Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2024, 08:14 AM   #1
funkydrum
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Bremen, Germany
Posts: 69
Default RODE AI-1, REAPER 7.14 , Windows11 - REAPER crashes - who can analyse crashdump?

Hi,
on my rather new HP Elitebook running under win11, REAPER 7.14 crashes quite repeatingly recently, when chosing RODE AI-1 USB audio interface in preference menu. Anybody using the same combination facing problems?


I have been using REAPER (with the previous 7.x versions) on this computer for some weeks now. REAPER has been running stable as usual. I did several rehearsal recordings with this new computer, using a QSC touchmix 30 pro as audio interface. No problem at all. The computer as such runs stable as well. Only REAPER stops working, just as if it was closed. The computer continues working unaffectedly. Tried rebooting, nevertheless, too.


I usually did record on a USB SSD drive, but last time I used the internal drive of the laptop. Copied the project to a drive, worked on it on my other computers (both win 10 pro though) - no problem at all. REAPER hardly ever crashed before on the older maschines.


I re-installed REAPER with option to create crashdumps, it crashed several times again. I found the crashdump files, almost 500MB each, so far too big to upload here, even zipped. So I tried to do an analysis them with winDbg - not really knowing what I was doing, to be honest, just found a post on a forum leading into that direction.The analysis points into direction of the RODE AI-1 ASIO driver (dowloaded from RODE website today, but driver is from 2018-07-19), please see text from anaysis in enclosed *.txt file.

So I did re-install latest drivers , updated firmware of the audio interface, but reaper still just shuts down after a few seconds - no matter if the interface is connected or not. It seems to be enough to choose the RODE AI-1 as device in preferences to cause the problem - but I'm not yet sure, though. If I manage to choose a different device quick enough, REAPER continues to work normally.

However, on both my older HP Elitebook and stationary PC, both running under windows 10pro, same REAPER version, same project runs smoothly with the RODE AI-1, same as with any other interface.

Anybody running RODE AI-1 under win 11 with or without problems? ?
Cheers Funkydrum
Attached Files
File Type: txt Reaper CrashDump Analysis1.txt (11.3 KB, 147 views)
funkydrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2024, 12:58 PM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,975
Default

(Sorry: no answer )
Why use a Rode A1 when there is the NI Audio 2 with much more interesting specs for a much lower price ?
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2024, 07:05 AM   #3
funkydrum
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Bremen, Germany
Posts: 69
Default Why use RODE AI-1?

Well, I already own the RODE AI-!, it is small, it works without external power supply and is powerful enough to fire up my headphones with just one USB connection to the laptop.

But yes, I can do without it, of course, as long as it is really and only the RODE AI-1 which causes the trouble.



Cheers Funkydrum
funkydrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2024, 08:48 AM   #4
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkydrum View Post
So I did re-install latest drivers , updated firmware of the audio interface,
try this:
unplug interface

uninstall driver

restart

install driver

shutdown/restart

connect interface

test
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2024, 01:58 PM   #5
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkydrum View Post
is powerful enough to fire up my headphones with just one USB connection to the laptop.
In fact the headphone amp is a week point with the NI interfaces. I bought a dedicated Headphone amp which outperforms any USB interface. .
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2024, 03:41 PM   #6
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 607
Default

The rode a1-l has a really good headphone output power with a decent impedance, but if you want something serious, then the best headphone output power in an audio interface is in the inexpensive topping e2x2, forget motu, audient, universal audio, rme etc.

Awesome power for an audio interface!

You can compare the specs in this video.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CHJGwVBGPXE
Vagalume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2024, 12:18 AM   #7
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 14,975
Default

I have been warned regarding the build quality / stability of the "topping" so I went for the "lake people".
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2024, 06:52 AM   #8
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 607
Default

You are talking about adding a headphone amp to your system ... and I am talking having just the right audio interface to amplify any headphones, nothing to do.

Last edited by Vagalume; 04-11-2024 at 12:23 PM.
Vagalume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2024, 10:47 PM   #9
funkydrum
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Bremen, Germany
Posts: 69
Default seems to work! Thank you!

Good morning,
@EpicSounds: I could finally test it:
Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
try this:
unplug interface
uninstall driver
restart
install driver
shutdown/restart
connect interface
test
I did exactly what you suggested (including using the default path for the driver this time) and it seems to work now.
Thanks a lot
Cheers Funkydrum
funkydrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2024, 12:04 AM   #10
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,626
Default

That's great! I'm glad that has worked for you.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.