Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2018, 11:44 AM   #1
Ice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 630
Default Visual-only "Freeze Track" like Excel's "Freeze Row"

This has probably been mentioned before. One thing I miss in both Reaper and PT (not sure if other DAWs have it), is the ability to lock/freeze a track (or set of tracks) to the top of the edit/arrange window. I hate to use the term FREEZE as that means something entirely different in Reaper. I do mean just visually lock tracks to prevent vertical scrolling.

Example - a video guide track, or set of guide tracks. I typically have those right below the video track, and constantly need to mute/unmute those. While I'm working I keep having to scroll up to mute/unmute, and then back down to my working area. It doesn't take many tracks for these to be too far apart to see on screen at once.

The clear example is an Excel spreadsheet where you lock the top row or two to use as column headers, so when you scroll up and down those don't move.

It would be sort of like another dock, where you'd assign specific tracks to live in that dock.
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2018, 03:55 PM   #2
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 362
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice View Post
This has probably been mentioned before. One thing I miss in both Reaper and PT (not sure if other DAWs have it), is the ability to lock/freeze a track (or set of tracks) to the top of the edit/arrange window. I hate to use the term FREEZE as that means something entirely different in Reaper. I do mean just visually lock tracks to prevent vertical scrolling.

Example - a video guide track, or set of guide tracks. I typically have those right below the video track, and constantly need to mute/unmute those. While I'm working I keep having to scroll up to mute/unmute, and then back down to my working area. It doesn't take many tracks for these to be too far apart to see on screen at once.

The clear example is an Excel spreadsheet where you lock the top row or two to use as column headers, so when you scroll up and down those don't move.

It would be sort of like another dock, where you'd assign specific tracks to live in that dock.
This would be Great feature and can help a lot
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 02:28 AM   #3
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice View Post
The clear example is an Excel spreadsheet where you lock the
top row or two to use as column headers, so when you scroll
up and down those don't move.
What you mean is "split screen".

You split the screen horizontally, so you have
an upper part and a lower part.
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 04:51 AM   #4
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 572
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice View Post
This has probably been mentioned before. One thing I miss in both Reaper and PT (not sure if other DAWs have it), is the ability to lock/freeze a track (or set of tracks) to the top of the edit/arrange window.
Yes, you're not the first one to ask for such a feature.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2018, 07:33 PM   #5
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,939
Default

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=201128
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.