Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2018, 02:43 AM   #1
rivella50
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Default Automatically increase marker id if added in between

Hi there,

i would like to have the option (e.g. a checkbox) in the "Add Marker" dialog which would (if selected) increase the marker id's of all existing later markers, if a new marker is added between existing markers.
If the checkbox is not selected would be the current situation.
Such an option could of course also be integrated somewhere more general in Preferences section.

Simple example:
- Add marker at time position 60 secs -> marker id 1
- Add marker at time position 120 secs -> marker id 2
- Add marker at time position 90 secs -> marker id 2
-> marker id at 120 secs gets id 3

Thanks for considering it.
rivella50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 04:48 AM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,783
Default

Great idea
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 05:00 AM   #3
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,338
Default

Meanwhile as a workaround: 'SWS: Renumber marker IDs'
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 05:05 AM   #4
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,417
Default

...or the native action "Markers: Renumber all markers in timeline order".
cfillion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 05:38 AM   #5
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,338
Default

Missed that there's a native equivalent meanwhile.
Then we maybe could/should mark the SWS one as deprecated?

(sorry for derailing a little...)
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 07:14 AM   #6
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 2,417
Default

The behavior is different: the native action also renumbers regions (in the Region/Marker Manager context menu it's called "Renumber in timeline order (markers, then regions)"). The two SWS ones treat markers and regions separately.

Last edited by cfillion; 10-19-2018 at 07:25 AM.
cfillion is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 10:27 AM   #7
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,783
Default

And of course you can assign that to a shortcut key. I haven't tried this but could you put one of those! Markers at the beginning that just renumbers them every time it plays from the beginning?
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 06:19 AM   #8
rivella50
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Default

Using the native action with a shortcut is of course a nice workaround, but i would still appreciate an option which would make these additional calls obsolete.
rivella50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 06:57 AM   #9
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Bunkle, Texas
Posts: 1,657
Default

not everyone wants markers in linear order, so this would have to be optional
__________________
FR: select MIDI recorded in most recent engagement of record/overdub.
check out MPL's amazing RS5K manager
read an important discussion on track MIDI editing
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2018, 08:08 AM   #10
rivella50
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Default

Did you read my initial post?
rivella50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 05:48 AM   #11
rivella50
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 19
Default

How do i get feedback what's the state (rejected, ongoing, useless, ...) of that feature request from the dev team or someone who has the overview?
rivella50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 07:08 AM   #12
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,121
Default

What if you make a custom action macro including one of the actions mentioned, like:

Markers: Insert and/or edit marker at current position
SWS: Renumber marker IDs

?
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2019, 07:56 AM   #13
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 5,783
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rivella50 View Post
How do i get feedback what's the state (rejected, ongoing, useless, ...) of that feature request from the dev team or someone who has the overview?
There is no status. It's literally a black hole with no feedback on status or priority unfortunately. There is no lively debate with devs on what the next best bug to fix is or the best features to add. I wish there was.

Reaper is an app where you better like how it is now and find workarounds because the chance of your bug or feature being addressed can be miniscule.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.