Old 06-06-2015, 01:38 AM   #1
n0ne
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 69
Default Action Pads for Lemur (iPad/Android) Control Surface

Hi there,

I've been using the iPad and Liine Lemur for quite a while now with Reaper and I really love it. Tried a bunch of different layouts with interactive faders and pots but found that I mostly use buttons on it. Because Reaper and its community are so awesome I thought I'd share something too! Use/change it as you like!

---

J Actions v1.2

A very simple to adjust grid of colored buttons. The square rows have 2 x 4 layers of 12 buttons, and the bottom row has 7 buttons with 2 shift functions. The idea for the grid was based on Diversgens 'Lemur Osc Layout' (http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=98673). The nice thing for me is that the setup of the buttons is all done in code. So there is no need to drag/click/change buttons if you want to add or change actions. Just go to the init() section of the ActionPad and change the label and action ID.



PHP Code:
setattribute(getobject(),'labels',{'DRUMS','BASS','SYNTHS','LEAD','VOCALS','FX','FX SC','OTHER','SHOW SC','','''DELETE'});
setexpression(getobject(),'actions',
{
'_c1515b64607ca24cb0069734fd87a499''_1489cb0cf8c04a4bb49a02681f062c4d''_091804e6cd9baf46adf6ecce9e557912''_50f071c430d5444f8018d971a46bd57e',
'_e6370ee1a591094d88c4bfba46a10c4f','_a7abb4701911204f866af6bdccccefad','_7a666c05bfb99046a52194a240aeafe5','_fa1ea768aa8cc04390d7c2731d059563',
'_5fd809991565414092f0edb0b77a3ef5','','','_f7ccf76dc16bf744809366c631fca023'
}); 
I use a lot of custom actions but they can be used for any Reaper action. With some simple changes in the code its super easy to adjust the size and number of buttons you want. I never really use the shift function of the bottom row myself but I wanted to implement it. Also the bottom row of buttons reflect the current solo/rec/mute etc.. states so it is all possible to implement this for your action pads.

Enjoy!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0042.jpg (39.8 KB, 690 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip J Actions v1.2.zip (10.4 KB, 117 views)
n0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 07:42 AM   #2
Ozymandias
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 144
Default

Interesting. Is there a clear advantage to using custom IDs instead of binding messages?

At the moment, I bind actions to OSC messages because you can use one string array to create both labels and OSC messages, but maybe I'm missing something...
Ozymandias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 01:52 AM   #3
n0ne
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 69
Default

Hi Ozymandias,

I dont think its a huge difference but I like doing everything in one place. Plus when you want to use feedback from reaper for solo/mute buttons you have to do it on the lemur side as well.

I didn't really get what you mean by using one array for label and binding though. Can you explain?
n0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 05:03 AM   #4
Ozymandias
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 144
Default

Sure - what I mean is, I fill a single array with the names for the pads, e.g.:

Code:
a = {'Button 1','Button 2', 'Button 3'}
And use that array for labels:
Code:
setattribute(Pads,'labels',a);
And for OSC messages:
Code:
oscout(0,'/'+a[firstof(x)],1);
Hope that makes sense.

I use the ReaperOSC patterns for anything that requires feedback, but for everything else that's the approach I use. Just wondered if I was missing out by not using custom IDs.
Ozymandias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 05:14 AM   #5
zvukofor
Human being with feelings
 
zvukofor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 85
Default

Hmmm, how did you managed to work more than 4 FX paste slots for S&M actions?

Like this one: _S&M_PASTE_TRACKFXCHAIN10 —*it's not working for me, but i have about 30 filled FX slots in S&M Resources...
zvukofor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 05:25 AM   #6
Ozymandias
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 144
Default

zvukofor,

Did you edit your S&M.ini to increase the number of S&M_PASTE_TRACKFXCHAIN actions?
Ozymandias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 06:11 AM   #7
zvukofor
Human being with feelings
 
zvukofor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozymandias View Post
zvukofor,

Did you edit your S&M.ini to increase the number of S&M_PASTE_TRACKFXCHAIN actions?
Wow! Somehow i missed this! Thank you!
zvukofor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 06:44 AM   #8
n0ne
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 69
Default

Ah I see what you mean! Yeah thay works nice too I think .

Sws ini is great, loads of extra options there!
n0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 08:22 AM   #9
zvukofor
Human being with feelings
 
zvukofor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 85
Default

I used to use Cycle Actions to add FX on a track, but not really sure which way is more easy now )
zvukofor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.