Old 08-11-2011, 07:03 PM   #1
keyman_sam
Human being with feelings
 
keyman_sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,552
Default Custom build for Reaper

Since I'm having troubles up the wazoo with my current system, I figured its time to buy a new computer for Reaper. Win7 64-bit and all..

Intel Core i7-2600 Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz Quad Core 8000K
Antec KUHLER H2O 620 extra quiet Liquid Cooling System
ASUS P8H67-M PRO,H67 (Rev 3.0) Onboard Video, DVI & HDMI,X-Fire, SATA3, USB3.0
16GB (4x4GB) PC12800 DDR3 1600 Dual Channel
GeForce 210 1GB, PCI EXpress 16X dual head, HDMI
64.0GB Crucial M4 Series Solid State Drive, SATA3 6.0Gb/s, 415MBs
2000.0GB Hitachi 7200RPM SATA3, 6.0Gb/s, 64mb cache for audio recording
1500 eSATA HDD for sample streaming and projects backup

Antec Sonata Black Ultra Quiet Case front USB
CoolerMaster eXtreme Power 550W Extra quiet ATX Power Supply, SLI & X-fire ready

RME HDSP9632 pci audio card and a Dell U3011 30" monitor, LG 23" HDMI monitor. I want both monitors at 1080p.

Am I missing anything?
__________________
The must-have sample library for shortcircuit :
Essentials Volume 1
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?...3313#note14891

Last edited by keyman_sam; 08-17-2011 at 08:37 PM.
keyman_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 07:09 PM   #2
moliere
Human being with feelings
 
moliere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 2,226
Default

*drools*
moliere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 08:26 PM   #3
keyman_sam
Human being with feelings
 
keyman_sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moliere View Post
*drools*
yeah me too.
__________________
The must-have sample library for shortcircuit :
Essentials Volume 1
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?...3313#note14891
keyman_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 12:01 AM   #4
Some Guy
Human being with feelings
 
Some Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 415
Default

looks very nice. will you be installing all applications on the ssd or just windows?
Some Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 01:36 AM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,634
Default

Get 12 GB of DDR3 (triple-channel) instead. Then later on double it to 24 GB, also triple-channel.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 04:25 AM   #6
keyman_sam
Human being with feelings
 
keyman_sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Some Guy View Post
looks very nice. will you be installing all applications on the ssd or just windows?
Windows + All apps go on the ssd. All music/pics/videos/DAW work goes on other drives.
__________________
The must-have sample library for shortcircuit :
Essentials Volume 1
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?...3313#note14891
keyman_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 04:26 AM   #7
keyman_sam
Human being with feelings
 
keyman_sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Get 12 GB of DDR3 (triple-channel) instead. Then later on double it to 24 GB, also triple-channel.
Is there a reason for this? I have no problem either way.

Well, actually turns out magic micro doesn't have triple channel. 8 to 16 is the only jump.

I also thought I remember something about Windows 7 not supporting more than 8 GB for the home version??
__________________
The must-have sample library for shortcircuit :
Essentials Volume 1
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?...3313#note14891
keyman_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 04:42 AM   #8
mplay
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Curaçao
Posts: 285
Default

The 1155 mobos use double channel memory, windows 7 home can use max 16gb
mplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 04:46 AM   #9
keyman_sam
Human being with feelings
 
keyman_sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,552
Default

Forgot to mention:
My main goal with this setup is DEAD quiet performance. I shouldn't be able to detect if the damn thing is on or not. I know all the iX series will be powerful, so I just need something quiet.
__________________
The must-have sample library for shortcircuit :
Essentials Volume 1
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?...3313#note14891
keyman_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 08:14 AM   #10
Jcschild
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Get 12 GB of DDR3 (triple-channel) instead. Then later on double it to 24 GB, also triple-channel.
ummm no there is no such thing as triple channel on a Sandy bridge system
16gig is the max and more then enough for most unless doing absurb composing.

Scott
ADK
Jcschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 01:09 PM   #11
mplay
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Curaçao
Posts: 285
Default

The H67 has onboard video but doesn't allow overclocking. Since you will use a separate video card, there's no reason I can think of to get the H67. Why not get a p67 and 2600k, so you can overclock if the need ever arises. Another thing I notice is the case can take ATX motherboards, the mobo you mention is micro atx. More space works better.

