Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2024, 12:06 PM   #1
ONDF
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2023
Posts: 5
Default Snap to grid makes pops every beat

Hello,
I work on backing tracks that have a click track + instruments'tracks.
Because the tempo of the record is not perfect I want to fix the tracks to grid so then I can set the tempo I want.
To do so :
- I group the tracks
- I align the first click to the grid (and the other tracks follow)
- Then I "add strech markers to item and grouped items" via Dynamics, so I have a strech marker every beats on every tracks
So far, all is good at this point.

Then I right click Strech markers / Strech markers in selected items / snap to grid.
Yes all my tracks are then aligned to the grid as I want, but then I can ear sort of "pops" on every beats. And that was not the case before "snap to grid".

I tried :
- with just 2 tracks (click + piano) => the same
- freeze the tracks => pops are in the freezed version
- render the tracks => pops are in the rendered version
- glue items => pops are in the glued items

Is there something I'm doing wrong or missing ?
How can I do the same without those pops on beats, with a clear sound as the original.

Attachements :
- the visual result
- a piano sample where we can ear those pops on beats that weren't on the original non aligned piano track.

Version : Reaper 7.14 + SWS
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SnapToGrid.jpg (33.9 KB, 62 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip Intro Piano Test.zip (62.8 KB, 56 views)
ONDF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 12:56 PM   #2
ShibuyaCyana
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 107
Default

Right click item, properties, Take pitch shift/time stretch modes, then change stretch marker fade size to 5ms or greater. That should fix it.
ShibuyaCyana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2024, 01:51 PM   #3
ONDF
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2023
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks ShibuyaCyana,

I didn't know about "Take pitch/time stretch modes" => I'm gonna take look at what it does.

I tried your tip but had to adapt it :
- fade size = 7ms
- mode : Tonal-optimized

It seems to fix it.

Great job.
ONDF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.