Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-04-2020, 09:21 AM   #41
Eisenspalter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackmilas View Post
Plugins that introduce high latency cause audio to drop / stutter when they are inserted on parent folder tracks.

Here is a video (unlisted YouTube) presenting the problem.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0Ke...ature=youtu.be
Also two of my friends told me they've been having similar issues with folders, so it looks like it's not related to my specific configuration.
+10000
@Cockos Can't you finally tackle this annoying topic? As soon as you use multiple compressors in a row, the crackling begins. Isn't it the most important thing for a DAW to produce a clean output?
Eisenspalter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2020, 11:08 AM   #42
kris.audioplanet
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 99
Default

I just tried the latest beta and it looks like this has been improved a lot! No more crackling and somehow even my UAD plugins are behaving better
kris.audioplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2020, 11:42 PM   #43
fwd0120
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 293
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ideosound View Post
v6.09+dev0428 - April 28 2020
+ Delay compensation: FX chains can be set to compensate delay Per-FX, Per-chain, or not at all
+ Delay compensation: in record input FX and monitoring FX, when not in ignore delay compensation mode, dry signal is now kept synchronized to wet signal (change from previous behavior)
+ Delay compensation: master FX chain can be set to compensate delay at the hardware-send level
Wow, as somebody who has tried to use reaper as a live mixing platform, this is a real game changer! Even a big plus for live monitoring in the studio. Now only if we could get PDC down below the block size (like if a plugin reports 3 samples of delay it wouldn't round up to the block size, a la other daws like Ableton). That would be an absolute dream. This is why I keep coming back to Reaper!
fwd0120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 12:24 AM   #44
Joe90
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fwd0120 View Post
Wow, as somebody who has tried to use reaper as a live mixing platform, this is a real game changer! Even a big plus for live monitoring in the studio. Now only if we could get PDC down below the block size (like if a plugin reports 3 samples of delay it wouldn't round up to the block size, a la other daws like Ableton). That would be an absolute dream. This is why I keep coming back to Reaper!
That is exactly what it does when you use the 'per chain' PDC setting. It stops rounding up those low latency plugins to the block size and just calculates the total amount for the full chain, just like other DAW's.
Joe90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 01:51 PM   #45
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 840
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe90 View Post
That is exactly what it does when you use the 'per chain' PDC setting. It stops rounding up those low latency plugins to the block size and just calculates the total amount for the full chain, just like other DAW's.
He means no block size round ups at all.

However I much prefer the roundup since I think (not know) that this gives a stability and less erros in latency due to errors in plugin reported latencies.
Seems like an extremely fundamental way reaper handles these things so I think (not know) any hopes for another way of doing this is...hopeless.
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 01:30 AM   #46
the19thbear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 142
Default

So basically, it's fixed in the newest version?
the19thbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 04:03 AM   #47
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fwd0120 View Post
as somebody who has tried to use reaper as a live mixing platform, this is a real game changer!
IMHO, for Live usage in most cases it's better to switch off PDC completely.
-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2020, 09:39 AM   #48
Ideosound
Human being with feelings
 
Ideosound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: U.K
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the19thbear View Post
So basically, it's fixed in the newest version?
Only the pre-release versions have this option currently.
Ideosound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 01:44 PM   #49
the19thbear
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 142
Default

Ok. Will wait for official release then. Please post here once it is a part of the official release
the19thbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 03:51 AM   #50
faun2500
Human being with feelings
 
faun2500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 1,029
Default

Oh thank you!. I am having exactly this problem with ozone 9.Also disabling PDC in Ozone 9 stops the buffer issue but makes massive latency.

Glad I found this thread! Going to take it all out the folder track. BUT, why is this still happening?
__________________
newloops.com - Crazy deals on audio samples and sound banks!

http://bit.ly/free-sample-packs- Totally Free High Quality Sample Packs
faun2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2020, 04:10 AM   #51
faun2500
Human being with feelings
 
faun2500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 1,029
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by faun2500 View Post
Oh thank you!. I am having exactly this problem with ozone 9.Also disabling PDC in Ozone 9 stops the buffer issue but makes massive latency.

Glad I found this thread! Going to take it all out the folder track. BUT, why is this still happening?
Looks like I spoke too soon! Removing the folder track does nothing to sort the crackling sound when I press stop. If I turn Ozone 9 PDC OFF I have no problem but the latency is so huge it's impossible to work!

This really has become a major issue for me now.
__________________
newloops.com - Crazy deals on audio samples and sound banks!

http://bit.ly/free-sample-packs- Totally Free High Quality Sample Packs
faun2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.