Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Spatial Audio

Old 03-20-2020, 07:04 AM   #1
pompitous
Human being with feelings

Default Converting Ambisonics A-format to binaural via Ambi Micro plugin

Hello,

Apologies for an entry level question: I have a Sennheiser Ambeo VR mic with which I want to create binaural tracks via the Dear VR Ambi Micro plugin.

I am brand new to Reaper. Digital Performer has been my go-to DAW for 30 years and MOTU have devised me quite an involved setup for sending 4 x mono tracks through the plugin in order to output binaural stereo but DP doesn't seem a natural fit for this task and a Sennheiser engineer has recommended Reaper.

Could someone give me a basic workflow for inputting 4 x mono tracks so they position correctly for the plugin to do its work, assuming I have zero knowledge of Reaper? I need to be able to correctly assign each track number to the correct plugin channel. I have tried setting the master track to 4 input channels and assigning Ambi Micro to its fx, but the render produced a mono-sounding track with no spatial elements.

Thanks very much, help would be much appreciated.

Last edited by pompitous; 03-20-2020 at 07:48 AM.
pompitous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2020, 12:48 AM   #2
jm duchenne

Hi,

The strangest thing for me is that you whish to use 4 mono files instead of a 4 channels one : is there a specific reason to do so ?

It is not difficult to do work like that, but it would be much easier and faster if you convert them to multichannel, for instance with the free Wave Agent application :
https://www.sounddevices.com/product...gent-software/

In this case all you will have to do is to insert the DearVR plugin on the track where you have put your ambisonic files...