Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > ReaScript, JSFX, REAPER Plug-in Extensions, Developer Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2015, 04:09 PM   #121
cyrilfb
Human being with feelings
 
cyrilfb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
This ONE script was a total game changer for me in MIDI editing.
Agree totally with ivansc. I use this every time I add midi to a piece.

Thanks spk77!!!
__________________
Cy Ball
Reaper + inspiration = music.
soundcloud.com/cyball or cyball.bandcamp.com/ or cyrilfb.com
cyrilfb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2015, 12:44 AM   #122
spk77
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostz View Post
Thanks for this awesome tool, and not only for this one!
Can I ask you if possible to have also this version that draws sine curves?

Thanks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrilfb View Post
Agree totally with ivansc. I use this every time I add midi to a piece.

Thanks spk77!!!
Thanks!

I couldn't find that "sine curve" -version - might be that it was on my old computer. At some point in the future, I'm converting this script to Lua and maybe I'll add some new features to it.
spk77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 06:28 PM   #123
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,767
Default

Just noticed this since someone linked it from another thread. Awesome! Thanks for making this!
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2015, 11:13 AM   #124
crutifixus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Default

Hi guys ! Thank you for your excellent work! Say and do whatever is possible to plug-in works in the main window of the program? without going to the MIDI editor?
simply by selecting an item midi.
Tnx
crutifixus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2015, 11:16 AM   #125
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,255
Default

Very cool script
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
My music on Bandcamp
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 11:43 AM   #126
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,255
Default

How do I get this to open in from of my midi-editor?
(I can only get it in main)
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
My music on Bandcamp
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 12:02 PM   #127
jrengmusic
Human being with feelings
 
jrengmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Indonesia Raya
Posts: 564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Sun View Post
How do I get this to open in from of my midi-editor?
(I can only get it in main)
in the Action List window and choose MIDI Editor in the Section drop down menu. Then add the script.
jrengmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 01:04 PM   #128
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrengmusic View Post
in the Action List window and choose MIDI Editor in the Section drop down menu. Then add the script.
Well, I've done that.
Do I have to delete the entry in main as well?
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
My music on Bandcamp
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 01:09 PM   #129
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 5,029
Default

You can leave it in the Main list too, unless you see no use at all for it there.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 03:41 AM   #130
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
You can leave it in the Main list too, unless you see no use at all for it there.
Ok, got it.
But, disappears whenever I select midi editor.
Reloading script works ok.
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
My music on Bandcamp
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 03:43 AM   #131
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,255
Default

Awesome tool

FR: Choice between absolute and relative changes (+- vs. */)
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
My music on Bandcamp
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 09:01 AM   #132
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 913
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Sun View Post
Awesome tool

FR: Choice between absolute and relative changes (+- vs. */)
Hi,
Geir, I must be missing something but it looks like it works in a relative fashion. The value differences remain..but maybe I misunderstand?
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2015, 10:16 AM   #133
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LugNut View Post
Hi,
Geir, I must be missing something but it looks like it works in a relative fashion. The value differences remain..but maybe I misunderstand?
Absolute:
N#1_v100 -v10 = v90
N#2_v60 -v10 = v50

Relative
N#1_v100 * 0,9 = v90
N#2_v60 * 0,9 = v54
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
My music on Bandcamp
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 10:43 AM   #134
funkster1
Human being with feelings
 
funkster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Planet Groove
Posts: 828
Default

Just a question for spk77 or other script wizards out there:

the "pin window" (or "Always On Top") question re: the script windows should be solvable I think.

Those comfy with AutoHotkey can find a workaround (see my post about this).

Maybe this kind of function could also be called by a script, since it is just about Windows functions. But then I don't know if you're able to call these Windows functions from within Reaper scripts. No matter if it's Python or Lua.

Anyway, just thinking out loud.

Raphael
__________________
ASUS Notebook N751 i7/4710HQ, 16 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD Samsung // 1 TB HDD/7200 RPM (plus a couple of ext. drives), Win 8.1 fully up to date // Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, KORG Micro X, ROLAND JX-305, BEHRINGER BCR2000, ZeRO SL Mk II, KRK Rokit 5, AKG K171 MKII
funkster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2015, 10:53 AM   #135
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 913
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Sun View Post
Absolute:
N#1_v100 -v10 = v90
N#2_v60 -v10 = v50

Relative
N#1_v100 * 0,9 = v90
N#2_v60 * 0,9 = v54
Hi,

I understand the difference between relative and absolute(I think:-) )but this plug does compress expand.....and if you mean literally relative, just select all the notes and adjust. I must be confused ...sorry ..old timers:-)

Edit..I think I see now..I guess when using the ramp portion of the script. For ex.

