Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

View Poll Results: Would you like a lot more 1 key shortcuts in Reaper?
Yes this would make implementing actions much easier. 1 33.33%
This might be useful to me, Im all for giving it a try. 2 66.67%
I dont see this being useful to me but don't care. 0 0%
No - I see this as problematic 0 0%
Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2018, 02:20 PM   #1
dreaminglife
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 59
Default More 1 Key Shortcuts

I luv 1 key shortcuts. I need more of these shortcuts. A shortcut like Ctrl+Alt+W takes right and left hands so you cant use the right hand to click on an area.

How can we have more 1 key shortcuts?

In mouse modifiers we have the same shortcuts mapped to many different areas but most are not 1 key shortcuts.

1. We could somehow add the entire computer keyboard to something similar to mouse modifiers and have heaps of 1 key shortcuts for each area.

2. Right now we have 1 set of shortcuts for the main area of Reaper + another set for the midi editor + another for the Midi inline editor, Media Explorer. This means we already have 4 shortcuts we can map to each key but they only work in 1 area.
If we could map the computer keyboard to several areas like items, tracks mixer etc then our 1 key shortcuts can multiply and our workflow increase.

Last edited by dreaminglife; 10-19-2018 at 02:37 PM.
dreaminglife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 01:51 AM   #2
ivan.lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 449
Default

A good idea IMHO.

Some time ago I also proposed to introduce shortcut sets which you could create and switch between at will, not bound to any context or window. Sou you could have one for editing, one for mixing, one for setting up fx, etc. I think it's also a viable solution.

Ctrl-Alt-W is probably not the best example as most people (me included) would press it with one hand.
ivan.lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 02:23 AM   #3
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,281
Default

Related: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=209999
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 06:27 AM   #4
Lokasenna
Human being with feelings
 
Lokasenna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The vast, frozen wasteland of western Canadia.
Posts: 5,553
Default

My Radial Menu script can do this, in a roundabout way - the menus can be set up to have key shortcuts, so it's one key to open Radial and another key to run an action.
__________________
Currently enrolled in a coding bootcamp; don't expect timely responses from me.
Default 5.0 Nitpicky Edition / GUI tutorial for Lua / GUI library for Lua scripts / Theory Helper / Radial Menu / Donate / ReaPack
Lokasenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 05:15 AM   #5
dreaminglife
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 59
Default 1 Key Shortcuts for all plugins,

OK I have just been looking at the great new action scripts for ReaEQ

MPL Scripts for ReaEQ

and I thought, each plugin individually mapped to the computer keyboard and presto 1 key shortcuts for each plug-in where desired.

This simple idea is getting bigger, and better I think. [I'll leave the complex to experts]
dreaminglife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 04:29 AM   #6
colonelporridge
Human being with feelings
 
colonelporridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 49
Default

I would love a momentary switch to band pass for each band in reaeq so that I could locate troublesome frequencies without all the switching between filter types
colonelporridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2018, 12:55 PM   #7
Nostrap
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 33
Default

If you learn some basic scripting you can get the behavior you want fairly easily. reaper.GetCursorContext() is your friend.
Nostrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.