Old 08-01-2017, 08:29 AM   #441
Orbitalgun
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 4
Default add reamidicontrol as vsti

So it can be used with Nektar impakt controllers to pull up for changing presets in external hardware.
Orbitalgun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 08:42 AM   #442
mrlimbic
Human being with feelings
 
mrlimbic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nicklear View Post
+1 for Decklink mini support for the video window, would be fantastic.
You could also sync up a free external video engine such as xjadeo to reaper.

That is what Harrison do for the video engine in their DAW. It's just a slaved external piece of software.

I haven't checked but that may allow use of external video devices.

There are also other more sophisticated commercial video engines such as VideoSlave which may have better support for specialised hardware (as well as things like good ADR features built in). They claim to support Blackmagic & AJA stuff.
__________________
Mac OS X 10.11.x, Motu Ultralite, Reaper, FCP X.
http://vordio.net
http://twitter.com/vordio
mrlimbic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 07:10 PM   #443
jfbsauve
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 66
Default Grow and shrink edge of items

This feature already exist, but I doubt that a lot of people use it.

Personnaly, I would really like this feature if we could grow and shrink edges of items of a determined "nudge setting".
jfbsauve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2017, 09:19 PM   #444
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,962
Default

That's the nudge view, though saving and loading settings is done via the action list, so it is cumbersome.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 09:25 AM   #445
jfbsauve
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 66
Default Write current values (FOR SELECTED TRACKS)

It's probably the way I'm used to work, but I would reaaly appreciated if I could:
"Write current values for all writing envelopes "ON SELECTED TRACKS"(only)"

I like all my tracks to be in latch mode (or preview) when I'm working... I don't get used to constantly juggling each track from read, to latch, to preview depending on if i want automations to be written or not.
jfbsauve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 09:30 AM   #446
Ice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbsauve View Post
It's probably the way I'm used to work, but I would reaaly appreciated if I could:
"Write current values for all writing envelopes "ON SELECTED TRACKS"(only)"

I like all my tracks to be in latch mode (or preview) when I'm working... I don't get used to constantly juggling each track from read, to latch, to preview depending on if i want automations to be written or not.
+1

IMO this goes beyond a post production request!
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 12:30 PM   #447
jfbsauve
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 66
Default Edit Cursor Follows Freehand

Would be great if there was an option to make video follow freehand drawing. Especially for stereo panning. It would allow to see exact position of pan object on video as we drawing it.
jfbsauve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 02:35 PM   #448
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbsauve View Post
It's probably the way I'm used to work, but I would reaaly appreciated if I could:
"Write current values for all writing envelopes "ON SELECTED TRACKS"(only)"

I like all my tracks to be in latch mode (or preview) when I'm working... I don't get used to constantly juggling each track from read, to latch, to preview depending on if i want automations to be written or not.
I use these writing actions all the time, and always figured having "selected tracks" versions of the actions would cost me more time than it was worth. So, I didn't ask for them.

+1 from me. It's something I would use rarely, but others might use them all the time.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbsauve View Post
Would be great if there was an option to make video follow freehand drawing. Especially for stereo panning. It would allow to see exact position of pan object on video as we drawing it.
Video follow envelope point.

+1

Quite a few people have mentioned this, and I've wished for this silently a number of times in my work. I often thought this would be too trivial or too hard for Cockos. I hope they can do it.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 02:41 PM   #449
Ice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbsauve View Post
Would be great if there was an option to make video follow freehand drawing. Especially for stereo panning. It would allow to see exact position of pan object on video as we drawing it.
+1 from here
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 02:50 PM   #450
jfbsauve
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbsauve View Post
It's probably the way I'm used to work, but I would reaaly appreciated if I could:
"Write current values for all writing envelopes "ON SELECTED TRACKS"(only)"

I like all my tracks to be in latch mode (or preview) when I'm working... I don't get used to constantly juggling each track from read, to latch, to preview depending on if i want automations to be written or not.
I might found a way to do it with a 4 actions Custom Action (check the capture screen)
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture d’écran 2018-01-23 à 16.38.37.png (50.8 KB, 86 views)
jfbsauve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 04:05 PM   #451
Ice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbsauve View Post
I might found a way to do it with a 4 actions Custom Action (check the capture screen)
The problem for me with using actions for this type of thing, is always restoring the previous state of other tracks, etc..

