Old 08-03-2011, 08:48 AM   #1
samreaper
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: montpellier, France
Posts: 31
Default 16/24 bits files

hi
i was looking at the sample rate of my recorded guitar files ( f2/properties)
and i realised that my sample rate is 16 bit, same for allmy other recorded wave files.
drums loops are 24 bits

i checked my project settings, and it's 24bit .
i'm using m-audio fasttrack pro, 64bit 24bit

anyone can help

thanks
samreaper is online now Report Post Edit/Delete Message
samreaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 12:21 PM   #2
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,061
Default

1. You are talking about bit-depth, 16 vs 24 bits. Sample rate is measured in kHz, and describes how fast you sample. Bit-depth describes how many bits are used for each sample.

2. According to the specs (http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/FastTrackPro.html) to get 24 bits you have to configure the driver for "2x4" or "2-in OR 2-out" (whatever that means). If you have it configured for "4x4" you will only get 16 bit samples. And if you are not using any specific driver (just running it as a "class-compliant" USB device) you will only get 16 bits.

Bottom line... install the native driver, configure it for 24 bits.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 01:29 PM   #3
samreaper
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: montpellier, France
Posts: 31
Default

problem solved

thx a lot Fabian, you're the man.

now i'm recording 24bit

thanks again
samreaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2011, 01:32 PM   #4
samreaper
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: montpellier, France
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
1. You are talking about bit-depth, 16 vs 24 bits. Sample rate is measured in kHz, and describes how fast you sample. Bit-depth describes how many bits are used for each sample.

2. According to the specs (http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/FastTrackPro.html) to get 24 bits you have to configure the driver for "2x4" or "2-in OR 2-out" (whatever that means). If you have it configured for "4x4" you will only get 16 bit samples. And if you are not using any specific driver (just running it as a "class-compliant" USB device) you will only get 16 bits.

Bottom line... install the native driver, configure it for 24 bits.
and by the way i like pastafarians, cheers!!!!!!!
samreaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.