Water cooling is a bit overkill imo. I'd go for a scythe mugen rev B. It supports a 120mm fan, the noctua fans are best imo. If you use another two as front and back case fan, you will hardly hear them and stay nice and cool, even with some overclocking. It is huge so probably wont fit on a micro atx board! I'm guessing the video card is passively cooled? Then the loudest will be the psu. I know the cooler master silent pro 700 is very quiet, but haven't heard the model you mentioned.
mplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 01:46 PM   #12
AtmanActive
Human being with feelings
 
AtmanActive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Malta
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keyman_sam View Post
My main goal with this setup is DEAD quiet performance. I shouldn't be able to detect if the damn thing is on or not.
I specialize in building 'Solid State Computers', no moving parts, 0dB(A) noise, 0CFM airflow. Contact me via PM on this forum.
AtmanActive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 01:50 PM   #13
Jcschild
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 93
Default

no moving parts?
so your power supply is fanless?
your cpu cooler is fanless?
you have no case fans?

sounds like a system waiting to explode from heat

there is no such thing as a no moving parts computer unless you want some small form factor ITX system thats severely underpowered.
or you are submerging in liquid cooling and that still need pump
oh and SSD is a complete waste of $
Scott
ADK
Jcschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 02:02 PM   #14
lxm
Human being with feelings
 
lxm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,629
Default

Can you OC the SB stuff? I have a i7 950 up to 4.5
lxm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 02:03 PM   #15
AtmanActive
Human being with feelings
 
AtmanActive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Malta
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jcschild View Post
no moving parts?
None.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jcschild View Post
so your power supply is fanless?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jcschild View Post
your cpu cooler is fanless?
Yes.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jcschild View Post
you have no case fans?
No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jcschild View Post
sounds like a system waiting to explode from heat
35°C idle, 41°C full CPU+GPU load
Intel QuadCore 2.5GHz, 48000 MIPS, 95W TDP
ATI Radeon HD 6850, 135W TDP

I did say I specialize in it.
I'm starting my own company for that business right now.
I invested about three years of research, and about 20 years of computer building experience.
AtmanActive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 02:12 PM   #16
Jcschild
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 93
Default

well i may have to stand corrected and shut up and sit down :-)

we tried all this crazy stuff yrs ago. the fanless PS blew up after about a yr. really bit me in the butt with warranty replacements as i sold a good amount of them

never really could get fanless cpu cooler to work well without decent airflow thru the case and that meant not as quiet of case fans we would normally use thus defeating the purpose. the other issue with large tall coolers is shipping they tend to bend in transit. got tired of replacing those and paying to have a local shop replace them for me or pay to bring it back to me..

what processor? if you cant do this with all presently sold processors its kinda moot.

95Wtdp thats not bad... not bad at all

Scott
ADK
Jcschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 02:25 PM   #17
AtmanActive
Human being with feelings
 
AtmanActive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Malta
Posts: 314
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jcschild View Post
95Wtdp thats not bad... not bad at all
95W + 135W = 230W TDP cooled at 0dB(A).

I can do any CPU/GPU combination, even dual-sockets and SLI/CrossFire mashups.

I'll post here as soon as my company's site is up and running.
AtmanActive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 02:37 PM   #18
mplay
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Curaçao
Posts: 285
Default

Isn't 95W tdp pretty normal? Same as 2600k. The sandy's go as low as 65W tdp (i5 2405s).
mplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 02:53 PM   #19
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,634
Default

Ah, I see, Sandy Bridges are limited to 1155 slot so it doesn't support triple channel. My bad.


Actually, WTF is wrong with Intel constantly making new socket pinouts?! Today we have 1156 and 1366, now they say they will replace them with 1155 and 2011? That's insane.


AMD is still on their socket throughout all this time, right? So what the hell, dude...
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 08:35 PM   #20
keyman_sam
Human being with feelings
 
keyman_sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jcschild View Post
oh and SSD is a complete waste of $
Scott
ADK
Now now, that is a silly thing to say. And surprising coming from you.

I was going to get a stock MBP with the SSD as the ONLY upgrade. I'm sure there are others who do the same.
__________________
The must-have sample library for shortcircuit :
Essentials Volume 1
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?...3313#note14891
keyman_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 08:40 PM   #21
keyman_sam
Human being with feelings
 
keyman_sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,552
Default

I'm not worried about going all 'no-moving parts' on my system. As long as its dead quiet, I could care less.

