #7
TimU
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 104
Default

Is this still not in Reaper? if not it would make a great addition
TimU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 06:41 AM   #8
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,551
Default

Seems like it would be easy enough in Reaper, with the scripting. Calling JamesHE? (le' master scripter)

Path to it ...

1. Extension or script that loads whenever you load any song.
2. Said thing monitors the title bar for an active song name. (or you manually add songs you want to track)
3. If song name exists, start the counter.
4. When song name no longer exists or changes, stop the timer and update the text file that holds all of that info for every song.

All it really has to do is continually monitor the title bar which uses little to no cpu (not enough to even register on the system as a percentage). I could whip that up in Win API in 15 minutes.

The pause Jason asks about is also simple enough. Use a second timer for inactivity. If the main window focus doesn't change in say, 3 minutes (and the status isn't "playing"), pause the first timer. When the main window regains or changes focus again, resume the main timer again.

I could easily do this for Reaper Windows via a third party app because all of it's window parts / classes are directly exposed to the OS. It wouldn't work on OSX though. Harder in something like S1 because it has a transparent window class blocking all of it's internal window classes... and you can't so easily spy on them.

Last edited by Lawrence; 09-20-2015 at 07:14 AM.
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 07:43 AM   #9
morgon
Human being with feelings
 
morgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 'straya
Posts: 9,409
Default

Id want the info about the point reached in the song where I'm actually making it worse the more I work on it. Or how many Doom 3 levels does it take to complete a chorus, that kind of thing...
morgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 08:01 AM   #10
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12,632
Default

Basically the issue is you work on 3 or 4 different projects in an evening and you forget to look at the time spent on each. Then when you go to add the hours to the bill for each project you're not sure what to charge.

I just take a glance at the Reaper backup folder (since I keep auto-backup set to 2 minutes) for a reminder.

I've thought of making a folder action script (not sure what this is called in Windows) to generate a report or something but never bothered.
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2016, 03:30 AM   #11
amin
Human being with feelings
 
amin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tel Aviv
Posts: 15
Default

That's what I do (see image)
Attached Images
File Type: png reaper project.png (46.5 KB, 1180 views)
amin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 09:20 AM   #12
Ejrionm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 21
Default

I really want this
Ejrionm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 09:28 AM   #13
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12,632
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejrionm View Post
I really want this
Enable backups in Reaper preferences/Project.
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 10:19 AM   #14
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,109
Default

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=167883
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 08:43 PM   #15
Ejrionm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 21
Default

But those solutions are quite annoying, considering that this tool looks easy to implement
Ejrionm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 09:13 PM   #16
RJHollins
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,167
Default

Wonder if actual SEQ PLAYING time would be useful.

IOW ... As DAW is playing, the running time accumulates. There would
also be a TOTAL PLAYING TIME that would be saved with the project.

Everytime a Project is loaded, the session would start anew time ... this would
also be added to the TOTAL PROJECT TIME.

additionally ... it would be nice to have a Total RESET function. [Zero it out].

Just some ideas, and things I'd find useful.
RJHollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2017, 09:48 PM   #17
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,943
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejrionm View Post
But those solutions are quite annoying, considering that this tool looks easy to implement
The free script that someone made for this exact job is "quite annoying"? You haven't tried it, have you.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 10:54 AM   #18
Ejrionm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesPeters View Post
The free script that someone made for this exact job is "quite annoying"? You haven't tried it, have you.
you mean the Project Work Timer in the nofish' comment? the thing is, you have to run the script every time you open your project, and the time will restart if you don't save the project before close, even that is still a current time you spend on it. I think this needs to be a part of the Project Info, that shows you the day that the project was created, and the working time. Just saying..
Ejrionm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 12:58 PM   #19
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 22,754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MYounker View Post
Hi,

I heard that some workstations can show how much time we spend on each project. Is it difficult to implement on REAPER?

I believe many of us have an interest in how much time actually we need to complete one track, which allow us to reconsider and improve our method of composing.

Own up - you are a lawyer & want an easy way to figure billable hours!
__________________
Ici on parles Franglais
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 01:16 PM   #20
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 12,632
Default

Hmmm...

If some feature were written, you would have to manage some settings. How far back to look? What folders in your file system to include? You'd have to be consistent with project name indexing of course.

Opening a Finder window (Explorer in Windows) and glancing at your backup folder entries is pretty quick and easy and straight to the point. Kind of a nice touch that Reaper pauses backups if nothing has changed (eg. during that coffee break you took).
serr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 01:20 PM   #21
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 642
Default

There is this script in the ReaPack:
Script: sexan_Project time counter.lua

You could load it as a startup script I believe.
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2017, 01:37 PM   #22
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 3,943
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luster View Post
There is this script in the ReaPack:
Script: sexan_Project time counter.lua

You could load it as a startup script I believe.
Both those statements are correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejrionm View Post
you mean the Project Work Timer in the nofish' comment? the thing is, you have to run the script every time you open your project, and the time will restart if you don't save the project before close, even that is still a current time you spend on it. I think this needs to be a part of the Project Info, that shows you the day that the project was created, and the working time. Just saying..
Yes, that project timer won't show time spent on a project you haven't saved (and/or hasn't been "auto saved"), and it doesn't provide detailed information as you describe.

Last edited by JamesPeters; 12-14-2017 at 01:42 PM.
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2018, 09:25 PM   #23
RJHollins
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,167
Default

I ended up having to write up a VST plugin that maintains a project start
timestamp, and monitors elapsed DAW playing time. Data is stored within the project as a standard VST. Currently beta-testing.
RJHollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2020, 06:20 AM   #24
PVinKC
Human being with feelings
 
PVinKC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Kansas City, MO USA
Posts: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJHollins View Post
I ended up having to write up a VST plugin that maintains a project start
timestamp, and monitors elapsed DAW playing time. Data is stored within the project as a standard VST. Currently beta-testing.
Did you wind up finishing this? I would definitely be interested. HOFA does have a plugin. But I would like to explore all solutions before choosing which one works best for me. Ideally a plugin that I can keep open during tracking and mixing sessions and hit a PAUSE button when taking a break or doing something that I don't want to charge the client time for...

The exploration continues...
__________________
Guitarist, Vocalist, Producer, Mixing/Recording/Mastering Engineer. Creator of Tutorials.
www.facebook.com/soundadvicekc
PVinKC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.