Old 05-18-2018, 06:49 AM   #1
Khorus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 62
Default Disabling MIDI CC Chasing in Reaper 5.x

Hello good people of this forum,

Yesterday I was having a rehearsal with my band. I migrated our live instruments (VSTIs) and pre-recorded back tracks from Cubase to Reaper.

My guitar player uses a Kemper Profiling Amp (a fancy POD) and we control it via MIDI. We send MIDI patch changes and MIDI CCs for real time control (Say, a Volume ramp).

Now, Reaper (unlike Cubase) has CC chasing. It can be great say for film composers who'd like to have their correct articulations recalled when they press Play. In my case, it is not so great. Everytime I change to a new guitar patch from a MIDI program change, it gets the last gain from the previous CC.

Is it possible to disable the MIDI CCs chasing? Thanks in advance,

Marc aka Khorus
Khorus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 06:55 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,098
Default

AFAIK Cubase also has MIDI CC chasing...

There's no option for disabling CC chasing in Reaper IIRC.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 07:09 AM   #3
Khorus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
AFAIK Cubase also has MIDI CC chasing...

There's no option for disabling CC chasing in Reaper IIRC.
Cubase has CC Chasing? Then why my gains are OK? (Using the very same MIDI tracks which I exported from Cubase). We should have a "Disable CC Chase" in the preferences panel I guess.
Khorus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 07:28 AM   #4
Khorus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 62
Default

OK, here's why my Cubase setup works and not Reaper. You can *SELECT* which MIDI events you'd like to be chased back in Cubase. We need something like this in Reaper as well!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CUBASE MIDI PERFS.jpg (62.0 KB, 16 views)
Khorus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 07:42 AM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 21,098
Default

One way you could combat this is simply force the CC that adjusts gain along with program change?
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 06:31 AM   #6
Khorus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 62
Default

Would it be possible to jam those CC chase updates with a LUA script?

Had a quick look at the API, there's a few MIDI CC commands... I'm just wondering.
Khorus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.