Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2018, 07:17 AM   #1
vitaminx
Human being with feelings
 
vitaminx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 22
Default MIDI notes stopped generating events on some tracks only

Hi, I have a super weird problem, but I don't know if it's a bug or some hidden switch or option.

I recorded a couple of MIDI tracks with my Alesis Forge Drumkit. I could play them back to the Alesis Forge and all was OK.
But I don't know what I did, but one track after another stopped generating MIDI events when playing back.

The funny thing is that I can click on the piano roll in the MIDI editor and it emits a MIDI event like you would expect.
But when entering a note in the editor, the note preview emits a MIDI event, but when playing back it doesn't.

When I create a new track and I copy + paste the MIDI item to it, it does not work, the MIDI notes just won't generate events.

When I create a new track and a new MIDI item, I can enter notes and they play back normally, so the issue is somewhere in the affected MIDI item itself, not in the track settings.

It is super weird, I don't know what I have done to stop MIDI to be generated for those items, and I've checked everything I know of:

- tracks are not muted, nothing is solo
- the routing is fine, I can click on piano roll keys and it sounds OK, note preview sounds OK too
- note velocities are good
- the item itself is not muted
- the item volume is up and ok
- no automation is active
- the notes are set to the correct MIDI channel

Could you think of anything else I could check?

Thanks
vitaminx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 09:27 AM   #2
xdudex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 28
Default

Just a couple weeks ago (toward the end of my Windows tenure) I was using MIDI drums on a track.

I was experiencing this exact same issue where MIDI events wouldn't trigger on playback. I'd have to launch one of the rpp-bak files to get the MIDI drums to perform playback correctly.

Sorry I do not have an answer for you at all, but I'm hoping to help bump this post and get someone much more knowledgeable than me to assist.
xdudex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 11:21 AM   #3
lilith93
Human being with feelings
 
lilith93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 62
Default

Can this be a problem related to the time representation in Reaper? I don't know if Reaper has such problems, but Ardour does in Version 5. This will be solved in Ardour 6. I observed this in Reaper only once that a midi note is not playing, so likely there a similar issues (??).

What happens when you shift your midi item a little bit (1/128 note or even less)? Do they play then?

https://www.admiralbumblebee.com/mus...ped-midi-notes
lilith93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 02:20 PM   #4
vitaminx
Human being with feelings
 
vitaminx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lilith93 View Post
What happens when you shift your midi item a little bit (1/128 note or even less)?
Nope, that doesn't make any difference.
vitaminx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 01:07 AM   #5
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,001
Default

Could you please give us your midi file?
Perhaps it is related with midi channel.
Didn't you change it accidentally?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 05:21 AM   #6
vitaminx
Human being with feelings
 
vitaminx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Could you please give us your midi file?
Here is the midi file: http://www.callistix.net/music/miditest.RPP

The 3 first tracks stopped generating MIDI events, the VU meter in the mixer panel shows no activity.
I added a fourth track which is working, as the VU meter in the mixer flashed red when playing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Perhaps it is related with midi channel.
Well, the meters in the mixer should at least indicate that a MIDI event is generated, independent of the selected channel.
vitaminx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 02:16 AM   #7
eric71
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 143
Default

I've been playing with your project. I'm not a big midi expert, and it has had me stumped. But if I right click on one of the midi items that doesn't play and select item processing-convert active take MIDI to .mid file reference, and then import this .mid file back into a new track, and add the js plugin "MIDI Note Hold" in before my drum sampler, it works.So maybe it is something about note length, or on/off. But for some reason adding the "note hold" effect to your original tracks doesn't help. Weird.

Last edited by eric71; 08-12-2018 at 02:21 AM.
eric71 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 02:27 PM   #8
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,001
Default

Looks like there are some CCs, which block notes.
The simplest way to make them play is to copy them from old items to new items and it will work. Maybe CC pedal made this, but I couldn't change almost anything.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 03:59 AM   #9
vitaminx
Human being with feelings
 
vitaminx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Looks like there are some CCs, which block notes.
Hi, thanks for checking the file, but this is not it. I removed all CC events from the even list and they are still not playing.

I also never heard of CC events "blocking notes", what exactly do you mean?

I also noticed that the notes had zero length, I increased that to match the working track's MIDI note lengths, but still nothing is played.

And yes, you are right, I could just copy the notes to a new MIDI item and things would be allright.

But if this is a bug it would probably need to be looked into.
vitaminx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 05:30 AM   #10
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitaminx View Post
Hi, thanks for checking the file, but this is not it. I removed all CC events from the even list and they are still not playing.

I also never heard of CC events "blocking notes", what exactly do you mean?

I also noticed that the notes had zero length, I increased that to match the working track's MIDI note lengths, but still nothing is played.

And yes, you are right, I could just copy the notes to a new MIDI item and things would be allright.

But if this is a bug it would probably need to be looked into.
Yes, I've also removed all the CCs and nothing changed. ReaControlMidi's log didn't show any events. For the first time I've managed the first track to play, but didn't save it. By blocking I mean not playing notes. I've tried everything you write about. You know Reaper project files are just plain text?
Yeah, maybe try to report the bug.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 05:48 AM   #11
vitaminx
Human being with feelings
 
vitaminx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 22
Default

I found the issue by looking at the RPP file!

The EVTFILTER line looked different between the working and not working MIDI items.

So, here's the thing: I had "Solo" enabled in the filter (MIDI Editor -> right click on Filter button). I had no idea it was switched on as the filter itself is switched off.

I'm not sure if it is intended behavour to have "Solo" affecting the item even if "Filter" is off, can a Reaper dev please comment?

Thanks to everyone else for helping to hunt this down
vitaminx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 06:39 AM   #12
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,001
Default

Oh, that's how I've managed to run notes on first track. I even didn't think this can affects items in this way.
It would be better to make a bug report or send an email with project to support at cockos.com
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:41 AM   #13
vitaminx
Human being with feelings
 
vitaminx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
It would be better to make a bug report
I thought posting in this forum is how to report bugs in Reaper?
vitaminx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:55 AM   #14
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,001
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitaminx View Post
I thought posting in this forum is how to report bugs in Reaper?
Firstly, this forum is Linux specific. Secondly, there is a thread for Linux specific bugs.
This bug is not Linux specific.
Of course, you can post it wherever you want, but it won't be fixed.
Go to https://forum.cockos.com/ and try to find aproppriate forum for yourself.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names

Last edited by vitalker; Today at 06:03 AM.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.