Old 09-03-2008, 08:20 PM   #1
h8_ewe
Human being with feelings
 
h8_ewe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 8
Default "Can't Open Audio File" - weird problem, 2.46

I have been blissfully using Reap on PC's for a while, but just scored a cheap Mac Mini and decided to give Reaper on Mac a go.

I'm having a pretty fundamental problem right away - each time I'm finished recording an audio track (upon clicking stop, in fact) the waveform I just recorded disappears and the application throws an error ("Can't Open Audio File" I think is what is says) and pretty much crashes after that.

The files are getting recorded and saved to the correct directory but it seems like REAPER can't find it as soon as it finishes recording it. In fact, if I open the recorded .wav file with iTunes or something, it is recorded correctly and sounds fine. Reaper just doesn't want to recognize it or open it.

If I immediately try to record another take, everything pretty much freezes after that, requiring a reboot.

Also, if I try to import a .wav or.aiff file from another folder or project, I get the same error basically.

This could all be something really simple - like I said, I'm new to Macs. Also, my system isn't exactly cutting edge, but that shouldn't make a difference in this case.

System is - Mac Mini / G4 1.25 / 1 GB / OS X 10.5
h8_ewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 01:29 AM   #2
mrelwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,189
Default

Just to make sure, you copied the whole REAPER directory from the downloaded package to Applications folder? This is a common mistake since the Reaper doesn't install in a familiar Mac-way just yet.
__________________
- MacBook Pro 2010, latest OSX, latest 32bit Reaper (Registered)
- Behringer FCA610, Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DSP (+ADA8000)
- Focal Alpha 65, Focal CMS 40, Focal Spirit Professional
mrelwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 06:39 AM   #3
h8_ewe
Human being with feelings
 
h8_ewe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 8
Default

There's a chance I did that incorrectly. Sounds like something a Mac-Noob would do (which I am). I can dig that since it's a Beta, there's no finished installer.

I think I just "dragged" the entire REAPER folder into the APPLICATIONS folder.

Should I have copied all the 'contents' of that REAPER folder directly into APPLICATIONS, rather than putting everything inside a REAPER folder in APPLICATIONS??

I'll confirm what I "actually" did when I'm back at my Mac this evening.

Last edited by h8_ewe; 09-04-2008 at 07:05 AM.
h8_ewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 01:09 PM   #4
planktone
Human being with feelings
 
planktone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: mortsel / antwerp / belgium
Posts: 123
Default

it is the same problem i encounter ...
( http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=25600 )
i think i have installed all well.
( klankschap had a look yesterday on my mac, he could not found any bad installation )
strange, if you copy all reaper program files on an usb-stick and runs it from the stick ... then all is ok.

w.

Last edited by planktone; 09-04-2008 at 01:12 PM.
planktone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 02:29 PM   #5
bennals
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 244
Default

I haven't seen that happen before, but my first guess would be a permissions issue. Did you wipe the drive on the mini when you first got it? It's possible that the previous owner had permissions for various parts of the drive setup in a way that Reaper can't deal with. I think Reaper would be owned by the user you were logged in as when you copied the Reaper directory to the mini's hard drive.

Check who owns the folder where your project audio files are by clicking on the folder and doing a 'Get Info' from the file menu. Click on the 'details' arrow in the 'Ownership and Permissions' section and make sure the owner is the same as for the Reaper application.

Bill.
__________________
Macbook C2D 1.83, 10.6.4, MH ULN-2 & 2882 x 3.
bennals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 09:16 PM   #6
h8_ewe
Human being with feelings
 
h8_ewe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 8
Default

HEY ALL - Thanks for the suggestions, but the problem was that I dragged the Reaper application file out of the Applications\Reaper folder and put it somewhere else, hence it was not in the directory with everything it needed. Mrelwood was right on the money.

I put it back in the correct folder and everything seems to be working fine. I am able to record files and they stay put, no error messages, etc. It seems to have solved my other problem, as well, which was the subject of the other thread I posted.