In this case there might be other tracks in the session that are in write/touch/latch mode, outside of the selected tracks. So writing the current values to the time selection would also write to those tracks not selected. Its either that or set every track to READ, in which case I lose the automation state of those other tracks.
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 05:20 PM   #452
plush2
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 1,808
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfbsauve View Post
Would be great if there was an option to make video follow freehand drawing. Especially for stereo panning. It would allow to see exact position of pan object on video as we drawing it.
This would also be very handy for VR applications. Drawing on an equirectangular projection would make some 3 dimensional panning much faster.
__________________
mymusic - http://music.darylpierce.com
mywork - http://production.darylpierce.com
plush2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 06:47 PM   #453
RobinGShore
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by plush2 View Post
This would also be very handy for VR applications. Drawing on an equirectangular projection would make some 3 dimensional panning much faster.
There are several VR/360 video oriented plugins that let you "draw" ambisonics panning directly over the Reaper video window. Check out Ambi-pan from Noisemakers and 360pan from Audio Ease
__________________
www.silversound.us
RobinGShore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 09:53 PM   #454
plush2
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 1,808
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobinGShore View Post
There are several VR/360 video oriented plugins that let you "draw" ambisonics panning directly over the Reaper video window. Check out Ambi-pan from Noisemakers and 360pan from Audio Ease
Thanks Robin, I'm aware of all of those and I would add the new follow option in the FB360 Spatial Workstation plugins. To me this would just add some freedom to use whichever panning system I want as well as using the video engine built into Reaper. I know it's a big ask but since I'm not the only one...
__________________
mymusic - http://music.darylpierce.com
mywork - http://production.darylpierce.com
plush2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2018, 09:56 AM   #455
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 4,787
Default

For all the person who want BWF features... Here is a thread: What BWF Metadata related actions do you need ?

:P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 07:46 AM   #456
Allspice
Human being with feelings
 
Allspice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 146
Default

I saw a pretty essential post-production FR made in a different post so figured I’d link to it here.

“Set time-code at cursor”, the idea being to adjust the project start timecode by referencing a known timecode value partway through the project.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....40#post1946940

EDIT: in the linked thread, cfillion made a set of scripts for this

Last edited by Allspice; 01-30-2018 at 08:41 AM.
Allspice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 09:15 AM   #457
jesse olley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Posts: 3
Default dialog editing features?

I work full-time in audio post. It's a joy to have a commercial Reaper license. We're rarely online with TC anymore but we do a lot of dialog recording and editing. There are some functions in another DAW, SADiE, that I value:

1) Clip-based rendering (make each clip a new file, following grouping, perhaps with an easier way of accessing clip names like a txt edl display)

2) Editing while in record

3) Editing with hardware controllers (grab and move in/out points, etc)

It would be lovely if the previous items were already implemented and I've simply overlooked them. Someone, please let me know if this is the case

I'd like to give an unsolicited plug to the folks down under who run AAT. If you need to get OMF/AAF/anything into Reaper give it a look.

Jesse Olley
jesse olley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:41 PM   #458
Runaway
Human being with feelings
 
Runaway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesse olley View Post
I'd like to give an unsolicited plug to the folks down under who run AAT. If you need to get OMF/AAF/anything into Reaper give it a look.

Your feedback is much appreciated
__________________
AATranslator
Runaway is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 02:08 AM   #459
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesse olley View Post
I work full-time in audio post. It's a joy to have a commercial Reaper license. We're rarely online with TC anymore but we do a lot of dialog recording and editing. There are some functions in another DAW, SADiE, that I value:

1) Clip-based rendering (make each clip a new file, following grouping, perhaps with an easier way of accessing clip names like a txt edl display)
Your terminology might presuppose knowledge of Sadie. Imagine I was a total beginner instead. I'm not sure what your'e trying to do here. The project bay gives you access to item and filenames.

Quote:
2) Editing while in record
Sounds like a feature request.

Quote:
3) Editing with hardware controllers (grab and move in/out points, etc)
OSC and MIDI control sources can be attached to scripts that edit certain aspects of selected items.

