Old 05-22-2008, 02:40 PM   #1
PavelZhuk
Human being with feelings

Default VSTi?

Hallo,

Really need help,

I'm new to all this VST ,.,.,

I'm trying to connect Reaper and EWQL Symphonic Orchestra,,thats possible right? :P

the question is how,, what exactly must i do?

I tried to set the VST folder to /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST
but nothing working.
PavelZhuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2008, 03:29 PM   #2
Tallisman

ok. it seems on the mac there are several potential places for these VSTi to be placed, and most of them contain /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST... some are prefixed with /usr/ or your username...

ANYWAY, once you have determinied where it is the Plugin was actually installed, you need to add that location to reaper's VST plugin path. More than one location can be added there, separated by , comas.

Once thoese paths are set, click on the clear cache and rescan buttons. Reaper will do it's thang and then the plugins should be ready for action.

Find a track. Click the FX button. Pop-up. Click the add button. pop-up. in the filter text box begin typing the name of the plugin you want. when you see it click on it and:
1. press [OK]
2. drag it to the other window (the fx bin window)
3. drag it right to the track you want it on.

for this, select 1... press OK
now that plugin should be in the proper FX bin. right click on the plugin name (control click - you your mouse is button challenged)... look at the options. Select Build Multi-channel routing, and Build multi channel midi.

now you will have 2 bunches of new tracks added to the project: the first bunch will be the audio returns from the plugin (given that it is a plugin with multiple channels). the second bunch will be midi tracks sending to the various midi channels in the plugin.

Make sure you Keyboard controller is connected. Record arm the track. Right click the record arm button and select --> midi input-->all channels.

click on the track monitor button - turn on the monitoring.