Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2019, 08:44 PM   #1
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 289
Default Running reaper and reaper portable on Windows 10 simultaneously

Currently in my workflow I’m running a parent project for films/reels/episodes and sub projects for each cue. Unfortunately, I can’t run the video and dialogue tracks from the parent project in sync with the sub project because: 1) video only plays from the focused project and 2) synced parent projects do not follow the edit cursor when stopped making spotting difficult.

So I’d like to play video from another synced reaper. I could use another DAW but Reaper has many advantages for video playback. Unlimited video tracks, translating 24fps to 23.976 etc.

I could do it from another computer but I’d prefer to keep it to my workstation.

So does anyone know how to run a portable version of reaper (with its own prefs) along side my main install simultaneously? There’s a script that will send TC position while stopped so I can use that to send TC to the video playback reaper and have it translate to 23.976.

Thanks!
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 09:08 PM   #2
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,951
Default

I believe you can simply run two windows at once from File > Open New Window and load both projects in a single Reaper install.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 09:10 PM   #3
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 289
Default Unfortunately

Unfortunately that will not work for my needs as I laid out in my original post.
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 08:12 AM   #4
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,111
Default

if I recall, you can run both IF you set the audio device of one of them to something other than what the first one is....
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 08:15 AM   #5
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 289
Default

This is a windows 10 issue more than reaper. Windows simply will not allow me to run 2 instances. I tried renaming the portable version... doesn't work.
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 09:00 AM   #6
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,111
Default

have you tried the action Spawn new instance of reaper?

it should work but you will have to deal with the audio device settings since they both cannot use the same ASIO at the same time... so set one of them to something else...wasapi or wave out or... whatever
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 09:59 AM   #7
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,889
Default

There's a Check for multiple instances when launching startup setting under Preferences > General (which is checked by default). So try to uncheck this setting in both installs/instances.
__________________
ReaLauncher
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2019, 10:50 AM   #8
blumpy
Human being with feelings
 
blumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 289
Default ah!

That's it!

Unfortunately, now that I have 2 instances of reaper running in sync I/m now realizing I still need reaper to send the stopped cursor position to the parent project while sync'd.
blumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.