Old 05-27-2018, 05:52 PM   #1
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,214
Default v5.91pre2 - May 27 2018

+ API: add ShowPopupMenu()
+ API: add get_config_var_string() for ReaScript
+ API: prevent deadlock from occuring when using SetObjectState() on track FX (SWS issue ID 992) [p=1992206]
+ Snap: improve item quantize and stretch marker snap behavior near tempo markers [t=207162]
# linux: fix spacebar in various text fields
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2018, 08:08 PM   #2
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 3,960
Default

Quote:
+ API: add get_config_var_string() for ReaScript
It would be MUCH nicer if Justin or Schwa can shortly describe new API at least in pre-release threads they were introduced. Because it is often happened new functions can ever havent any documentation or use tips (I guess it is for internal or specific use and not expect regular user would use them).


Code:
var_str = 'lastproject'
retval, buf = reaper.get_config_var_string(var_str)
> ""
retval, stringOut = reaper.BR_Win32_GetPrivateProfileString( 'REAPER', var_str, ''  ,  reaper.get_ini_file() )
> (some project path)

Last edited by mpl; 05-28-2018 at 02:57 AM.
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 03:14 AM   #3
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Quote:
add ShowPopupMenu()
This allow to display the right click menu of various context (TCP, items etc), on a X Y position.



Quote:
Lua: reaper.ShowPopupMenu(string name, integer x, integer y, HWND hwndParent, identifier ctx, integer ctx2, integer ctx3)


shows a context menu, valid names include: track_input, track_panel, track_area, track_routing, item, ruler, envelope, envelope_point, envelope_item. ctxOptional can be a track pointer for track_*, item pointer for item* (but is optional). for envelope_point, ctx2Optional has point index, ctx3Optional has item index (0=main envelope, 1=first AI). for envelope_item, ctx2Optional has AI index (1=first AI)

eg:


Code:
reaper.ShowPopupMenu( "track_panel", 500, 500, '', reaper.GetTrack(0,0))

Seems powerful, surely dedicated to some manger scripts (like a script that would list items, or tracks...)
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 04:00 AM   #4
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
This allow to display the right click menu of various context (TCP, items etc), on a X Y position.
Native contextual toolbars?
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 05:21 AM   #5
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@vitalker
Yes, the native ones ! Just likeif you made right click on the element, but with the menu displayed somewhere than mouse pos.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 06:04 AM   #6
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,173
Default

If fx menus were available, and addfx API accommodated it, could use menu to add fx to all selected tracks/takes. Some other stuff I'm sure.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 06:31 AM   #7
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4,813
Default

big up for the API's altho i won't use this ones specifically i think. Consider this also, since it will give great oportunities:
- arguments for scripts! (https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=195120)
- auxdata aka local DBs for each item, AI, track, (marker?), etc (https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=196600)
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 06:35 AM   #8
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,173
Default

It is better if cockos just implements it. Then it can do everything in fx chain too.

Edit. Reply meant for doppelganger.

Edit two. Like mpl, I can't get anything from var_string function either.

Last edited by FnA; 05-28-2018 at 06:57 AM.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 11:50 AM   #9
HighVoltage
Human being with feelings
 
HighVoltage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 496
Default

If APIs got a little focus:

Please add support for offline plugins in the API.

Both Mpl's and Heda's brilliant toolbars can't work with offline plugins properly without support for handling offline FX.

I don't know much about the technical side, maybe they can chime in.
HighVoltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 12:26 PM   #10
Ameliance SkyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
Ameliance SkyMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 115
Default AUTOMATION ITEM: Glue Bug

AUTOMATION ITEM: Glue Bug

1 part: as it was [5.90rc2]
2 part: as it is in [5.91pre2]

https://streamable.com/0ckga
Ameliance SkyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 12:43 PM   #11
Ameliance SkyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
Ameliance SkyMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 115
Default REAPER PPQ (and me again...)

I am not crazy! I know that you are tired of me
or my posts about midi notes and a grid, but

Justin, schwa, please watch this video until the end
(at least the first 12 minutes)

https://youtu.be/eP79xv8_cwo
Ameliance SkyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 01:07 PM   #12
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
+ Snap: improve item quantize and stretch marker snap behavior near tempo markers [t=207162]
Thanks! No report from me within 2 years,
means buggy behavior is fixed
__________________
Reaper x64, win 11
Composer, text-writer, producer
Bandcamp
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2018, 02:16 PM   #13
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

just reported hard crash of ver. 5.90 when importing an .xml file... thread is in the General Discussion in the 5.90 thread...

Works fine with 5.81

just dbl checked with 5.91 pre 2 and get the same crash: [with a few diff numbers of course]

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: reaper.exe
Application Version: 5.9.0.12
Application Timestamp: 5b0b2f1b
Fault Module Name: reaper.exe
Fault Module Version: 5.9.0.12
Fault Module Timestamp: 5b0b2f1b
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00000000007e45e8
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 7ea3
Additional Information 2: 7ea35df4101ae0c9ebd09f06b988c323
Additional Information 3: 25db
Additional Information 4: 25db04690eefaa93e57366c50f188e2f

__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 01:42 AM   #14
Arthur
Human being with feelings
 
Arthur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 83
Default

Shortcut for Video Processor does not work,and is not displayed in action list.

Last edited by Arthur; 05-29-2018 at 04:07 AM.
Arthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 02:28 AM   #15
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,790
Default

Video processor is not found in the action list anyways - it's in FX browser.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 02:56 AM   #16
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Video processor is not found in the action list anyways - it's in FX browser.
Look at his comment's title
"Create shortcut for Video Processor"
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 03:22 AM   #17
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 24,790
Default

He can do that himself, tho. The option is right there:

EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 04:01 AM   #18
Arthur
Human being with feelings
 
Arthur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
He can do that himself, tho. The option is right there:

The shortcut is created but does not work, and video processor does not appear in the action list.The plugin should be displayed in action list, even when the shortcut creation is canceled. After it became possible to make shortcuts for plugins,it's a good option to add plugins to the toolbar.

Last edited by Arthur; 05-29-2018 at 05:48 AM.
Arthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 09:17 AM   #19
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur View Post
Shortcut for Video Processor does not work,and is not displayed in action list.
Fixing, thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 12:16 PM   #20
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,618
Default

just FYI the xml import bug IS fixed in this pre... However it still exists in the official 5.90 download.... thinking you'd like to fix it there as well, ..no?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2018, 02:13 PM   #21
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
just FYI the xml import bug IS fixed in this pre... However it still exists in the official 5.90 download.... thinking you'd like to fix it there as well, ..no?
Yes of course, in time (that would mean making a 5.901 or 5.91 release)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.