Stoked. Reaper is working great now.
h8_ewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 12:10 AM   #7
planktone
Human being with feelings
 
planktone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: mortsel / antwerp / belgium
Posts: 123
Default

...

my mini mac was new out of the box, i did the leopard upgrade.
i had a check on my drive ( see attachment ). I think all is at the right spot, also "the permissions " looks to be ok.

strange it works fine from the usb-drive.

w.

ps. it is not a new problem for me, it was the same before 2.46.

Last edited by planktone; 09-08-2008 at 04:45 AM.
planktone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 12:45 PM   #8
planktone
Human being with feelings
 
planktone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: mortsel / antwerp / belgium
Posts: 123
Default

...

finding not any solution, i did a full re-install of my mini mac, beginning with OSX ( leopard ).
reaper can't still read any audio file when the application is started from the internal drive, can if it is started from an USB-stick.
i-tunes play the files ( wav 16 bit 44.1 ) without any problem.

w.

ps. REAPER runs great on my pc, but i like to have it on mac too as many of my students work with mac.
planktone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 03:54 AM   #9
mrelwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,189
Default

Planktone, I can't think of anything else but the same install problem. You are sure You moved the whole directory entitled "REAPER" from the downloaded package to the applications folder?

If you did, this problem seems to be rather troublesome.
__________________
- MacBook Pro 2010, latest OSX, latest 32bit Reaper (Registered)
- Behringer FCA610, Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DSP (+ADA8000)
- Focal Alpha 65, Focal CMS 40, Focal Spirit Professional
mrelwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 04:48 AM   #10
planktone
Human being with feelings
 
planktone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: mortsel / antwerp / belgium
Posts: 123
Default

thanks, but all is where i think it has to be ... see attachment.

i can't import sounds ...

w.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg import.jpg (23.0 KB, 129 views)
File Type: jpg folder.jpg (39.8 KB, 123 views)

Last edited by planktone; 09-08-2008 at 05:09 AM.
planktone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 02:42 PM   #11
mrelwood
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,189
Default

I'll try to get to the bottom of this.

-Have You tried with older Reaper versions, how do they do?
-What happens if You drag the files straight from the Finder to a track?
-Have You saved the project to a correct location?
-Do You have the reaper_mp3dec.dylib in the Reaper/Plugins directory, sized 292KB?

This shouldn't make a difference, but what if You moved only the REAPER -folder to the Applications root?
__________________
- MacBook Pro 2010, latest OSX, latest 32bit Reaper (Registered)
- Behringer FCA610, Focusrite Saffire Pro 24 DSP (+ADA8000)
- Focal Alpha 65, Focal CMS 40, Focal Spirit Professional
mrelwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 09:54 PM   #12
planktone
Human being with feelings
 
planktone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: mortsel / antwerp / belgium
Posts: 123
Default

>> Have You tried with older Reaper versions, how do they do?

i am afraid it never worked properly, but i didn't matter as i don't use the mac version for production, i run reaper from pc instead. my mac is only for school as my student use reaper for their soundworks.

>> What happens if You drag the files straight from the Finder to a track?

reaper tells me it can't import the tracks. it even more strange, reaper can record but when it stops recording, asks to save it tells me it can't import it's own recording.

>> Have You saved the project to a correct location?

as far i know yes ...

>> Do You have the reaper_mp3dec.dylib in the Reaper/Plugins directory, sized 292KB?

yes, the same result ...


i don't know that much about mac's, i had reaper-fan & mac-user "klankschap" looking on my mac and he couldn't understand it ...

w.

Last edited by planktone; 09-08-2008 at 10:05 PM.
planktone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 01:22 PM   #13
planktone
Human being with feelings
 
planktone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: mortsel / antwerp / belgium
Posts: 123
Default

...

all problems are solved
don't ask me what was wrong ...
first i did a re-install of "leopard" without any succes.
then i did first a downgrade to the original "tiger" then the upgrade to "leopard"
it works very nice
also after the upgrade's

great

w.
planktone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.