Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2020, 02:14 PM   #1
whobalagosh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 5
Default Midi Instrument inevitably hangs if I jump between markers during playback.

Hi there,

Relatively long time user, first time poster. I love Reaper. I little corky here or there, but almost 100% of the time, when I want to be able to do something, I just can with nothing in my way.

One bug that I haven't been able to find a solution for, nor have I found any discussion that talks directly about the issue I'm having is that if I'm using a midi instrument (say anything by Arturia), and I'm playing, and I skip between markers, the instrument will inevitably hang.

I used JS: Midi Logger and it is clear that a note off message is never fired (see attachment).

I don't know if a setting is doing this or this is a known issue in Reaper, but any help would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advanced!
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2020-08-09 at 2.13.04 PM.png (8.0 KB, 14 views)
whobalagosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 02:46 PM   #2
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 4,378
Default

Welcome to the forums.

One thing you might try; have a look at....

Options > Preferences > Plugins > VST

.... and make sure you haven't acidentally checked "don't send note-offs or pitch reset messages on stop/reset"
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 06:42 PM   #3
whobalagosh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks Fex,

I had that checked, but even with it unchecked I still have the same behavior.

Do others have this issue?
whobalagosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 07:41 PM   #4
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 4,378
Default

I don't know what's causing your problem, but FWIW there is a potential remedy:

The action....

Send all notes off to all MIDI outputs/plug-ins

.... is mapped to F3 by default.

The action.....

Transport: Stop

.... is, of course, mapped to the spacebar.

You could build a custom action....

Transport: Stop
Send all notes off to all MIDI outputs/plug-ins

.... and map that to your spacebar.

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...91&postcount=3

HTH
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 03:30 PM   #5
whobalagosh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks Fex,

I actually do use "Send all notes off to all MIDI outputs/plug-ins" to stop the hanging notes to get around this issue. However, tying it to Stop isn't quite what I want.

I suppose I can tie it to all commands to jump between markers, as this is when it is really a pain for me.

Though, I would certainly argue that this is a bug and that if I jump between markers, just like the audio itself, the all midi notes should stop and then start again to where the cursor is.

I also use a control surface to do my jumping... not sure how to tie the "Send all notes off to..." command to the commands generated by my control surface.

Thanks for your help thus far Fex.
whobalagosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 04:25 PM   #6
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 4,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whobalagosh View Post
However, tying it to Stop isn't quite what I want.
Sorry, I got hung up on the "MIDI hangs" bit and forgot about the "jump between markers" bit.

One thing does occur - are you sure that all MIDI events terminate before the markers? Only, if those notes hang over the markers, and they never reach their note-offs....
Quote:
Originally Posted by whobalagosh View Post
I also use a control surface to do my jumping... not sure how to tie the "Send all notes off to..." command to the commands generated by my control surface.
It's all a bit beyond me, TBH - the way I work, I have little use for custom actions or control surfaces. However, these things are usually a matter of finding the right search terms, and the right search engine. Using Google to search these forums will get you further than the forums' native search.... eg:

https://www.google.com/search?=oMkxX...stom+action%22
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 01:03 PM   #7
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fex View Post
One thing does occur - are you sure that all MIDI events terminate before the markers? Only, if those notes hang over the markers, and they never reach their note-offs....
Imo even in that situation note-offs should be sent when jumping between markers as I can't think of any situation where the hanging notes would be desireable, is there?
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 01:10 PM   #8
whobalagosh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 5
Default

nofish,

I totally agree. I will post the issue as a bug and see where that get's me/us.
whobalagosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 06:35 PM   #9
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,927
Default

Yeah, I'd also consider it a bug (or at least, put more politely, undesired behaviour).
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.