Last edited by LugNut; 11-12-2015 at 11:11 AM.
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2015, 04:18 PM   #136
ceanganb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brazil
Posts: 278
Default

Pretty nice, just what I needed for this moment!

Thanks, pal.
__________________
Ceanganb
ceanganb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2016, 07:23 PM   #137
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 957
Default

First, this is a very useful script. Many thanks to those who contributed to it.

Second, does anyone know if this script can expand or compress CC items over the x (time) axis? I know the script can do this on the y axis, but I have a need to compress some of my CC mappings/recordings.

If not, is there another script that can do this?
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 05:27 AM   #138
Stroudy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 391
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcartwright View Post
First, this is a very useful script. Many thanks to those who contributed to it.

Second, does anyone know if this script can expand or compress CC items over the x (time) axis? I know the script can do this on the y axis, but I have a need to compress some of my CC mappings/recordings.

If not, is there another script that can do this?
The function is inbuilt.

To do this:
1. Draw a note for the duration of the CC's you want to stretch/compress.
2. Turn on 'CC selection follows note selection'
3. Use the stretch tool (default modifier = alt/opt)

Here's a quick demo.



If you only want one lane to stretch/compress:
1. Cut the CCs you want to keep as is.
2. Do what is needed i.e. follow above instructions.
3. Paste back the un-altered CCs that you previously cut.
Stroudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 09:28 AM   #139
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 957
Default

Thanks for the info!
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 11:04 AM   #140
Subz
Human being with feelings
 
Subz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,964
Default

wow!!

useful!

thank You
Subz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 10:50 PM   #141
Boonrut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Default Thanks a lots!

Use it every here! Very cool script.
Boonrut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 10:49 AM   #142
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 3,194
Default

This script is amazing. Instant game changer for MIDI folks.
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 01:17 PM   #143
Sound asleep
Human being with feelings
 
Sound asleep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 7,440
Default

This is awesome. Thx spk77, and good job. Nice implementation.

If anyone is wondering how to install this, just unrar it to your C:\Users\"yourcomputerusername"\AppData\Roaming\REAPER\Scripts

Or if you really want to, somewhere else, then go into your midi actions list ("?" with midi editor open) then choose "Load" next to Reascript. The aforementioned folder should open up in the dialog, and you just select this file that you just unrared there, and that's it.

Then, what I did, was customized my midi Toolbar by adding this function to it. Did that by right clicking it, and selecting the action we just created when we added the eel file to our actions list.
__________________
Miles in your Shoes Original tune
Sound asleep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 01:59 PM   #144
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 3,194
Default

Wish someday Reaper would have this sort of basic MIDI tools built in native. It's a shame that talented users here in the forum have to pick up the slack and make scripts and tools in order to get a professional level of MIDI power in the DAW.

Either way, this tool is AMAZING. It fixes a HUGE and unforgivable flaw in Reaper, imho. Someday maybe Reaper's MIDI will mature. Right? So power users can do real world professional and heavyweighted MIDI projects?

Someday maybe Reaper's MIDI will mature. You know, to Cakewalk Sonar 5's level at least. Maybe someday.
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 01:59 PM   #145
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: They put me in a home.
Posts: 3,194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sound asleep View Post
This is awesome. Thx spk77, and good job. Nice implementation.

Agreed!!!!
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 01:37 PM   #146
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 957
Default

This tool works great when I create MIDI data in Reaper, but the performance seems to deteriorate when I import MIDI items. The performance is slow and will occasionally cause Reaper to become unresponsive.

Has anyone else experienced this?

Does the number of MIDI events in a project impact the performance (regardless of the number of CC events or velocities selected)?
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2016, 05:27 PM   #147
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 957
Default

As I thought, it appears that the number of MIDI events in a project impacts the scripts performance significantly. Does anyone have tips to optimize?
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 07:32 AM   #148
pcartwright
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 957
Default

spk77 or breeder, could one of you take a look at this post in the pre-release area:

http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...&postcount=863

It may be relevant to your MIDI scripts.
pcartwright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2016, 05:39 PM   #149
MonkeyBars
Human being with feelings
 
MonkeyBars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hollyweird
Posts: 340
Default

It's kind of dumb that you had to code it as it's an extremely basic DAW midi feature, but you really helped make our lives easier. Thanks so much for this script.
MonkeyBars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2017, 01:41 AM   #150
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,255
Default

Got:
Code:
Can't load file:

 spk77\MIDI velocity tool.eel
Is the script working?
Or is it something on my side?

Edit: Old duplicate I guess. Found another instance, and worked fine
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
My music on Bandcamp
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.