Old 03-12-2015, 11:01 PM   #1
pool_kid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Default .dll plugins for OS X

How can I get reaper to recognize and run plugins in .dll format?
pool_kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 01:23 AM   #2
zsazsi
Human being with feelings
 
zsazsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 19
Default

You can't as far as I know. OS X uses dylib format that plugin vendors should provide.
zsazsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 02:40 AM   #3
joelsampson
Human being with feelings
 
joelsampson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pool_kid View Post
How can I get reaper to recognize and run plugins in .dll format?
Not a problem. You have to put them in a folder in the Reaper VST path. I prefer to keep them organized and not in the default location. My Mac is turned off now, but from memory, I think the default is the root -> audio -> plugins. I may be slightly off, but you should be able to see where they were installed. AU goes into a component directory by default.

One note: make sure the downloaded .dll is for Macintosh (not Windows). They are different.
__________________
Trying to get work out the door. . .
My resource links: http://www.djemberecords.com/links.html
joelsampson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 03:07 AM   #4
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 6,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelsampson View Post
One note: make sure the downloaded .dll is for Macintosh (not Windows). They are different.
Windows plugins are with the .dll extension and OS-X plugins have various other extensions...(.dylib, .component, .vst etc)
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 03:09 AM   #5
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 6,789
Default

Just to make it clear for the original poster : .dll files are for Windows and won't work on OS-X. (They could be run on an Intel-based Macintosh computer though, by installing the Windows OS on the computer.)
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 09:13 AM   #6
jerome_oneil
Human being with feelings
 
jerome_oneil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4,597
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joelsampson View Post
Not a problem. You have to put them in a folder in the Reaper VST path. I prefer to keep them organized and not in the default location. My Mac is turned off now, but from memory, I think the default is the root -> audio -> plugins. I may be slightly off, but you should be able to see where they were installed. AU goes into a component directory by default.

One note: make sure the downloaded .dll is for Macintosh (not Windows). They are different.
This is incorrect. There will never be a .dll file for Mac. "Dynamic Link Library" is how Windows provides runtime linking. For BSD and most Unixes it's .so files. For OSX, they are dlsym files.
jerome_oneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 09:25 AM   #7
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 6,480
Default

.VST & .COMPONENT (now called AU but still with the original extension) are the native supported formats for OSX.

.DLL & .VST (I think) are the native supported formats for Windows.

There are wrappers available to run .DLL in OSX. Haven't tried any of them.

You can of course run Windows apps natively in OSX (with Wine installed). But to run a windows plugin, you would need a wrapper or you would have to launch the Windows version of Reaper and run it that way.
__________________
Mac Pro 8x3.33GHz i7, 16GB, 256GB SSD(OS, apps), 3x2TB 7200 HD(data); MacBook Pro 2.8GHz, 6GB, 128GB SSD HD(OS, apps), 750GB 7200 HD(data); 2xTrue Precision 8; Apogee AD-16; 2xMOTU 828mk3, Evolution UC-33e; Faderport; WiRanger, iPad & the analog mixer has retired
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 11:01 AM   #8
pool_kid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks everyone.
pool_kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.