I suspect the main culprits to be the vibration from the audio/sample HDD and the PSU fan.
__________________
The must-have sample library for shortcircuit :
Essentials Volume 1
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?...3313#note14891
keyman_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 06:47 AM   #22
Jcschild
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keyman_sam View Post
Now now, that is a silly thing to say. And surprising coming from you.

I was going to get a stock MBP with the SSD as the ONLY upgrade. I'm sure there are others who do the same.
not surprising at all considering how much i benchmark stuff.
as a samples drive or a live gig laptop is the only time i think its makes sense.

as an OS drive in a mulit drive setup it does nothing for performance of audio
as an audio drive pointless
as a samples drive very cool but very costly. and very small.

just sold a system to a composer with 2 SSD drives for samples playback
each drive was almost $900 (512G)
if you can afford it then sure..
Jcschild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 07:05 AM   #23
XITE-1/4LIVE
Human being with feelings
 
XITE-1/4LIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Somewhere Between 120 and 150 BPM
Posts: 7,820
Default

Even for live work the SSD's aren't really necessary.
I have seen improvements with being able to put more samples in RAM if you really have to have Swells and Crescendos controllable by an expression pedal or ModWheel, but in all honesty one can use the longest swell, and by using your ear, yes, that rarely used organ, you can tell the end of the passage is approaching you stomp it down and max it out, very little difference really.
I like SSD's and use the SATA II Corsairs on my home rig but I waited for SATA III hype, which drove down the prices to make it a decent buy.
But on my live 4U DAW I still use 4 x 10k Raptors and stack Instrument Banks in Kontakt so maybe I don't need 48 MIDI tracks recorded simultaneously, but access time is nowhere near as fast as an SSD but that doesn't seem to affect my live needs.
I also tried fanless PSU's and 9 months, and 1 year on each of those, and that's my home rig where I test hardware/software before I incorporate it live.
But my needs are different than the home studio cats...
Im just a live juke box.

I did forget to mention that the smart cached Seagate Momentus Hybrids are quiet, cheap and make saves and loads much quicker.
Their big benefit other than cost, is that one can have a SATA RAID Case where the 4 in 3 configuration has been re designed for a 5 in 3 capacity. So if you like those, and think redundancy is important, a dual RAID 1 can be used.
I think that's a waste but kids love RAID. I just use old drives at hot spares and jam them into the RAID cage. Never needed to do that yet, and it's much faster than a rebuild that happens when a drive fails...
In 12 years of using HDD's live I only had to replace my ancient 360G, and that was during a diagnostics test before a gig one night.
Never happened during a gig, but hot swapping with sampled content takes a few seconds for the drives to re engage.
THis is also why I still use hardware Analog synths too. They sound better, they hate windows, and they play w/o re boots..
__________________
.

Last edited by XITE-1/4LIVE; 08-18-2011 at 07:11 AM.
XITE-1/4LIVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 12:40 PM   #24
keyman_sam
Human being with feelings
 
keyman_sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jcschild View Post
not surprising at all considering how much i benchmark stuff.
as a samples drive or a live gig laptop is the only time i think its makes sense.

as an OS drive in a mulit drive setup it does nothing for performance of audio
as an audio drive pointless
as a samples drive very cool but very costly. and very small.

just sold a system to a composer with 2 SSD drives for samples playback
each drive was almost $900 (512G)
if you can afford it then sure..
As an OS drive, the programs launch quicker, resuming from sleep is instant, there's no 'start-up' time and noise. Those three are pretty huge advantages.
For audio, I prefer the mechanical drives as they're cost effective per GB. Actually for recording, its still mechanical drive as SSDs slow down over time. Maybe for samples drive, I'd go for an SSD.

But really for OS there's no better choice than an SSD.
__________________
The must-have sample library for shortcircuit :
Essentials Volume 1
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?...3313#note14891
keyman_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 12:47 PM   #25
keyman_sam
Human being with feelings
 
keyman_sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,552
Default

Ok I'm looking at another build, much more expensive, but probably worth it for the long run. This thing approaches a Mac Pro cost, but you do get what you pay for:

http://www.pugetsystems.com/nav/sere.../customize.php

They specialize in quiet and cool builds.
__________________
The must-have sample library for shortcircuit :
Essentials Volume 1
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?...3313#note14891

Last edited by keyman_sam; 08-18-2011 at 01:47 PM.
keyman_sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.