For example. Here's a script you can 'midi-learn' or 'OSC-learn' to control the LEFT EDGE of selected items on your current grid.

Save this stuff to a text file called "whatever-you-like.lua" and place it in the script path of the Reaper resource directory. Then midi-learn it to a control resource like a knob or slider.

If this code was converted to EEL it might be faster too.

Code:
function msg(m)
  return reaper.ShowConsoleMsg(tostring(m) .. "\n")
end



function nudge_edit_cursor()
  local is_new_value, filename, sectionID, cmdID, mode, resolution, val = reaper.get_action_context()
  --msg(is_new_value)
  --msg(mode)
  --msg(resolution)
  --msg(val)
  local project   = 0    -- ReaProject project
  local nudgeflag = 2    -- integer nudgeflag (&1=set to value (otherwise nudge by value), &2=snap)
  local nudgetype = 0    -- 0=position, 1=left trim, 2=left edge, 3=right edge, 4=contents, 5=duplicate, 6=edit cursor
  local      unit = 2    -- integer nudgeunits: 0=ms, 1=seconds, 2=grid, 3=256th notes, ..., 15=whole notes, 16=measures.beats (1.15 = 1 measure + 1.5 beats), 17=samples, 18=frames, 19=pixels, 20=item lengths, 21=item selections
  local     value = math.abs(val)    -- value: amount to nudge by, or value to set to
  local    copies = 0    -- copies: in nudge duplicate mode, number of copies (otherwise ignored)
                
  if val < 0 then
    --need extra commands here?
    --reaper.Main_OnCommand(,0)
    reaper.ApplyNudge(  project, nudgeflag, nudgetype, unit, value,
                        true, -- reverse: in nudge mode, nudges left (otherwise ignored)
                        copies
                      )
                      
  elseif val > 0 then
    --need extra commands here?
    --reaper.Main_OnCommand(,0)
    reaper.ApplyNudge(  project, nudgeflag, nudgetype, unit, value,
                        false, -- reverse: in nudge mode, nudges left (otherwise ignored)
                        copies
                      )

  end
end

nudge_edit_cursor()
local item = reaper.GetSelectedMediaItem(0,0)
local time_pos = reaper.GetMediaItemInfo_Value(item, "D_POSITION") + reaper.GetMediaItemInfo_Value(item, "D_LENGTH")
reaper.SetEditCurPos2(0, time_pos, true, false)
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 02-14-2018 at 02:47 AM.
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 04:04 AM   #460
edwood75
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 84
Default Feature Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesse olley View Post
I work full-time in audio post. It's a joy to have a commercial Reaper license. We're rarely online with TC anymore but we do a lot of dialog recording and editing. There are some functions in another DAW, SADiE, that I value:

1) Clip-based rendering (make each clip a new file, following grouping, perhaps with an easier way of accessing clip names like a txt edl display)
I am not really sure if i understand you correctly here but i made this action:

item: Render item to new take
Xenakios/SWS: Rename Takes
Take: Explode takes of items in order

This action is very very useful and brilliant
Script: X-Raym_Add text to selected items notes (Items Notes Processor).lua

Quote:
2) Editing while in record
I am not sure but i am with Airon here

Quote:
3) Editing with hardware controllers (grab and move in/out points, etc)
I am also with Airon here and it depends on the hardware.
Euphonix was buggy the last time i tried (long time ago) so i am not sure if there are any developments.
For some work i use Touch OSC
edwood75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 01:32 PM   #461
jesse olley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Chapel Hill, NC, USA
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your replies. I did find a helpful tutorial video on the reaper blog youtube channel (https://youtu.be/ra0FXeU2X4U) that suggested a custom action for dialog editing I really like.

SADiE clip names = Reaper take names - and it looks like I can do this in the render dialog with the wildcard $item (silly me I thought they were called takes) and by joining two clips with glue rather than group.

I've tried experimenting with the touch OSC app but haven't found a GUI that seems reasonable for editing. Since tablets are becoming so ubiquitous it would be wonderful to go that route over expensive hardware controllers. I'm just not willing to mouse click my way into oblivion.

Thanks Reaper, love ya, Happy Valentines Day.

