Old 06-18-2020, 10:20 AM   #1
audiomath
Human being with feelings

Default Hardware to get started?

Every five years or so I loop around to see if pro audio has any traction on Linux.
As they say, here we are again. :-)

I currently use a Presonus Quantum (TBOLT 2) extended with ADAT and a Windows PC. That works quite well until MS breaks it. I then curse, fix it and move on. I also have a i7 Mac that runs Reaper adequately, but I've never felt motivated enough to move to it.

I just built a nice (but noisy) i9 9900K that I can use for the latest "Linux experiment", but first I need to ask - is there any hardware in roughly the same class as the Quantum that will work with Linux/Reaper without TOO many compromises? I have a few hours available for geeky tweaking, but I can't make it a lifework.

If the hardware question can be answered, I'm thinking a tweaked Arch Linux installation and (of course) Reaper.

In previous lives I've been a audio DSP engineer and a EE, but let's assume I'm currently a cranky old guy that is tired of MS polluting his pond water and is too cheap to buy a Mac Pro. Is Linux pro audio with Reaper ready enough to try?

Thanks!
audiomath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:34 AM   #2
Glennbo

I'm using an 18 input 20 output rackmount interface with 8 Midas mic pres (Behringer UMC1820), and it works great for me at low latency in Xubuntu with a few tweaks.
Glennbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:43 AM   #3
audiomath

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennbo View Post
I'm using an 18 input 20 output rackmount interface with 8 Midas mic pres (Behringer UMC1820), and it works great for me at low latency in Xubuntu with a few tweaks.
That looks encouraging, thanks! Retail looks like 328 USD for the UMC1820, which is within reason for the experiment.
Old 06-18-2020, 11:42 AM   #4
audiomath

Quote:
Originally Posted by audiomath View Post