Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Linux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2019, 09:07 AM   #1
Abnaxos
Human being with feelings
 
Abnaxos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Posts: 3
Default Helm hangs in REAPER, works in Carla standalone

I have a strange problem: Helm hangs when trying to open the GUI in REAPER. I also tried wrapping Helm in a Carla rack: first, everything seems fine, until I try to open the GUI. Then, again, REAPER hangs. No excessive CPU usage, just doing nothing and no interaction possible → killall reaper. This happens with both the VST and LV2 versions (LV2 only in Carla, of course).

Helm works just fine when I start Carla standalone. That's how I'm currently using it (assign MIDI output in REAPER track, wire that to Helm/Carla, wire the audio output back to another REAPER track) – but that's more a workaround.

There seems to be some dissonance between REAPER and Helm. Any ideas how to fix this?
__________________
openSUSE Leap 15.0
i7-6820HQ 2.7GHz (4 Cores, 8 Threads), 32GB RAM
Abnaxos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2019, 03:24 PM   #2
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,168
Default

Standalone and Linux VST (in Reaper) both work fine on my system (info in signature). Installed just now from Kxstudio repo for the sake of testing.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Core i3-6300 - MSI B150M Mortar - 8 GB RAM - Asus Xonar DX - MX Linux (MX-18_x64) - REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 10:13 AM   #3
Tobbe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Backe, Jämtland, Sweden
Posts: 223
Thumbs up

Did the same as JamesPeters. No problem at all loading it standalone or in Reaper and just testing some of hundreds presets.

You can test start Reaper via terminal and then load up Helm to see if you get some error messages.
__________________
OS: Linux Mint Debian, Reaper For Linux, HoRNet VST Plugin, Amplesound Bass & Acoustic (Free) and many other free stuff. Behringer U-PHORIA UMC22.
Tobbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 07:17 AM   #4
Peevy
Human being with feelings
 
Peevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 464
Default

I've been using it in a few projects & it's running fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobbe View Post
You can test start Reaper via terminal and then load up Helm to see if you get some error messages.
Good call this should help to see what might be causing it.
__________________
System: Mobo-Asus Prime Z370P II, CPU-i7 8700K, RAM-32gb DDR4 3000mhz OS: Manjaro Linux
Soundcard:
Komplete Audio 6 Monitors: Adam A5X
Peevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 10:54 AM   #5
Abnaxos
Human being with feelings
 
Abnaxos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Posts: 3
Default

So, it seems to be something with my setup. One thing that may be important: I'm using i3 window manager, no desktop environment (well, some components of XFCE4).

No suspicious messages in the output of REAPER.

Via Carla/LV2 (note that I can hear the sound from Helm until I try to open the GUI):

Code:
Error opening file /home/rherzog/.lv2/x42-midifilter/manifest.ttl (No such file or directory)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <urn:juced:DrumSynth>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///home/rherzog/.lv2/drumsynth.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and      file:///home/rherzog/DAW/plugins/lv2/drumsynth.lv2/ (ignored)
Error opening file /home/rherzog/DAW/plugins/lv2/x42-midifilter/manifest.ttl (No such file or directory)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <urn:juced:EQinox>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///home/rherzog/.lv2/eqinox.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and      file:///home/rherzog/DAW/plugins/lv2/eqinox.lv2/ (ignored)
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: Duplicate plugin <http://tytel.org/helm>
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... found in file:///home/rherzog/.lv2/helm.lv2/
lilv_world_add_plugin(): warning: ... and      file:///home/rherzog/DAW/plugins/lv2/helm.lv2/ (ignored)
Error opening file /home/rherzog/DAW/plugins/lv2/x42-midifilter/manifest.ttl (No such file or directory)
LRDF Support disabled for static build (LADSPA-RDF will be disabled)
Carla 1.9.13 (2.0-RC3) started, status:
  Python version: 3.2.3
  Qt version:     4.8.7
  PyQt version:   4.9.1
  Binary dir:     /home/rherzog/DAW/plugins/vst/carla.vst
  Resources dir:  /home/rherzog/DAW/plugins/vst/carla.vst/resources
Error opening file /home/rherzog/DAW/plugins/lv2/x42-midifilter/manifest.ttl (Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden)
The same with the VST directly, just without Carla's messages.
__________________
openSUSE Leap 15.0
i7-6820HQ 2.7GHz (4 Cores, 8 Threads), 32GB RAM
Abnaxos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 04:13 PM   #6
Peevy
Human being with feelings
 
Peevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 464
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abnaxos View Post
So, it seems to be something with my setup. One thing that may be important: I'm using i3 window manager, no desktop environment (well, some components of XFCE4).

No suspicious messages in the output of REAPER.

Via Carla/LV2 (note that I can hear the sound from Helm until I try to open the GUI):
I'm using i3-gaps myself without a problem, also works well in XFCE4 (different story with Qtile, Reaper didn't run well in it at all)


Are you using a compositor? I'm using compton & all's good
__________________
System: Mobo-Asus Prime Z370P II, CPU-i7 8700K, RAM-32gb DDR4 3000mhz OS: Manjaro Linux
Soundcard:
Komplete Audio 6 Monitors: Adam A5X
Peevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 10:05 AM   #7
Abnaxos
Human being with feelings
 
Abnaxos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Zürich, Switzerland
Posts: 3
Default

Sorry for the late reply …

Yes, I'm also using compton as compositor. Tried turning it off, too, to no avail.
__________________
openSUSE Leap 15.0
i7-6820HQ 2.7GHz (4 Cores, 8 Threads), 32GB RAM
Abnaxos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2019, 04:03 AM   #8
Peevy
Human being with feelings
 
Peevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 464
Default

My only other suggestion might be to try another distro, a lot of people seem to have everything running smoothly on Ubuntu & Mint. I'm running Ubuntu 18.04 on my laptop & Manjaro on the desktop without a problem.


Your system should definitely be more than capable. Are you using intel graphics or a GPU? I had problems running Zyn Fusion & Dragonfly reverb plugins on my old desktop that had an ancient Q6600 CPU & a very old no longer supported nvidia 7600LE. So my PC was stuck at openGL2 but OPenGL3 is needed for these plugins to run properly (at least graphically)
__________________
System: Mobo-Asus Prime Z370P II, CPU-i7 8700K, RAM-32gb DDR4 3000mhz OS: Manjaro Linux
Soundcard:
Komplete Audio 6 Monitors: Adam A5X
Peevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.