Jesse Olley
jesse olley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 02:31 AM   #462
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,962
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesse olley View Post
Thanks for your replies. I did find a helpful tutorial video on the reaper blog youtube channel (https://youtu.be/ra0FXeU2X4U) that suggested a custom action for dialog editing I really like.

SADiE clip names = Reaper take names - and it looks like I can do this in the render dialog with the wildcard $item (silly me I thought they were called takes) and by joining two clips with glue rather than group.

I've tried experimenting with the touch OSC app but haven't found a GUI that seems reasonable for editing. Since tablets are becoming so ubiquitous it would be wonderful to go that route over expensive hardware controllers. I'm just not willing to mouse click my way into oblivion.

Thanks Reaper, love ya, Happy Valentines Day.

Jesse Olley
What do you need ? The last hardware confrollers I used were Augan OMX iirc and Fairlight MFX3+. You can put together almost anything with that template script above.

One more thing.

What hardware to you actually have ?
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom

Last edited by airon; 02-15-2018 at 05:24 AM.
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 06:32 PM   #463
studer58
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 156
Default

Source Destination editing (or 3 and 4 point editing) is a feature which is central to all dedicated classical music editing programs (eg Pyramix, Sadie, Sequoia) and has a clunkier implementation in REAPER at present via some custom actions, best shown in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=utSTd8huEoM

Essentially classical music editing requires copying and pasting a preferred section of a repair or patch take across a faulty take, and then cross-fading the entry and exit points of the edit. If this could be achieved in REAPER with the same ease and precision that other platforms attain, it would be a huge problem solver for the many classical music editors worldwide who use REAPER for session recording and editing.

The desired process is shown in this Sequoia video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eh-j3jblSfQ
studer58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2018, 06:53 PM   #464
Ice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by studer58 View Post
Source Destination editing (or 3 and 4 point editing) is a feature which is central to all dedicated classical music editing programs (eg Pyramix, Sadie, Sequoia) and has a clunkier implementation in REAPER at present via some custom actions, best shown in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=utSTd8huEoM

Essentially classical music editing requires copying and pasting a preferred section of a repair or patch take across a faulty take, and then cross-fading the entry and exit points of the edit. If this could be achieved in REAPER with the same ease and precision that other platforms attain, it would be a huge problem solver for the many classical music editors worldwide who use REAPER for session recording and editing.

The desired process is shown in this Sequoia video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eh-j3jblSfQ
+1 Far-reaching uses with this.
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2018, 05:12 AM   #465
studer58
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 156
Default

This FR thread probably captures the issues of Source/destination or 3/4 point editing best of all: https://forums.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=192251
studer58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2018, 07:33 PM   #466
Swi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 70
Default better smpte sync between machines

the time code generator is kind of useless. I am using the jsfx substitute that is much better to sync to daws one for composing and one for music editing / picture. It does not lock to the correct frame when stopped. It only works at the 30fps setting between two Reapers Daws. I know MTC thinks 29.97,23.39, and 30 are the same thing but I doubt everyone does. (embarrassed If I am wrong here)

If my master can give me a time code window then that timecode should be more easily sent to the second machine. MTC is fine for doing this and very consistent when set up properly but If I pause picture on a specific frame I need my picture rig or second Reaper DAW to pause on the same frame so I can + and - from frame to frame and do my job.

Reaper.
Swi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 11:04 AM   #467
JeffreyET
Human being with feelings
 
JeffreyET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 278
Default 2 actions wish list

Two items I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to be able to shortcut:

1. Toggle between two audio devices
2. Clear all input meter peaks
__________________
JET Guitars Website http://www.jetguitars.com
Jeffrey's REAPER tracks http://soundcloud.com/jeffreyet
JeffreyET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2018, 11:59 AM   #468
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffreyET View Post
2. Clear all input meter peaks
Did I understand you correctly?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 01:20 PM   #469
JeffreyET
Human being with feelings
 
JeffreyET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 278
Default

Well I'll be a monkey's uncle. Thanks Vitalker.
__________________
JET Guitars Website http://www.jetguitars.com
Jeffrey's REAPER tracks http://soundcloud.com/jeffreyet
JeffreyET is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.