Old 06-07-2019, 08:57 AM   #1
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,438
Default return of the Dummy %^)

yep... 'the dummy'... that's me
cuz I don't even know enough about what scripting can or cannot do to know if I should not even ask...

Anyway... there are two minor things that drive me crazy in reaper
[really hopi? ONLY two?]

1- there is no hot key to move user made FX folders up or down in the list of the FX Browser... after all these years it is still that insane menu of move up, move down, move to top, move to bottom.
I keep my folder in alphabetical order and have many... so when adding a new one that needs to live between , say, M and N, it is a PITA.
IS it possible to have scripts that do the move up, move down with a key press??

2- another hot key thing:
In the FX window on a track is the menu to Save Selected FX as FX Chain.
But there is no hot key for that!
Can there be one?
Why? Because I try to organize a lot of individual FX as FX chains so that I can keep them in folder in the FX Chains list and also rename them however I wish.

I have asked the DEV's for both these since before dinosaurs walked the earth, but to no avail... so I give up with the DEV's and come to the realm of Scripters on bended knees...

Thanks for listening
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 05:00 PM   #2
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,438
Default

I've had a message that explains the first req. can't be done cuz there is nothing in the API to allow it....

I am aware that an attempt at an external tool to organize the FX browser folders was made and I tried it but it did not work well for me...

So being a dummy, I am a bit confused... here's why:
Isn't there something in the API that does the move up or move down once you have a folder selected???

So let me ask again in case I did not make my wish clear... I just want to trigger move up or move down with a hot key... sorry if I'm being redundant
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 12:47 AM   #3
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,198
Default

Not possible the way you want it, sorry.
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 03:52 AM   #4
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mespotine View Post
Not possible the way you want it, sorry.
Thanks... well, I do hope 'not possible' will someday be taken up by Cockos and made native...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 04:01 AM   #5
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,198
Default

Would be nice
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 03:20 PM   #6
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
1- there is no hot key to move user made FX folders up or down in the list of the FX Browser... after all these years it is still that insane menu of move up, move down, move to top, move to bottom.
I keep my folder in alphabetical order and have many... so when adding a new one that needs to live between , say, M and N, it is a PITA.
IS it possible to have scripts that do the move up, move down with a key press??
Context menus should send some command to the window, so it might be possible for a script to hack and simulate the "Move up" and "Move down" commands. However, if you want to do major reorganization of your folders, the simplest way would be to edit the reaper-fxfolders.ini text file, and restart REAPER.

Change the numbering of the folders as you want them, and also change the corresponding "Name" fields at the bottom of the file.
juliansader is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 07:13 AM   #7
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,422
Default

2 - It seems possible with recently added reaper.CF_EnumSelectedFX( hwnd, index ) and some modding of mpl_Save selected tracks FX chains.lua
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2019, 07:56 AM   #8
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,438
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Context menus should send some command to the window, so it might be possible for a script to hack and simulate the "Move up" and "Move down" commands. However, if you want to do major reorganization of your folders, the simplest way would be to edit the reaper-fxfolders.ini text file, and restart REAPER.

Change the numbering of the folders as you want them, and also change the corresponding "Name" fields at the bottom of the file.
Thanks for the idea to edit the ini Julian.... good idea but in my case it would be very tedious on a day to day basis...

That mpl thinks it may be possible now with hot keys and scripts is hopeful...

The need to move FX Folders up or down via the menu is to me, a huge oversight on the part of the DEV's... Maybe they never imagined people have a great number of folders? And that users might have folders in various ways... for instance:
We might have one folder with the name of a given plugin developer so as to hold all the FX made by one company and at the same time have another folder called COMPRESSORS that holds only the Comp's from many diff developers....
And that we'd want to easily organize these folders the FX Browser.
How it currently is done is just crazy IMHO.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.