Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > Dstruct's Casa De Nitpicks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2019, 03:05 PM   #1
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,905
Default ReaScript IDE: script name in error message necessary?

As script names can sometimes be rather long, if the name wouldn't be displayed in the error message we wouldn't need to enlarge horizontally the IDE / column divider so much to actually be able to read the complete message.



Script name is already displayed in first line in red in IDE, window title bar / docker tab, so it seems a bit redundant to me to also display in the error message.

Last edited by nofish; 07-05-2019 at 03:12 PM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 03:18 PM   #2
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 6,076
Default

When a script with multiple files (or using my GUI) goes down and the error message lists the file that crashed, you'll probably appreciate it more. :P I guess they could add a if filenameInMessage == currentFile then trim the message though.

That said, the IDE does suffer from long text disappearing in a few places. One of the many, many reasons I don't use it.
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 03:46 PM   #3
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lokasenna View Post
When a script with multiple files (or using my GUI) goes down and the error message lists the file that crashed, you'll probably appreciate it more. :P
pwned!
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 07:18 PM   #4
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,393
Default

It should be scrollable.
As well as the first line, when it shows a description of what a function does. It's almost always cut at the really interesting point, so I need to reopen the api-docs time and again.
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2019, 08:40 PM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,299
Default

Yeah if the filename matches the current file, it should ideally just say "Line x: (error)"... IMO.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.