Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Old 08-21-2017, 06:19 AM   #1
DDDan
Human being with feelings

Default Reaper and Wacom Cintiq 21 doesn't register most pen clicks

Hi, I've been using a cintiq 21" pen screen for many years in Pro Tools. Works absolutely great! Recently I switched for a big chunk of my work to Reaper for many reasons. But the Wacom doesn't work very well with Reaper, and I cannot figure out why.
It might be a setting in Reaper (tried all kinds of things) but if that is the case I cannot find it.

What happens to me is that half of the time when I click on a button (like solo, mute) Reaper doesn't register it as a click. The wacom does, because there's a led that lights up when you tap the screen. And when I switch to Pro Tools, everything works fine. (just tried Logic, works fine as well)

With Reaper it seems as if it doesn't register every click as a real click. It is definitely related to selected track, because once a track is selected (highlighted) then the buttons respond most of the time. But when I click on a solo/mute button of another track it will sometimes mute/solo but more often it will not respond to my clicking. When I use the mouse to select a different track then it works again. But the behaviour is quite erratic, sometimes it just works, sometimes it doesn't seem to matter what you do, it just doesn't respond.
Some things I tried:
use pen/tablet safe mode on/off, doesn't make a difference
mouse click changes track selection of/off doesn't make a difference.

I have re-installed the latest version of Wacom, re-calibrated, checked all options in the Wacom software. but I have no clue what to do.