Old 09-05-2022, 01:13 AM   #1
FapFilter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 47
Default Host->Plugin Audio Drag & Drop

Hi,
audio item drag & drop from Reaper's timeline into third party samplers via cmd+option+drag does not work anymore on Mac for third party plugins
it's only still working into Reasamplomatic for me.

not sure wether it's just a devilish thingie since i'm on 6.66 on Mac, but it is working on my Windows machine, which is still running a slightly older version of Reaper
FapFilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2022, 06:40 AM   #2
FapFilter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 47
Default

this feature is still broken in 6.69 on Mac.
FapFilter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2023, 05:36 PM   #3
awelex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 34
Default

Bumping this since it's honestly a workflow killer.

macOS 10.14
Reaper v6.70

Here are the steps to reproduce:

1) Open any plugin that accepts external files via drag'n'drop (you can confirm that they can actually do it by dragging a file from Finder). I've tested with Altiverb and MCabinet.

2) Drag the item onto the plug-in while holding down whichever modifier keys you have configured to Render the item to a new file.

Note that dragging items this way into a Finder window or the Desktop still works.

Would love to see this fixed -- right now the only way to do this is to manually render the item, reveal the source in Finder, and drag it from there. Really takes you out of the flow compared to just dragging within Reaper.
awelex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2023, 08:41 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,702
Default

hmm how do I get MCabinet to allow drag/drop from finder? It's not letting me do that...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2023, 09:39 PM   #5
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,702
Default

hmm -- does it work if the FX is in the chain view rather than floating?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2023, 11:02 PM   #6
awelex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
hmm how do I get MCabinet to allow drag/drop from finder? It's not letting me do that...
Yeah, I'm realizing I should have picked a more intuitive plug-in to demonstrate this! You have to click the Edit button at the top, and then in the cabinet section you can drop the file onto the profile.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
hmm -- does it work if the FX is in the chain view rather than floating?
Not quite, but it feels like it's getting closer. But the behavior also seems different now depending on the plug-in:

MCabinet: I got it to work once or twice, but most of the time it doesn't. However, at least I get the actual render status to show up once I drop the item into the profile section.

Altiverb: no dice here -- render window won't even show up; once I let go, the file icon immediately moves back to the item.

Kontakt: Similar to MCabinet -- Render window shows up, but the file never makes it into Kontakt.

With all of these plug-ins drag'n'drop from Finder is working as expected, so I think this is a Reaper issue?
awelex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.